A Sliver of Stardust (Book 1)

FeaturedHot
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
3579 1
A Sliver of Stardust (Book 1)
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 20, 2015
ISBN
0062291556
Buy This Book
      

From Marissa Burt, author of Storybound, comes a richly imagined middle grade fantasy full of magic, intrigue, and imaginative twists. A Sliver of Stardust is the perfect next adventure for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and The Emerald Atlas. Wren Matthews thought she'd outgrown nursery rhymes a long time ago. But that was before she knew that songs of twinkling little stars and four-and-twenty blackbirds were the key to an ancient, hidden magic. Wren's discovery catapults her into a world of buried secrets, strange dreams, and a mountain fortress under an aurora-filled sky. But just as she starts to master her unique abilities, her new world begins to crumble around her . . . and only she can save it

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Story that Shines
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
In Marissa Burt's latest novel, she creates an original new world full of magic and adventure. Wren Matthews is the smartest person she knows. She's highly competitive and, according to her parents, not very social. She loves astronomy and learning. She's in the middle of taking a test when she sees something highly unusual. A woman that commands glittering blue swirls, and a falcon flying around the room. She tries to rationalize, but another boy named Simon sees it, too. They've seen the stardust, and the mysterious woman is called Mary. Mary is a Fiddler, an ancient order of Alchemists who can "play" magic by using old Mother Goose rhymes. Wren and Simon are chosen to become Apprentice Fiddlers and thrust into a new world of magic and secrets.

What I loved:
Wren identifies herself as being "brown all over." Brown hair, brown eyes, brown skin. It's important to see novels with diverse representation, especially as the protagonist who kicks butt. Wren is smart, precocious, and looks at the world with keen eyes. As she learns to play the stardust, she doesn't get it right away. It's frustrating for her because she's so good at everything back home, but at the Crooked House (home of all the Fiddlers and their research), she has to work extra hard. She's resilient and doesn't give up.

Burt creates an entirely new world to explore. Wren, Simmon, and Jack are three apprentices found by Mary in "the wild." That is opposed to the ones who were born in the Crooked House. The Fiddlers consider themselves Alchemists. They learn new ways of uncovering the uses of stardust. Stardust, of course. comes from meteorites that have fallen to earth. I love the mix of light science with history, nursery rhymes, and magic. In order to use the stardust, the Fiddler must "play" and sing a rhyme. It's a brilliant use of old time favorites.

Wren, Simmon, and Jack are in the Crooked house trying to uncover a mysterious plot. The Fiddlers had a civil war long ago, and the leader of that war (who would abuse the stardust for his own power) is thought to be returning. He's called Boggen, but he remains as a shadow that the young Fiddlers have to work around.

I loved the use of falconry and wish I had my own falcon to ride. One of my favorite scenes was when the kids were getting transported by falcon through the aurora borealis.

There's a twist at the end, and a betrayal that Wren does not see coming. Still, Burt never makes Wren into someone who seeks revenge. She's still caring, and willing to risk herself for her friends and the new world she's become a part of.

What left me wanting:
The ending felt a tad rushed. I was disappointed when I turned the page and there was not another chapter waiting for me to wrap up the end. But not to worry, there will be a sequel. A Legend of Starfire is slated for 2016!

Verdict: A Sliver of Stardust is an incredibly original fantasy that weaves the old and the new for a thrilling magical ride.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1910, twelve-year-old Savannah lives with her widowed father on...
The Neighborhood Surprise
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
All the children in the neighborhood like Mrs. Fig. She...
Jet the Cat (Is Not a Cat)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jet is not like any other cat . . ....
Clique Here: A Wish Novel
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lily loves science and hanging out with her best friend,...
Smoke and Mirrors: The Heartstone
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Corbin, a powerful shapeshifting young mage, was just beginning to...
Better Together
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Freaky Friday meets The Parent Trap in New York Times...
Llama Llama Meets the Babysitter
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
With over 30 million copies in print, Anna Dewdney's New...
City (Wheels at Work)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Delivering, collecting, transporting and recycling! Lift the flap to see...
A Season of Flowers
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Michael Garland (Daddy Played the Blues) displays his impressive illustration...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Great Storm of 1893 evicts 15-year-old Gabbie from her...
You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...

Latest Member Reviews

I Can See Clearly
 
3.3
"Luc Ponti comes from a strong Italian family, and his father (an NCAA point guard, Princeton grad, Special Forces and..."
Fire with Fire
 
4.7
"Dani Rivera may excel at every part of her dragon slaying training, but she would rather focus on being normal..."
Better Together
 
5.0
"BETTER TOGETHER is a delightful and charming YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and healing. Siri lives with her mother..."
Get a Clue: A Bookish Boyfriends #4
 
4.3
"In this fourth book set at Reginald R. Hero High, we meet Huck and Win, the brother of Curtis from..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"I had enjoyed this book to great extent. I loved the relationship connection between the two characters and how the..."
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
"What worked: I loved this engaging, heart-felt story with one strong Chicanx protagonist. Think I'M NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.3
"ALL OUR HIDDEN GIFTS was a riveting and darkly captivating YA fantasy/thriller/horror read. Maeve is a teen girl and not..."
The Lost Girls
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Outsiders
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."