Confessions of an Imaginary Friend

Featured
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
2219 0
Confessions of an Imaginary Friend
Age Range
9+
Release Date
September 08, 2015
ISBN
9781101925737
Buy This Book
      

The whimsical "autobiography" of an imaginary friend who doesn't know he's imaginary—perfect for fans of The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane and Toy Story Jacques Papier has the sneaking suspicion that everyone except his sister Fleur hates him. Teachers ignore him when his hand is raised in class, he is never chosen for sports teams, and his parents often need to be reminded to set a place for him at the dinner table. But he is shocked when he finally learns the truth: He is Fleur's imaginary friend! When he convinces Fleur to set him free, he begins a surprising, touching, and always funny quest to find himself—to figure out who Jacques Papier truly is, and where he belongs. Readers will fall in love with Jacques's sweet, quirky voice as he gives them a look at life from an incredible new perspective.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Pure Imagination
(Updated: August 26, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Confessions of an Imaginary Friend is humorous and delightful. I laughed my way through this book, and it’s no surprise why. Jacques Papier is a witty, compassionate protagonist who happens to be going through an existential crisis. Except that Jacques Papier doesn’t really exist. After discovering that he is, in fact, a figment of his “sister" Fleur's imagination, Jacques goes on a journey to find his purpose in life.

Jacques Papier moves from one child to the next, fulfilling his imaginary friend duties, and ultimately learning about the power of friendship and the courage it takes to be yourself. One of my favorite moments comes after Jacques gets paired with a very shy, very real kid named Bernard. The two help each other realize just how special it is to be noticed by somebody else. As Jacques helps Bernard find his voice, Bernard helps Jacques find his compassion for others. I was holding back tears by the end - something I wasn’t expecting from the overall humorous tone of the book, but it added great depth to the character arc.

While Jacques has good reason to question his literal visibility, this entire book deals with themes of visibility and the agency of children who are growing up and trying to navigate an adult world. I also found it dealt with emotions in a healthy manner. Jacques misses Fleur and he never tries to minimize his own feelings. Instead, he finds a group of fellow imaginary friends and talks through his emotions. Along with sharing his emotional journey, he learns to listen and empathize with those around him.

The beginning of this book reminded me of A Diary of a Wimpy Kid in style of prose and format. With fun drawings sprinkled throughout and short chapters, this book is ideal for readers who are ready to tackle chapter books with more advanced words and humor. However, it would also make for a fun read-aloud story for younger children.


If you’re looking for an out-of-the-box, feel good, laugh inducing middle grade read then Confessions of an Imaginary Friend is just the book for you!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."