TodHunter Moon, Book Two: SandRider (World of Septimus Heap)

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1691 0
sandrider.jpg
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 13, 2015
ISBN
978-0062272485
Buy This Book
      

Tod's story races on in this second book in the TodHunter Moon trilogy, a spinoff of the popular Septimus Heap series. Fans of Septimus as well as fantasy readers new to the world of Magyk will enjoy this next installment in the series ALA Booklist calls "warm and inventive." Full-page illustrations by renowned fantasy artist Mark Zug begin each section and add to the magic! Great for readers of Harry Potter or Brandon Mull's Fablehaven series, TodHunter Moon offers something for every reader, regardless of gender or age. SandRider is also a dynamic pick for parents reading aloud to younger children before bedtime. Taking place seven years after the events of the original Septimus Heap series, TodHunter Moon tells the story of Alice TodHunter Moon, a young PathFinder who comes to the Castle with a Magyk all her own. In this second book, Tod sets out for the Desert of the Singing Sands to retrieve the Egg of the Orm—a journey that will test not only her Magykal and PathFinding skills but her friendships, too.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

An epic Magykal journey
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Septimus Heap is an ExtraOrdinary Wizard at the Wizard Tower and Alice “Tod” Todhunter Moon is his ExtraOrdinary Apprentice. Angie Sage continues Tod’s epic journey with the second installment, SandRider.

Seven years have passed since the Septimus Heap series and a new Orm Egg has been stolen by the devious Oraton-Marr, who awaits the Orm’s hatching. Spit Fyre watches and waits, monitoring the progress of the Orm Egg. Young Kaznim, elder daughter of the people of the Singing Sands’ Apothecary, has vanished with her healing tortoise and the precious Egg Timer. And it’s ninety-six hours until the Orm Egg is due to hatch. When Kaznim appears on the doorstep of the Wizard Tower, it unleashes a chain of events as the Egg Timer counts down. In order for the proper parties—the infamous Septimus Heap and Spit Fyre—to Imprint on the hatchling Orm, Tod, the Pathfinder, must guide Kaznim back home to the Singing Sands before it’s too late.

SandRider is a sweeping fantasy of epic proportions. Stunning imagery brings the world to life on every page. Well thought out details add personality to every aspect adding richness to the setting and characters. Everything from articles of clothing to speech patterns make SandRider sublimely grand.

The various characters are a tremendous joy to see come together. Young Kaznim is unsure of the strange world around her yet driven to save her little sister and rejoin her mother. Our heroine, Tod, is spectacular in her strength and vulnerability. She knows she must do the right thing, even if the right thing goes against all she knows about being the ExtraOrdinary Apprentice. When Tod joins forces once again with her friends, Oskar and Ferdie, the Tribe of Three cannot be stopped. Kaznim, though a child, knows she should trust the Tribe of Three, but fear over her sister’s safety traps her in a web of lies.

Much like other epic fantasies, SandRider has a slow-building pace that I would not recommend for readers who prefer faster pace reads. If languid tales that unfold through love of the written word, then you’re sure to enjoy SandRider. The writing has a beautifully grand quality that will make any word nerd sigh with delight.

The writing style may take a newbie a little getting used to. Written in a “God’s Eye” style of third person omniscient, SandRider does not rely on any one narrator, but jumps to various points of view throughout the entire book. It can be very confusing if you’re not accustomed to this style.

SandRider is a must-have for readers of epic fantasies. If you loved the original Septimus Heap series, then it’s a no-brainer. You must get this next installment. Angie Sage continues Tod’s journey with another tale full of heart, hope, fear, strength, and trust in strong friendships with SandRider.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."