The Vanishing Island (Chronicles of the Black Tulip #1)

Featured
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
1824 0
51VpiSn2KKL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 01, 2015
ISBN
0062221906
Buy This Book
      

An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized new book from acclaimed author Barry Wolverton, perfect for fans of John Stephens's the Books of Beginning series. It's 1599, the Age of Discovery in Europe. But for Bren Owen, growing up in the small town of Map on the coast of Britannia has meant anything but adventure. Enticed by the tales sailors have brought through Map's port, and inspired by the arcane maps his father creates as a cartographer for the cruel and charismatic map mogul named Rand McNally, Bren is convinced that fame and fortune await him elsewhere. That's when Bren meets a dying sailor, who gives him a strange gift that hides a hidden message. Cracking the code could lead Bren to a fabled lost treasure that could change his life forever, and that of his widowed father. Before long, Bren is in greater danger than he ever imagined and will need the help of an unusual friend named Mouse to survive.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Exciting premise perfect for eager young exploreres
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Bren Owen is bored of his small town, Map. He wants excitement, adventure, and to sail the seas. When a dying sailor gives Bren a strange coin of sorts, Bren’s journey launches into danger, mystery, and more excitement than he ever bargained for.

What I Loved:

The premise of THE VANISHING ISLAND is incredible. I love the mystery behind the Black Tulip, the magic, and the great legends. The mystery of Marco Polo’s journey is especially intriguing, and readers will easily ooh and ahh over the clues as the story builds.
The world building is strong and believable, crafting a setting that seems somewhat familiar and calm but is somehow still ripe with magical possibilities. Map is the kind of teaser town one can easily imagine a young person like Bren feeling trapped in; few opportunities exist for him, yet he is surrounded by explorers making pit stops and telling fantastical stories like those he reads about in his adventure novels.

What Left Me Wanting More:

While I understand Bren’s general motivations, I still had a hard time connecting with him. His character feels surface level, and though he does develop throughout the story, he still seems flat and a bit predictable. The plot is a little slow going at times, which may contribute to not getting a fuller force of Bren’s internal growth as there are fewer areas for his actions to give notice. Secondary character Mouse captured my interest much more easily, and Mouse’s own mystery is sure to keep readers turning the pages. The ending does give hints that a deeper course may await Bren the next book.

Final Verdict:

Though I found it difficult to connect with Bren, the enchanting premise and awesome world building make this a delightful read, perfect for eager young explorers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen...
You Say It First
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
One conversation can change everything. Meg has her entire...
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX A tragedy at Langley Estate puts my family...
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Clark thought he knew what grief was. Addie thought...
Tales from the Hinterland
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A gorgeously illustrated collection of twelve “lush and deliciously...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
From the acclaimed author of Defy, Sara B. Larson,...
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Willow Figure skating was supposed to be my whole...
Unchosen
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Katharyn Blair crafts a fiercely feminist fantasy with a horrifying...
Miracle Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leanne Strong hates June eighth even though it's supposed to...
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Rosie Singer’s mom is missing whatever it is that...
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On October 2nd, 1977, Glenn Burke, outfielder for the Los...
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's been almost a year since Sila's mother traveled halfway...
Alone in the Woods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jocelyn and Alex have always been best friends...until they aren't....
Disaster Days
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hannah Steele loves living on Pelling, a tiny island near...
Wild River
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Daniel Redmayne is fast asleep on the first night of...
The Last Hurrah
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
3 nights, 2 days, and 1 massive music fest ....

Latest Member Reviews

The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."
The Raven and the Dove
 
4.0
"An intriguing tale of forbidden love as two young lovers fight to stay together. Well written and entertaining. ..."
The Devil's Apprentice
 
4.5
"This was actually a pretty interesting story. At first I really wasn't sure how it was going to go so..."
Heart Sister
 
4.8
"The story: When Emmitt’s twin sister Minnie dies in a tragic accident, it cripples not only him..."
Mastery of Earth (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 3)
 
5.0
"Oh the feels this book gave me. Davi's officially back but still not really? His memories are all over the..."
Glass Princess
 
5.0
"This second entry was good, well technically fifth. I am really glad that the story picked up right after the..."
Depths: A Tale of the Little Mermaid
 
3.8
"Set in a Greek/Roman era, where not only one but three worlds are colliding, Arianna is a human girl who..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Rebel Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows main characters Harper and Mitchell as they have to find a..."
Launch (Rise of the Anointed #1)
 
5.0
"This superhero tale is a lot of fun, with likeable characters, lots of action, and a thread of faith that..."