The Shrunken Head (The Curiosity House #1)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2464 0
The Shrunken Head (The Curiosity House #1)
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 29, 2015
ISBN
9780062270818
Buy This Book
      

What you will find in this book: – A rather attractive bearded lady – Several scandalous murders – A deliciously disgusting Amazonian shrunken head – Four extraordinary children with equally extraordinary abilities – A quite loquacious talking bird Blessed with extraordinary abilities, orphans Philippa, Sam, and Thomas have grown up happily in Dumfrey’s Dime Museum of Freaks, Oddities, and Wonders. But when a fourth child, Max, a knife- thrower, joins the group, it sets off an unforgettable chain of events. When the museum’s Amazonian shrunken head is stolen, the four are determined to get it back. But their search leads them to a series of murders and an explosive secret about their pasts. This sensational new series combines the unparalleled storytelling gifts of Lauren Oliver with the rich knowledge of the notorious relics collector H.C. Chester. What you will NOT find in this book: – An accountant named Seymour – A never-ending line at the post office – Brussel sprouts (shudder) – A lecture on finishing all your homework on time – A sweet, gooey story for nice little girls and boys.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A superb mystery of the fantastical kind
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
When you find four deeply unique children at the heart of a murder-mystery over a possibly cursed shrunken head in a dime museum, you know things will be fascinating. Oh, and are they ever!

Mr. Dumfrey is head master and impeccable ringleader of Dumfrey’s Dime Museum of Freaks, Oddities, and Wonders. It’s post The Great Crash in New York City and times are hard. People are more concerned with how to get through the next day than the epic entertainments of Dumfrey’s wonders such as the Fat Lady, or the Bearded Lady, Alligator Boy, and Siamese Twins. That is, until he acquires a shrunken head with possible nefarious origins.

As people begin dying under extraordinary circumstances, and Dumfrey checks out under the stress of the pending closure of the Dime Museum, it’s up to Thomas, Max, Pippa, and Sam to find a way to save everything they know to be normal in a not-so-normal life.

There are books out there that leave you with a smile. And there are books that FILL you with smiles and wonder and all of the FEELS because they are amazing in every possible way. CURIOSITY HOUSE: THE SHRUNKEN HEAD by Lauren Oliver and H.C. Chester is of the latter. From page ONE, I was sucked in by the outstanding voice popping off the page with a fine “How do you do” and brilliant humor. Page after page, I fell in love with the alternating point of views of our heroes: Thomas, Pippa, Max and Sam. Each character has a superb unique quality to their voice, and each of them has internal and external struggles that guide them through their journey. Though they were brought together for their uniqueness, their common need of finding a place to belong pulls at your heart.

Oliver and Chester paint a vivid world in the setting. The attention to detail in early 1930s New York is truly stunning. You can almost feel the somber desperation leaking from the pages in hues of gray and blue as the world around these children struggles to make ends meet. The writing is spectacular and the descriptions, as seen from a child’s eye, are spot on. For instance, on page 58 of the ARC I received, young Thomas describes two policemen who show up after the shrunken head is stolen. He says, “Standing next to each other, they looked very much like the number ten. The first was tall and extremely thin...The second man was short and as round and stretched and shiny as an inflated balloon.”

Le sigh.

CURIOSITY HOUSE is a mystery adventure readers of all ages can enjoy. As with many middle grade novels, CURIOSTY HOUSE employs the value of our heroes needing to work together in order to complete their quest. They cannot do it alone, though they may try. I would caution there are some points where the content is a tad on the graphic side in its descriptions. As I noted, there is murder involved, and the children are exposed to some of it. Nothing to get an inappropriate rating, but I would use some caution with more sensitive readers.

What I enjoyed most about CURIOSITY HOUSE is that the authors didn’t use the childrens’ extraordinary abilities to define them as characters nor did they rely on their abilities to solve the mystery of the shrunken head. Thomas is seemingly made of rubber and can squeeze through the narrowest of vents. Pippa is psychic, though she can rarely see beyond the contents of another’s pockets. Max has a wicked eye and her aim is always true with her deadly daggers. And Sam, poor pimple-faced Sam, has the strength of ten thousand men. Sure, their abilities do play a vital role in the story, especially how they came together under one roof, but not once do the authors make their abilities a defining characteristic. They are merely an enhancement of their character.

I believe CURIOSITY HOUSE is meant for a new series, and I do hope that to be true. I hope this is the beginning of an adventure series for Thomas, Sam, Pippa, and Max. I would love to see them uncover the mysteries behind other crimes and have other adventures. I feel like we just got a glimpse of an amazing group of kids with much promise. With the wonderful writing style of Lauren Oliver and the mysterious relics uncovered by H.C. Chester, I’m certain CURIOSITY HOUSE: THE SHRUNKEN HEAD is just the beginning of a promising set of timeless journeys.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime...
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Gray Malin’s menagerie of wild animals for a stay...
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Hattie the magician―she’s a natural performer, and you’re invited...
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When spring arrives, baby animals come out to play with...
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The delightful follow-up to When Dimple Met Rishi and There’s...
The Child of Chaos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is what fantasy fiction should be." --Piers Anthony, New...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."