Bridget Wilder: Spy-in-Training (Bridget Wilder Series)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1795 0
Bridget Wilder: Spy-in-Training (Bridget Wilder Series)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 01, 2015
ISBN
978-0062382665
Buy This Book
      

Middle school meets Mission Impossible in this hilarious spy series for fans of Chris Rylander, Stuart Gibbs, and Ally Carter about a girl whose life is turned upside down when she discovers her father is a superspy. Up until Bridget’s birthday the most exciting moment in her life was when Dale Tookey maybe, sort of, smiled at her one time. But that was before—before she found a mysterious present at her doorstep, before she was transported to a covert CIA agency called Section 23, and before she became Bridget Wilder: Spy-in-Training. Now Bridget’s busting boys out of detention, being chauffeured by a talking car, and infiltrating the popular girls’ clique to steal secret codes, all while undercover as a semi-awkward middle school girl. But will she be able to keep up with her new action-packed life? It is no secret—Bridget Wilder: Spy-in-Training is the start of an explosive new series packed with gadgets, humor, and best of all: girl power.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Weaponized, Smoky Pear lip balm
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Bridget isn't expecting a whole lot for her birthday from her busy adoptive parents, but she thought she might get a card or something. Instead, her older, trouble making brother Ryan just wakes her up to let him in the house after a night of carousing, and her perfect younger sister Natalie wants her to help with a fund raiser. Even her sort-of friend, Joanna, is really only concerned about posting mean stuff about fellow classmates on her web site. When she gets a bag with a cell phone and a gift card to a fancy boutique, she thinks her parents have given it to her, but they are truly regretful that they didn't. Bridget goes to the boutique, where she is given a very high tech track suit by Xan, and eventually the cell phone rings. It is Spool, an agent who informs her that her biological father is really Carter Spike, a super secret agent for Section 23, an organization so deeply underground that the CIA doesn't even know about it. Her father wants her to start spying, starting with someone at school, and moving on to the daughter of a business magnate. In order to spy on the businessman, Bridget must befriend his daughter, which is no easy task. Her track suit gives her super speed and agility, which she uses to defuse local hoodlums who attempt to beat up Dale Tookey, a geekish boy from her school. The people at her school aren't all who they seem to be, and Bridget's entry into the world of espionage is fraught with double agents, deception and a malfunctioning, weaponized, Smoky Pear lip balm.
Good Points
Middle grade fiction often capitalizes on the very typical middle grade concern of self identity, and Bridget's desire to connect with her biological father is both endearing and amusing. She feels like an outsider at school, and her only friend is someone she doesn't really like, something which contributes to the many middle school friendships that dissolve about halfway through seventh grade. It's telling that the confidence engendered by her track suit and her spy assignments translates not only into new friendships, but also into a budding romance with Dale. Her place in her family, as not only the middle child, but also as the only adopted child, is handled realistically as well.

The other characters in the book are fleshed out as well. Dale is introduced merely as the target of some bullies, but becomes more than the reader can imagine. Joanna is unflinchingly wicked. Ryan has a change of heart, and Natalie is not the perfect child that she seems. The parents are busy, but truly care about Bridget and want her to be happy.

This is not lacking in the elements that make a great spy novel, either. We have Spool, the Charlie's Angel type talking head, who supplies Bridget with the aforementioned lip balm as well as Tic Tac cameras and a laser that can cut a Mercedes in two. There are divided loyalties, unexpected allegiances, and awesome chase scenes. Personally, I just want the track suit programmed to replicate all of her father's physical skills, especially since wearing it even makes her faster without it!

For fans of Gibb's Spy School, Rylander's Code Name Zero or Sanderson's Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians, Bridget Wilder: Spy in Training will go over as well as a poshly wrapped birthday package on the porch of someone who thinks everyone has forgotten her birthday!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Unchosen
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Katharyn Blair crafts a fiercely feminist fantasy with a horrifying...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leanne Strong hates June eighth even though it's supposed to...
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Rosie Singer’s mom is missing whatever it is that...
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On October 2nd, 1977, Glenn Burke, outfielder for the Los...
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's been almost a year since Sila's mother traveled halfway...
Alone in the Woods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jocelyn and Alex have always been best friends...until they aren't....
Disaster Days
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hannah Steele loves living on Pelling, a tiny island near...
Wild River
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Daniel Redmayne is fast asleep on the first night of...
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Willow Figure skating was supposed to be my...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
3 nights, 2 days, and 1 massive music fest ....
The Afterlife of the Party (Afterlife, #1)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
I didn’t even want to go to the party. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tianna Morgan and her friends run Cadie Mae High. Great...
The Alcazar (The Cerulean, #2)
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Amy Ewing comes the...
Tears of Frost (Heart of Thorns, #2)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
This captivating second book in Bree Barton’s Heart of...
The Broken Raven (Shadow Skye, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the heart-pounding second book in the Shadow Skye...
You Have a Match
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the beloved author of Tweet Cute comes Emma...

Latest Member Reviews

The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."
The Raven and the Dove
 
4.0
"An intriguing tale of forbidden love as two young lovers fight to stay together. Well written and entertaining. ..."
The Devil's Apprentice
 
4.5
"This was actually a pretty interesting story. At first I really wasn't sure how it was going to go so..."
Heart Sister
 
4.8
"The story: When Emmitt’s twin sister Minnie dies in a tragic accident, it cripples not only him..."
Mastery of Earth (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 3)
 
5.0
"Oh the feels this book gave me. Davi's officially back but still not really? His memories are all over the..."
Glass Princess
 
5.0
"This second entry was good, well technically fifth. I am really glad that the story picked up right after the..."
Depths: A Tale of the Little Mermaid
 
3.8
"Set in a Greek/Roman era, where not only one but three worlds are colliding, Arianna is a human girl who..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Rebel Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows main characters Harper and Mitchell as they have to find a..."
Launch (Rise of the Anointed #1)
 
5.0
"This superhero tale is a lot of fun, with likeable characters, lots of action, and a thread of faith that..."