The Fog Diver

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2018 0
The Fog Diver
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 26, 2015
ISBN
978-0062352934
Buy This Book
      

Joel Ross debuts a thrilling adventure series in which living in the sky is the new reality and a few determined slum kids just might become heroes. Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Brandon Mull, this fantasy is filled with daring and hope and a wonderfully imaginative world. Once the Fog started rising, the earth was covered with a deadly white mist until nothing remained but the mountaintops. Now humanity clings to its highest peaks, called the Rooftop, where the wealthy Five Families rule over the lower slopes and floating junkyards. Thirteen-year-old Chess and his friends Hazel, Bea, and Swedish sail their rickety air raft over the deadly Fog, scavenging the ruins for anything they can sell to survive. But now survival isn't enough. They must risk everything to get to the miraculous city of Port Oro, the only place where their beloved Mrs. E can be cured of fogsickness. Yet the ruthless Lord Kodoc is hot on their trail, for Chess has a precious secret, one that Kodoc is desperate to use against him. Now Chess will face any danger to protect his friends, even if it means confronting what he fears the most.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Middle Grade Dystopia
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Like Edelman's Sky Jumpers, Hall's The Line, or Hughes' The Crack in the Sky, The Fog Diver is a great middle grade Dystopian adventure. The invention of the nanites to clean up pollution is very believable, and Ross aptly describes Chess's world in great detail, from the cobbled together hovel Chess inhabits to the various airships that hurtle through the sky. An interesting detail that I really enjoyed was that the plants and animals on Earth are not attacked by the Fog, so they exist among the abandoned buildings. I wish that Chess had spent a bit more time wandering around and unearthing items from the past!

Hazel is a fearless captain, Bea is very fond of machinery, and Swedish is a gruff and obstinate foil for a close knit group. The addition of Loretta, who is more of a fighter, is a bit abrupt, but she ends up being just what the group needs. Chess's motivations for surviving and helping out Mrs. E. are very clear, and I am a bit curious to see if the next book in the series.

Aside from the pulse quickening adventures, the group also reminisces about the world that they never knew but about which they have heard stories. Did people on earth really eat string (cheese) and sticks (fish)? Were the seas really filled with whales, squid, and squarepants? And did the people of earth love the story of Skywalker Trek as much as Chess does? Snippets of skewed information handed down about Earth lighten the story when things look grim.
Good Points
Chess is a tetherboy, someone who goes down into the Fog from an airship to scavenge for goods. The Fog is a mass of nanites gone bad. Used originally to clean the pollutants out of the atmosphere, the nanites began attacking humans and producing their own replacements years ago, leaving humans to try to survive on the tops of mountains where the nanites can't survive. Chess was born in the Fog, thanks to the experiments of the evil Kradoc who put Chess's mother into the Fog when she was giving birth to him. He has nanites swirling in his eye, so he can see in the Fog and they don't kill him, which makes him a great scavenger. Working on a rented air raft with captain Hazel, driver Swedish, and engineer Bea, Chess tries to find enough in the Fog to sell. The woman who takes care of the group, Mrs. E., is "fogsick" from having rescued Chess as a baby, and is struggling to survive in a slum where the poor people are beleagured by all manner of forces. When the rumor circulates that the Kradoc, who controls most of the activity in the air, is looking for Chess, the team work together to try to keep Chess out of sight. When their raft crashes and the whole level that they live on is supposed to be "ditched" (tipped in the Fog below), the group manage to save Mrs. E by borrowing another air craft. They run into Nisha and Vidious, who offer to help them if the children will work on their vessel, the Anvil Rose, until they reach the Port. Chess has found a valuable diamond, and hopes to sell it at the Port and use the money to make Mrs. E. well. When Kradoc finds Chess and realizes who he is, trouble ensues.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Honk SHOOOOOO! Honk SHOOOOOO! . . .” ...
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now in a sturdy board book format, perfect for little...
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Told entirely in text messages, the second book in this...
I've Loved You Since Forever
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times #1 Bestseller! ...
My Baby Loves Christmas
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the My Baby Loves Christmas board book, celebrate all...
Riverland
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When things go bad at home, sisters Eleanor and Mike...
All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A perfect, device-free remedy to what to do when the...
Animazes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow fascinating journeys of animal migration in this beautiful book...
Christmas Cheer for The Grouchy Ladybug
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the New York Times bestseller Hugs...
Baby Loves the Five Senses: Hearing!
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Big, brainy science for the littlest listeners. ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki from Bainbridge Island, Washington is...
Laugh-Out-Loud Halloween Jokes: Lift-the-Flap
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The #1 bestselling Laugh-Out-Loud Jokes for Kids series is bringing...

