The Caretaker's Guide to Fablehaven

Featured
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
2307 0
The Caretaker's Guide to Fablehaven
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
October 13, 2015
ISBN
9781629720913
Buy This Book
      

The 3.5 million fans who bought Fablehaven know the series has many imaginative mythical creatures especially dragons. Every one of the dragons has a name and a special power and they all look different and are described in words, but they existed only in our imagination….UNTIL NOW. The Caretaker's Guide to Fablehaven is the first visual discovery of the creatures in the series and is written as if the reader is the new caretaker of the Fablehaven preserve. It has all sorts of insider's knowledge the new caretaker of Fablehaven would have to know, such as dragon tears are very powerful in making potions but they are extremely difficult to come by and cruel people have been known to torment young dragons just to collect tears! So don't YOU want to be their caretaker? Entries detail important information about artifacts large and small, a complete bestiary of creatures (from fairies to trolls to satyrs), a guide to identifying demons, dragons, and wizards as well as valuable insights into the other magical preserves. Scattered throughout the book are colorful fairies that also mark some of the characters, artifacts, and creatures that will be featured in the upcoming sequel series, Dragonwatch.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Useful and Fun Guide to Fablehaven
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
This beautifully illustrated guide has entries on anything that could possibly need more explaining in the books from the Fablehaven series. There are chapters on Artifacts and Items, Creatures, Demons, Dragons, Locations, Wizards. Done in full color, the pages also include notes from Kendra and Seth as well as items that look like they are taped into the book. The descriptions are done seriously, so are quite helpful when reading the books, but are also done with humor, making this fun to read.
Good Points
The Fablehaven series is a great introduction to fantasy for many readers-- the sibling interaction is fun, and the fact that the books start in our world and move into a fantasy one is helpful to fantasy novices. The creatures are fun, and the adventures are always intriguing.

The Fablehaven series first came out in 2006, and has been popular enough that I've had to order a new copy of the first book, for two reasons: the one copy was in pretty poor shape, and students often recommend the book to their friends while they are still reading it, so another copy is crucial! It's easy to forget older series when new books are constantly coming out, and reading The Caretakers Guide motivated me to start offering Fablehaven to readers again, mentioning that all of the books in the first series have already been published, so they don't have to wait for a year to read the next book in the series.

I'm very interested to get more details about the Dragonwatch series!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."
Prepped
 
5.0
"PREPPED is a really captivating YA contemporary fiction. Becca is 17 years old and dreams of going away to college..."