The Secrets of the Pied Piper 1: The Peddler's Road

Featured
 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2026 0
The Secrets of the Pied Piper 1: The Peddler's Road
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 27, 2015
ISBN
978-0385755221
Buy This Book
      

It is said that in the thirteenth century, in a village called Hamelin, a piper lured all of the children away with his magical flute, and none of them were ever seen again. Today tough, pink-haired Max and her little brother, Carter, are stuck in modern-day Hamelin with their father . . . until they are also led away by the Piper to a place called the Summer Isle. There they meet the original stolen children, who haven’t aged a day and who have formed their own village, vigilantly guarded from the many nightmarish beings that roam the land. No one knows why the Piper stole them, but Max and Carter’s appearance may be the key to returning the lost children of Hamelin—and to going home themselves. But to discover the secrets of the Piper, Max and Carter will have to set out on a mysterious quest down the dangerous Peddler’s Road.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Follow the piper's song
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
What I Loved:
The cover is what initially drew me into THE PEDDLER'S ROAD; it's stunning! Somehow, middle grade novels always get the best cover artists! I've never read any retellings of the Pied Piper before, though I'm familiar with the general story, so I was curious to see how this author put his spin on the well-known fable. Readers will recognize a few other familiar stories as well: Baba Yaga plays a part and the Summer Isle resembles Neverland. I really enjoyed how the author wove these different stories together to create something totally new.

I instantly liked the two main characters, Max and her brother, Carter. They have the typical brother-sister relationship; both annoy one another, but they love each other so much they'll do anything to protect each other. I also liked the Hamliners who join Max and Carter on their journey: Lukas, Emilie, and Paul. One of the themes that runs throughout the novel is what makes a hero, and I really liked how all five characters have different qualities that make them heroic, even if they don't know it yet.

The Piper as the villain is properly terrifying, mainly because by the end, you see the reason behind his actions. The best villains are the ones you can sympathize with. I know we haven't seen the last of the Piper, and I'm nervous about what he's going to throw at the group next.

What Left Me Wanting More:
That ending! I can't wait for the next adventure!

The Final Verdict:
THE PEDDLER'S ROAD is a high-stakes adventure story with characters you root for and an ending that will leave readers waiting not-so-patiently for the next installment.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Pied Piper Reimagining
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Max and Carter are not pleased to be spending time in Germany with their father, who is researching fairy tales. They have some adventures around town with a rather amusing German nanny, but miss their mother. Soon, however, they are whisked away by the same characters their father is studying and may be the only ones who can stop the piper and return the children he has stolen.
Good Points
Fairy tale adaptations are always popular, and there hasn't been a fresh one about Hamelin for years. Readers who like Shurtliff's Jack, Buckley's Fairy Tale Detectives, or Zahler's fairy tale books will find this foray into a fairy tale world a fun adventure.

I liked that the family was living in Germany, and had a nice older lady helping out, and Max and Carter are interesting characters. The adventure of being on the peddler's road meeting ghosts was fun, and any story that includes Baba (or Grandmother) Yaga, is always interesting. I'll be curious to see where the series goes from here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Never After: The Thirteenth Fairy (The Chronicles of Never After, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Real life and fairy tales collide in Never After: The...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this harrowing and witty adventure, con-artist and tough-girl Ida...
The Cousins
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of One...
A Curse of Roses
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Based on Portuguese legend, this #OwnVoices historical fantasy is an...
I Don't Want to Wash my Hands!
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From beloved children's author and illustrator Tony Ross, comes a...
Dance Like a Leaf
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As her grandmother's health declines, a young girl begins to...
The Bitterwine Oath
 
3.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
San Solano, Texas, is a quaint town known for...
Sing Like No One's Listening
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a talented young singer...
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first book in an epic and romantic YA...
The Good Girls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One of Us Is Lying meets Sadie in this...
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Iduna harbors a dark secret. On the surface,...
The Camelot Betrayal
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a new fantasy trilogy from...

Latest Member Reviews

The Cousins
 
5.0
"THE COUSINS is a highly devourable and engaging family drama/mystery. The Story family is very wealthy, running a bunch of..."
A Curse of Roses
 
3.7
"A CURSE OF ROSES is an intriguing YA historical fantasy based on a Portuguese legend. The book tackles themes of..."
Speechless
 
4.7
"this story is amazing! i have a project for honors english 10, and this is a great story to chose..."
The Bitterwine Oath
 
3.3
"THE BITTERWINE OATH is a YA fantasy and light horror read. Nat is the descendent of the girl who put..."
 
4.3
"If your expecting the same type of books that you’ve been reading in this series, you’d be wrong. This whole..."
The Kinder Poison
 
5.0
"From start to finish I absolutely adored this story. The opening scene was so much fun to read while Zahru..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
"HEIRESS APPARENTLY is a YA rom-com with deep themes that make it such an engaging and captivating read. Gemma is..."
The Good Girls
 
4.0
"THE GOOD GIRLS is an enthralling read. The book begins after the disappearance and seeming murder of the police chief's..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.0
"Maeve finds a pack of tarot cards while cleaning out a closet at her school. What starts off as curiosity,..."
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
"DANGEROUS SECRETS: THE STORY OF IDUNA AND AGNARR is a great MG/YA fantasy romance. Based on Frozen, this book tells..."
Hot British Boyfriend
 
4.0
"When Ellie is completely humiliated by her best friend an crush, she decides the best way to escape her jeering..."
The Camelot Betrayal (Camelot Rising, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CAMELOT BETRAYAL continues Guinevere's story as she seeks to find her footing in a world that keeps throwing her..."