Connect the Stars

FeaturedHot
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
5357 0
Connect the Stars
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 22, 2015
ISBN
9780062274656
Buy This Book
      

From Saving Lucas Biggs authors Marisa de los Santos and David Teague comes a heartwarming middle grade adventure about two misfits discovering the importance of just being themselves. When thirteen-year-olds Aaron and Audrey meet at a wilderness camp in the desert, they think their quirks are enough to prevent them from ever having friends. But as they trek through the challenging and unforgiving landscape, they learn that they each have what it takes to make the other whole. Luminous and clever, Connect the Stars takes on some hefty topics of the day—bullying, understanding where you fit in, and learning to live with physical and mental challenges—all in a joyous adventure kids will love!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Survival, Friendships, & Feels
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Connect the Stars is just the book I was wishing for to pull me out of my reading slump: Interesting characters, compelling plot, high-risk scenarios, and plenty of teen agency. I couldn’t put this book down and I enjoyed every second of my time spent reading!

For characters Audrey & Aaron, keeping friends is tough. Both teens have “gifts” that feel more and more like curses as they enter the wilds of middle school. Audrey can tell when people are lying - and it turns out that everyone lies. Especially in middle school and especially your (former) best friends.

Aaron has a mind like a camera; everything he sees and hears is stored away in his mind, but when it comes to feelings and opinions Aaron worries he might not have what it takes to figure things out. When both kids are sent to a wilderness camp in the deserts of New Mexico, they are forced to rely on themselves and their newfound friendships to survive.

Connect the Stars was everything I love about Middle Grade novels rolled into one book: figuring out life, being awkward, discovering your own strengths, and navigating friendships. One of the biggest challenges that these teens faced was learning what it meant to be vulnerable with others. Letting people in can be scary, especially if you’ve been burned before. In this novel, there were lots of different aspects to vulnerability, and each teen in Audrey and Aaron’s wilderness group had to learn how to make friends in a very individual way. Through all the hiccups that come with trusting others (and trusting yourself), there were lots of bonds formed that made this story a compelling read.

The setting was its own character and I don’t often get to read about teens in a desert camping environment. Growing up in a similar landscape, I really connected with the location and the vivid words the authors, Marisa de los Santos and David Teague, used to create a rich, dangerous landscape.

When one of the campers goes missing, it’s up to these teens to find her and also keep themselves safe. As I mentioned before, there’s a lot of teen initiative in this book and what’s more important than learning to cooperate as a group when you have zero adult supervision? Okay, not zero, but I’m getting to that part.

The only thing that left me feeling very uncomfortable about this story was the camp supervisor, Jare. He was unstable at best, and towards the final quarter of the book, he began to exhibit some really unhealthy reactions towards the teens. Without spoiling the mystery of the plot, I’ll just say that the way in which Jare’s storyline was handled was the only unbelievable part of the story. While Audrey and Aaron both learn the importance of telling the truth, but in a way in which they have authority, the entire group of teens end up covering for Jare’s mistakes. Mistakes that should have had serious consequences for him as an adult in charge of teens. I felt like that plot point did a disservice, both to the characters and the readers, to have such an unhealthy example of how lies can be used. Rather than take everything they’d learned about telling the truth and facing their issues, all of the teens decided to help an adult “save face.” It was the only part of the plot that felt disappointing, as it could have demonstrated that some lies come with very big consequences.

Overall, this book was a great story with a strong cast. The sense of direction was clear from the beginning and the authors followed it through with lots of humor and relatable voices. As the summer draws to a close, this is a great book to add to the list to help keep that camp spirit alive a bit longer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."