Boys Camp: Zee's Story

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
935 0
Boys Camp: Zee's Story
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 19, 2015
ISBN
9781629147543
Buy This Book
      
Who are the two funniest guys at Camp Wolf Trail? Will ’n’ Zee—no question! The best buddies have emailed all winter long, and now they’re back at camp, with millions of great ideas for practical jokes and more than a few big surprises to spring on their fellow campers and counselors. Will and Zee are a trickster team of two. They’re partners-in-pranks, a dynamic duo, a famously hilarious pair. At first, all the mayhem and mischief they cause is a big success. Who’d have guessed that a stuffed octopus, toilet paper, and pies could be combined so comically? Will and Zee’s twist on a Camp Wolf Trail tradition is brilliant—and means that they’re rewarded with the privilege of doing Dead Man’s Dive off Big Boulder into O’Mannitt’s Cove. They’re sure their next triumph will be finding the camp’s best-kept secret: the location of Hidden Falls. But when Zee tries to include other guys in the searching, plotting. planning, and fun, Will gets mad, and their friendship blows up. Zee must face his scariest, most dangerous crisis on his own while on a kayaking trip, and for a while, it looks like all is lost. Will Zee be able to save Cookie’s life and rescue his friendship with Will, too? Is this the end of Will ’n’ Zee? Must Hidden Falls remain hidden? One thing’s for sure: Zee will have an adventure-packed summer at Camp Wolf Trail!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Summer at Camp Wolf Trail
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Zee is thrilled to be going back to Camp Wolf Trail. He and his good friend and fellow prankster, Will, have been e mailing their plans back and forth all year. Zee is surprised when Will isn't at camp when he arrives, especially after another camper hands him a postcard-- Will isn't coming. Zee is crushed, but Will shows up under a bed and the pranks begin. They hide a plush octopus on another camper's kayak, a camp tradition which also means they get to pie the other camper in the face. They do crafts, search for the elusive diving rock, and learn kayaking skills. An overnight kayaking trip almost leads to disaster when the cook's dog, Cookie, tries to follow the boys across the lake in search of bacon. Will and Zee overcome some rough patches but enjoy their time at camp, and their campmates.
Good Points
There are not many books dealing with overnight camps, especially for boys, and there are lots of interesting tips for readers who may not be familiar with the outdoor camp experience, but there is enough additional information for experienced campers, including notes at the back about a dedicated former camper who grew up to re-introduce wolves to Yellowstone National Park.

This is the third book in the series, but I was not at all confused going in without remembering the other two. A new camping season means some new characters, and old ones are reintroduced. Will and Zee have some tension in their friendship, especially since they are not assigned to the same cabin, and it is dealt with in a constructive fashion.

The large print and full color illustrations in this will appeal to slightly younger or more reluctant readers who want a solid, realistic story with a large dose of humor and enough action to keep things moving along.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."