Into the Dorkness (Galaxy's Most Wanted #2)

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
1045 0
Into the Dorkness (Galaxy's Most Wanted #2)
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 05, 2015
ISBN
9780062231048
Buy This Book
      
Kid genius Kevin Brewer and his friends must defend Earth from an invasion of vengeful aliens in the second installment of John Kloepfer's hilarious illustrated middle grade series Galaxy's Most Wanted, a perfect fit for reluctant readers. With a full-blown intergalactic war brewing, Kevin and his science camp friends must battle two of the nastiest aliens this side of the Milky Way. It would take a genius to outsmart these extraterrestrial criminals. Lucky for Earth, Kevin and his friends are space-age masterminds.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Lizard Aliens and Nanobots!
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Kevin, Tara, Warner and TJ are back after Galaxy's Most Wanted, and are dealing with the aftermath of Mim, the fuzzy purple alien that wanted to take over the Earth. Kevin has accidentally miniaturized Klyk, the cyborg space cop, but that is the least of his problems when a space ship descends on Northwest Horizons camp with a freeze ray! Zouric, a Gastropod, and Nuzz, a brain bot, are there with a variety of lizard aliens called Kamilions. They are angry at Mim for messing up, and are trying to get things in order to take over. They have nanobots that attack people and turn them into brainless zombies willing to do their bidding. Kevin and his gang manage to escape the initial attack at camp and make their way across the lake to a soccer camp, but the nanobots turn the soccer players against them. Luckily, before that happens, they meet a goalie, Marcy, who tells them that the creatures sound a lot like something she's read in a comic book by Max Greyson. The group manages to take Klyk's space ship to Colorado to hunt down the author. They find that he's been missing, but talk to his assistant. This gives them a little more information to fight the aliens. They manage to create armor against the nanobots and head back for a final showdown with the aliens. Can they save the camp and, if necessary, the world?
Good Points
Since this is a science fiction notebook novel, it automatically appeals to two different audiences, which is great. It moves quickly, has some good gross moments, and the children are in charge of saving the world from funny looking aliens. While all of this seems a bit unlikely, the book has the advantage of being just the right amount of goofy for middle school There's lots of fighting, travel, things blowing up, much like Zombie Chasers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."