The Fog Diver

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2099 0
The Fog Diver
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 26, 2015
ISBN
978-0062352934
Buy This Book
      

Joel Ross debuts a thrilling adventure series in which living in the sky is the new reality and a few determined slum kids just might become heroes. Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Brandon Mull, this fantasy is filled with daring and hope and a wonderfully imaginative world. Once the Fog started rising, the earth was covered with a deadly white mist until nothing remained but the mountaintops. Now humanity clings to its highest peaks, called the Rooftop, where the wealthy Five Families rule over the lower slopes and floating junkyards. Thirteen-year-old Chess and his friends Hazel, Bea, and Swedish sail their rickety air raft over the deadly Fog, scavenging the ruins for anything they can sell to survive. But now survival isn't enough. They must risk everything to get to the miraculous city of Port Oro, the only place where their beloved Mrs. E can be cured of fogsickness. Yet the ruthless Lord Kodoc is hot on their trail, for Chess has a precious secret, one that Kodoc is desperate to use against him. Now Chess will face any danger to protect his friends, even if it means confronting what he fears the most.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Middle Grade Dystopia
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Like Edelman's Sky Jumpers, Hall's The Line, or Hughes' The Crack in the Sky, The Fog Diver is a great middle grade Dystopian adventure. The invention of the nanites to clean up pollution is very believable, and Ross aptly describes Chess's world in great detail, from the cobbled together hovel Chess inhabits to the various airships that hurtle through the sky. An interesting detail that I really enjoyed was that the plants and animals on Earth are not attacked by the Fog, so they exist among the abandoned buildings. I wish that Chess had spent a bit more time wandering around and unearthing items from the past!

Hazel is a fearless captain, Bea is very fond of machinery, and Swedish is a gruff and obstinate foil for a close knit group. The addition of Loretta, who is more of a fighter, is a bit abrupt, but she ends up being just what the group needs. Chess's motivations for surviving and helping out Mrs. E. are very clear, and I am a bit curious to see if the next book in the series.

Aside from the pulse quickening adventures, the group also reminisces about the world that they never knew but about which they have heard stories. Did people on earth really eat string (cheese) and sticks (fish)? Were the seas really filled with whales, squid, and squarepants? And did the people of earth love the story of Skywalker Trek as much as Chess does? Snippets of skewed information handed down about Earth lighten the story when things look grim.
Good Points
Chess is a tetherboy, someone who goes down into the Fog from an airship to scavenge for goods. The Fog is a mass of nanites gone bad. Used originally to clean the pollutants out of the atmosphere, the nanites began attacking humans and producing their own replacements years ago, leaving humans to try to survive on the tops of mountains where the nanites can't survive. Chess was born in the Fog, thanks to the experiments of the evil Kradoc who put Chess's mother into the Fog when she was giving birth to him. He has nanites swirling in his eye, so he can see in the Fog and they don't kill him, which makes him a great scavenger. Working on a rented air raft with captain Hazel, driver Swedish, and engineer Bea, Chess tries to find enough in the Fog to sell. The woman who takes care of the group, Mrs. E., is "fogsick" from having rescued Chess as a baby, and is struggling to survive in a slum where the poor people are beleagured by all manner of forces. When the rumor circulates that the Kradoc, who controls most of the activity in the air, is looking for Chess, the team work together to try to keep Chess out of sight. When their raft crashes and the whole level that they live on is supposed to be "ditched" (tipped in the Fog below), the group manage to save Mrs. E by borrowing another air craft. They run into Nisha and Vidious, who offer to help them if the children will work on their vessel, the Anvil Rose, until they reach the Port. Chess has found a valuable diamond, and hopes to sell it at the Port and use the money to make Mrs. E. well. When Kradoc finds Chess and realizes who he is, trouble ensues.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Faith has always known she was different and her...
The Mall
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The year is 1991. Scrunchies, mixtapes and 90210 are, like,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Poems to Live Your Life By, Chris Riddell, political...
The Claires
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Four beautiful girls. Quadruplets. They are not identical.But each is...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo,...
What He Hides
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
She wants the truth... or does she? They say...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King,...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
"more forgetting time. more midnight dances with yourself."...
The Upside of Falling
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
It’s been years since eighteen-year-old Becca Hart believed in...
More Than His Best Friend
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
She’s got a strict rule against dating. Could her...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"POEMS TO LIVE YOUR LIFE BY is a collection in which each poem has been hand-picked by Chris Riddell, for..."
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."
No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One
 
4.0
"'No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One' by Paul Fleischman tells the story of the author..."
When the World Didn’t End: Poems
 
4.0
"Caroline Kaufman, otherwise known as @poeticpoison, has published her latest poems in WHEN THE WORLD DIDN’T END. The collection, which..."
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
4.0
"While there are a number of excellent books about women's suffrage available, including Kops' Alice Paul, Zimet's Roses and Radicals,..."
Imperfect: A Story of Body Image
 
3.5
"A memoir in graphic novel form, offering the personal account of a young Muslim girl’s nearly lifelong battle with perception,..."
Fearless Public Speaking
 
N/A
"If you have weak, wobbly knees and a pounding heart when you face an audience--don't worry, that's good! In Fearless..."
Abraham Lincoln: The Making of America #3
 
4.5
"A highly accessible biographical overview of (arguably) the most renowned and history-altering of all the United States presidents. The book..."
The (other) F Word: A Celebration of the Fat and Fierce
 
5.0
"3 Reasons You Need THE OTHER F WORD on your shelves: 1.) The list of contributors: The range of..."
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
"Why we still need biographies of first wave feminists: "A married woman taking her husband's name reflected that under legal..."
Stonewall Riots: Coming Out in the Streets
 
4.0
"June 28th marks the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots in Greenwich Village, New York City, so it's great to..."
Hello Girls: Friendship on Fire
 
5.0
"Some friendships are unbreakable. In “Hello Girls,” the latest novel by Brittany Cavallaro and Emily Henry you will find a..."
The Rule of Many
 
4.0
"The Rule of Many is an action-packed sequel to “The Rule of One” written by Ashley and Leslie Saunders, twin..."
 
4.0
"THE YOUNG ACTOR’S HANDBOOK by Jeremy Kruse is essentially a 101 course on acting. With a bare bones approach, Kruse..."
A Thousand Sisters: The Heroic Airwomen of the Soviet Union in World War II
 
4.5
"This is a enthralling telling of the brave Soviet airwomen who flew missions during World War II. They fought in..."
Seven at Sea
 
4.0
"SEVEN AT SEA is told in alternating point of views between Erik and Emily Orton. After watching sailboats drifting on..."
Dear Ally, How Do You Write A Book?
 
5.0
"DEAR ALLY, HOW DO YOU WRITE A BOOK is perfect for anyone interested in writing. It doesn't matter if you're..."
What is Poetry? The Essential Guide to Reading and Writing Poems
 
4.0
"WHAT IS POETRY: THE ESSENTIAL GUIDE TO READING AND WRITING POEMS by Michael Rosen is a nonfiction, how-to book intended..."
Secret Soldiers: How the U.S. Twenty-Third Special Troops Fooled the Nazis
 
5.0
"During WWII, there were dozens and dozens of departments and units doing things that 95% of the population still has..."
Captured: An American Prisoner of War in North Vietnam
 
5.0
"Jeremiah Denton was a naval aviator who was shot down and captured by the North Koreans in 1965, and was..."