Connect the Stars

FeaturedHot
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
5769 0
Connect the Stars
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 22, 2015
ISBN
9780062274656
Buy This Book
      

From Saving Lucas Biggs authors Marisa de los Santos and David Teague comes a heartwarming middle grade adventure about two misfits discovering the importance of just being themselves. When thirteen-year-olds Aaron and Audrey meet at a wilderness camp in the desert, they think their quirks are enough to prevent them from ever having friends. But as they trek through the challenging and unforgiving landscape, they learn that they each have what it takes to make the other whole. Luminous and clever, Connect the Stars takes on some hefty topics of the day—bullying, understanding where you fit in, and learning to live with physical and mental challenges—all in a joyous adventure kids will love!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Survival, Friendships, & Feels
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Connect the Stars is just the book I was wishing for to pull me out of my reading slump: Interesting characters, compelling plot, high-risk scenarios, and plenty of teen agency. I couldn’t put this book down and I enjoyed every second of my time spent reading!

For characters Audrey & Aaron, keeping friends is tough. Both teens have “gifts” that feel more and more like curses as they enter the wilds of middle school. Audrey can tell when people are lying - and it turns out that everyone lies. Especially in middle school and especially your (former) best friends.

Aaron has a mind like a camera; everything he sees and hears is stored away in his mind, but when it comes to feelings and opinions Aaron worries he might not have what it takes to figure things out. When both kids are sent to a wilderness camp in the deserts of New Mexico, they are forced to rely on themselves and their newfound friendships to survive.

Connect the Stars was everything I love about Middle Grade novels rolled into one book: figuring out life, being awkward, discovering your own strengths, and navigating friendships. One of the biggest challenges that these teens faced was learning what it meant to be vulnerable with others. Letting people in can be scary, especially if you’ve been burned before. In this novel, there were lots of different aspects to vulnerability, and each teen in Audrey and Aaron’s wilderness group had to learn how to make friends in a very individual way. Through all the hiccups that come with trusting others (and trusting yourself), there were lots of bonds formed that made this story a compelling read.

The setting was its own character and I don’t often get to read about teens in a desert camping environment. Growing up in a similar landscape, I really connected with the location and the vivid words the authors, Marisa de los Santos and David Teague, used to create a rich, dangerous landscape.

When one of the campers goes missing, it’s up to these teens to find her and also keep themselves safe. As I mentioned before, there’s a lot of teen initiative in this book and what’s more important than learning to cooperate as a group when you have zero adult supervision? Okay, not zero, but I’m getting to that part.

The only thing that left me feeling very uncomfortable about this story was the camp supervisor, Jare. He was unstable at best, and towards the final quarter of the book, he began to exhibit some really unhealthy reactions towards the teens. Without spoiling the mystery of the plot, I’ll just say that the way in which Jare’s storyline was handled was the only unbelievable part of the story. While Audrey and Aaron both learn the importance of telling the truth, but in a way in which they have authority, the entire group of teens end up covering for Jare’s mistakes. Mistakes that should have had serious consequences for him as an adult in charge of teens. I felt like that plot point did a disservice, both to the characters and the readers, to have such an unhealthy example of how lies can be used. Rather than take everything they’d learned about telling the truth and facing their issues, all of the teens decided to help an adult “save face.” It was the only part of the plot that felt disappointing, as it could have demonstrated that some lies come with very big consequences.

Overall, this book was a great story with a strong cast. The sense of direction was clear from the beginning and the authors followed it through with lots of humor and relatable voices. As the summer draws to a close, this is a great book to add to the list to help keep that camp spirit alive a bit longer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...

Latest Member Reviews

Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The People We Choose
 
3.3
"THE PEOPLE WE CHOOSE is an intriguing YA contemporary about how we define family. Calliope is nearly 18 years old,..."
Choices
 
5.0
"It's no secret that I adore Michelle's books, so it was fun reading one of her earlier books. ..."
Take Me Home Tonight
 
3.0
"TAKE ME HOME TONIGHT is an unexpected YA contemporary read, told from three perspectives. Kat, Stevie, and Teri are all..."
Jackaby
 
4.7
"This book was a pleasant surprise. Jackaby by William Ritter is the first in the series by the same name...."
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
"GUTTER GIRL is a unique YA contemporary romance that follows two main characters, Jace and McKenna. McKenna is an outcast..."
Go the Distance
 
4.0
"Go the Distance by Jen Calonita is the latest installment in Disney’s Twisted Tale series. This time the story focuses..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."