Latest Member Reviews

Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
"DINOSNORES is another absolutely charming and delightfully ridiculous board book from Sandra Boynton. Here, the dinosaurs get ready for bed,..."
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
"GOOD DAY, GOOD NIGHT follows a bunny on his journey from sun-up to sunset, as he travels around town, plays..."
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
"TBH, THIS MAY BE TMI is the second in a contemporary middle grade series, though it can easily function as..."
I've Loved You Since Forever
 
5.0
"This gorgeous board book celebrates the parent-child bond in an absolutely stunning way. I'VE LOVED YOU SINCE FOREVER suggests that..."
My Baby Loves Christmas
 
5.0
"Babies and toddlers will love the colorful celebration of Christmas in this delightful board book. MY BABY LOVES CHRISTMAS is..."
Riverland
 
4.0
"RIVERLAND is a riveting and complex middle grade magical realism novel. Eleanor and her sister, Mike (nickname, everyone except their..."
Christmas Cheer for The Grouchy Ladybug
 
3.5
"CHRISTMAS CHEER FOR THE GROUCHY LADYBUG talks about everything exciting Christmas has to offer. There's snowflakes, fires, bells, presents, stockings,..."
Under the Snow
 
5.0
"When you see snow, you think of how pretty it is or how cold it is. UNDER THE SNOW opens..."
Laugh-Out-Loud Halloween Jokes: Lift-the-Flap
 
4.0
"LAUGH OUT LOUD HALLOWEEN JOKES is full of cute jokes that are perfect for children aged four and up. The..."
Little Tigers
 
4.0
"After hearing humans and their dogs nearby, Mother Tiger knows it's time for them to find somewhere safer to live...."
Explorer Academy Codebreaking Activity Adventure
 
5.0
"Fans of the Explorer Academy series won't want to miss out on this Codebreaking Activity Adventure. Enter into Explorer Academy..."
One Fox: A Counting Book Thriller
 
5.0
"ONE FOX counts from one to ten in a thrilling way. The fox is hunting for some food and he..."
Odd Dog Out
 
4.0
"In a busy city of normal dogs, there's one that stands out. She does her own thing and dresses her..."
Pete the Kitty Goes to the Doctor
 
5.0
"'Pete the Kitty Goes to the Doctor' by Kimberly & James Dean is a great addition to any child's “I..."
Bach to the Rescue!!!
 
4.0
"'Bach to the Rescue!!!' by Tom Angleberger, illustrated by Elio, is a cute and comedic story about a rich dude..."
Trees: A Rooted History
 
5.0
"When I was a little girl there were only a few books that I drug around with me to stare..."
The Hideout
 
5.0
"The artistry and illustrations in The Hideout are dreamlike, painting a picture of your favorite park and woodland location hidden..."
Dog and Rabbit
 
5.0
"DOG AND RABBIT is a charming tale of friendship. Told in four parts, the book introduces Dog and then Rabbit...."
Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky (Tristan Strong #1)
 
5.0
"I never wanted to be a superhero as a child, but I wanted to do heroic things. Tristan Strong epitomizes..."
Bernard Pepperlin
 
4.0
"Bernard Pepperlin is the doormouse from Alice in Wonderland. After being forced into a teapot, Bernard climbs out to find..."