The Curse of the King (Seven Wonders Book 4)

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
2383 0
curse of the king.jpg
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 03, 2015
ISBN
978-0062070494
Buy This Book
      
Percy Jackson meets Indiana Jones in the New York Times bestselling epic adventure Seven Wonders! The Curse of the King is the fourth book in a seven-book series by master storyteller Peter Lerangis. This sequel to The Tomb of Shadows, Lost in Babylon, and The Colossus Rises chronicles the adventures of Jack McKinley and his friends as they face their greatest challenge yet—the long-lost Statue of Zeus. In their struggle to undo what's been done and unlock the secrets of this Wonder of the Ancient World, our heroes must confront gods, relive old battles, and face down their own destiny to save themselves—and the world—from destruction.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Ultimate adventure of the fantastical kind
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
For the love of all that is Greek, hold onto your hats as you break open the fourth installment to the Seven Wonders series, CURSE OF THE KING by Peter Lerangis! Jack McKinley and his band of Select just cannot get a break. After barely escaping with their lives in Book 3, Jack tries to find some semblance of normalcy. But how can a kid do that when their fourteenth birthday--also known as The Day You Die Day—is just around the corner. Collecting all the Loculi is the ONLY option. Problem is, one has already been destroyed, Jack has two of them, and the others are Gods knows where!

He needs backup.

With Cass in tow, Jack talks his dad into taking them to California where Aly lives. They need her. Like STAT. Especially after a skype call with Aly ended after she passed out on screen. Her fourteenth birthday is coming, too. Jack knows something bad has happened to Aly and they need to get the diminishing shard of the Loculi of Healing to Aly before they lose her.
From there, Jack and his crew need to find a way to get the other Loculi before it’s too late.

Each passing day is one day closer to their ill-fated fourteenth. Old friends are found, centuries-old statues come to life spouting TV lines, and those once thought to be enemies might actually be the key to everything. Bonds are tested, friendships are stretched, and wits are matched as the Select battle to beat the clock. Can Jack’s mother be trusted? Does she really care? And is Massa really as bad as they thought?

As noted in other reviews of the previous books, if you’re a fan of Percy Jackson, Seven Wonders is right up your Greekish alley. From beginning to end, Seven Wonders is a non-stop ride of adventure, monsters, magic, and the bonds of true friendship. The pacing never slows to a crawl at any place during the book. It’s definitely a good sit-down-and-do-nothing-for-the-rest-of-the-day kind of book. I say this because once you start, you’re going to need to finish.

Each of the characters is engaging and lovable with clear voices. If I could pick a literary hero to be my kid brother, it would be our narrator, Jack McKinley. He’s a bit of a nerd, no way near any sort of hero material, but he has a great head, is crazy loyal to his friends, smart, funny, and just all around adorkable. Jack is a kid, he makes mistakes. Sometimes of the epically stupid kind, but that’s part of growing up. His voice is very true for a believable almost-fourteen-year-old. In fact, he’s even more “fourteen-ish” than Percy. Loads of times, I felt Percy Jackson sound a bit old for his literary age. Not so with Jack.

Even Cass and Aly are very clear through the pages. They each have a distinct voice that stays consistent through their journey. I love the little ticks they have! Cass, Jack's "adoptive" brother speaks fluent backwardish, which is hilarious, especially when others are trying to figure out what Cass just said while others are just like, "Totally!" And Aly, the tech wiz, has a tendency to get all technical, explaining in great detail how to hack a system, leaving everyone staring at her with a blank.

Really, the only voice I don't particularly care for is Marco. I think Lerangis could have dug a little deeper with him. The jock with a California beach drawl is terribly cliché and I found myself skipping his input because of it.

The storyline, however, is fantastic. It's the perfect kind of adventure book that reminds me a bit of The Goonies, if only in feel. A group of kids with particular skills set off to save the world and themselves as adults pretty much just look on from the sidelines. EPIC! It's insane, would never happen in the real world, but that's what makes books like Curse of the King amazing to read. I can't imagine ANY thirteen to fourteen year-old who wouldn't want to have a parent-free adventure. It's not just that either. The adults even sometimes take their queues from Jack's crew, and that makes my inner teen squeal with delight! Talk my folks into flying me cross-country, totally ditching school, to save a friend? Sure, no problem, Kiddo. How about going out on a near impossible journey to retrieve ancient relics that will save our lives, which also happens to include the potential of being caught by The Big Bad, AND we do this alone? Done. Yup. Sign me up!

Curse of the King is an extraordinary adventure with a sprinkling of moral lessons we all should learn. It's a fast-paced, exciting, unputdownable trek into the legends of Atlantis with Jack and his best team imaginable: his best friends in the whole world. What more could a kid want?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Apocalypse Taco
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sid, Axl, and Ivan volunteer to make a late-night fast-food...
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this delightfully creepy novel from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war and...
Awesome Achievers in Technology: Super and Strange Facts about 12 Almost Famous History Makers
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Part of a super fun middle grade series, Awesome Achievers...
Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Girl by day. Cat by night. Ready for an adventure....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first I Can Read! book featuring beloved picture book...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In a beautiful anthology, ten children’s book greats share stories,...
Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano (Firebrand, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
First time in print! The...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sage Sassafras’s life is cursed! No, really. Since birth, Sage...
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can Kit’s super-weird superpower save her world? ...
The Brokenhearted
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
teenage girl is transformed into a reluctant superhero and...
Brave Enough
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Teenager Cason Martin is the youngest ballerina in the Atlanta...
I Wanna Be Where You Are
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Chloe Pierce’s mom forbids her to apply for a...

Latest Member Reviews

Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
"Kitty wants to be a superhero like her mom, but she's afraid to go out in the dark. Her mom..."
 
4.0
"'Little Penguin's New Friend' by Tadgh Bentley is a cute story about the making of a friendship despite misconceptions about..."
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
4.0
"NAKED MOLE RAT SAVES THE WORLD tells the story of kit, whose name is lowercase because she was too small..."
 
4.0
"Sage lives out west in the town of Goldview, and her family is cursed. Years ago, her mother and her..."
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
Small World
 
5.0
"SMALL WORLD is a gorgeous celebration of growing up and following your dreams. When Nanda was born, her world was..."
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
"ON THE FIRST DAY OF SUMMER VACATION uses the tune of The 12 Days of Christmas to present the fun..."
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
"Budding scientists, rejoice! The Questioneers is the perfect series to show you the how and to have some extra scientific..."
Bad Bella
 
4.0
"Bella lives with the McBrides, who have several small children and often forget Bella's needs. She gets in trouble for..."
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
"In this short, middle grade graphic novel, DC superheroes from the Justice League answer e mails from young fans. Superman..."
Shake It Off! (Wish #8)
 
4.0
"Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided..."
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
"This episode of THE BAD GUYS has the crew planning for a way to stop the aliens and help the..."
Not if I Can Help It
 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
Emily Out of Focus
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."