Kid Owner

FeaturedHot
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
8101 0
Kid Owner
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 29, 2015
ISBN
978-0062293794
Buy This Book
      

From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a riveting new stand-alone football novel. When Ryan's estranged father unexpectedly dies, Ryan learns that he has inherited the Dallas Cowboys. With his new role as owner of this NFL team, Ryan has high hopes that he can be more than just a middle-school misfit. Maybe he can even get off the bench and into the starting lineup of his own football team. With the help of his friends Jackson and Izzy, Ryan takes advantage of his newfound stardom. He convinces his coach to use a tricky passing offense that plays to Ryan's strengths. But just when things are looking up, Ryan's nasty stepmother makes a legal play to make her own son the Cowboys' kid owner. With drama heating up both on and off the field, Ryan quickly realizes he may lose much more than just the Dallas Cowboys.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Tim Green: Always a slam dunk for sports fans
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Ryan Zinna has a comfortable life in Texas even though his mother has always refused to talk about his father. He is small, but likes to play football with his friend, the much larger Jackson, who is helpful in sticking up for him when idiots on the team berate him for being small. When his father passes away, he finds out why football and father are two words his mother doesn't like. His father was a wealthy entrepreneur who owned the Dallas Cowboys football team, and Ryan inherits it. He's thrilled, although his mother is not. Even though Mr. Dietrich is his trustee and will help him make decisions, his father thought it was a breath of fresh air to have a team run by a kid. The new media think this is a great story, especially when the will is contested by Ryan's father's second wife, who wants the controlling interest for her own son, Dillon. To make matters more interesting, Dillon plays football on the unbeatable team that is the big rival of Ryan's. Dietrich decides to use the big game in which both teams play as the deciding factor for which boy is most capable of running the team.
Good Points
Green always has interesting female characters, and Ryan's friend Izzy is no exception. She plays a mean game of fantasy football, doesn't shrink from impressing everyone with her general knowledge of football, plays soccer, and is pretty and nice to boot. Ryan's growing interest in her is realistic and adds a nice touch to this middle grade novel. Jackson is a confusing character, but a nice foil for Ryan. Ryan is conflicted about his sudden fame, but willing to rise to the occasion. There aren't the typical mafia style villains that Green favors in this book, but the coaches aren't the nicest people in the world, which is interesting.

There are lots good football details, and Ryan's strategies for both the Cowboys and his own team are described in enough detail that I was a bit confused. This is always a good sign that readers who actually watch football will be enthralled! The premise of a middle school student owning a team as famous as the Cowboys is an intriguing one, and will appeal to readers who love to play and read about the sport.

For fans of Green's other books, like the Football Genius series, or readers who like Fred Bowen, Rich Wallace, John Feinstein, or Mike Lupica, Kid Owner is a slam dunk. Or a touchdown. (If I want to get my sports metaphor right!)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 6

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."