A Sliver of Stardust (Book 1)

FeaturedHot
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
3443 1
A Sliver of Stardust (Book 1)
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 20, 2015
ISBN
0062291556
Buy This Book
      

From Marissa Burt, author of Storybound, comes a richly imagined middle grade fantasy full of magic, intrigue, and imaginative twists. A Sliver of Stardust is the perfect next adventure for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and The Emerald Atlas. Wren Matthews thought she'd outgrown nursery rhymes a long time ago. But that was before she knew that songs of twinkling little stars and four-and-twenty blackbirds were the key to an ancient, hidden magic. Wren's discovery catapults her into a world of buried secrets, strange dreams, and a mountain fortress under an aurora-filled sky. But just as she starts to master her unique abilities, her new world begins to crumble around her . . . and only she can save it

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Story that Shines
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
In Marissa Burt's latest novel, she creates an original new world full of magic and adventure. Wren Matthews is the smartest person she knows. She's highly competitive and, according to her parents, not very social. She loves astronomy and learning. She's in the middle of taking a test when she sees something highly unusual. A woman that commands glittering blue swirls, and a falcon flying around the room. She tries to rationalize, but another boy named Simon sees it, too. They've seen the stardust, and the mysterious woman is called Mary. Mary is a Fiddler, an ancient order of Alchemists who can "play" magic by using old Mother Goose rhymes. Wren and Simon are chosen to become Apprentice Fiddlers and thrust into a new world of magic and secrets.

What I loved:
Wren identifies herself as being "brown all over." Brown hair, brown eyes, brown skin. It's important to see novels with diverse representation, especially as the protagonist who kicks butt. Wren is smart, precocious, and looks at the world with keen eyes. As she learns to play the stardust, she doesn't get it right away. It's frustrating for her because she's so good at everything back home, but at the Crooked House (home of all the Fiddlers and their research), she has to work extra hard. She's resilient and doesn't give up.

Burt creates an entirely new world to explore. Wren, Simmon, and Jack are three apprentices found by Mary in "the wild." That is opposed to the ones who were born in the Crooked House. The Fiddlers consider themselves Alchemists. They learn new ways of uncovering the uses of stardust. Stardust, of course. comes from meteorites that have fallen to earth. I love the mix of light science with history, nursery rhymes, and magic. In order to use the stardust, the Fiddler must "play" and sing a rhyme. It's a brilliant use of old time favorites.

Wren, Simmon, and Jack are in the Crooked house trying to uncover a mysterious plot. The Fiddlers had a civil war long ago, and the leader of that war (who would abuse the stardust for his own power) is thought to be returning. He's called Boggen, but he remains as a shadow that the young Fiddlers have to work around.

I loved the use of falconry and wish I had my own falcon to ride. One of my favorite scenes was when the kids were getting transported by falcon through the aurora borealis.

There's a twist at the end, and a betrayal that Wren does not see coming. Still, Burt never makes Wren into someone who seeks revenge. She's still caring, and willing to risk herself for her friends and the new world she's become a part of.

What left me wanting:
The ending felt a tad rushed. I was disappointed when I turned the page and there was not another chapter waiting for me to wrap up the end. But not to worry, there will be a sequel. A Legend of Starfire is slated for 2016!

Verdict: A Sliver of Stardust is an incredibly original fantasy that weaves the old and the new for a thrilling magical ride.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."