Battle Bugs #2: The Spider Siege

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2458 0
Battle Bugs #2: The Spider Siege
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 26, 2015
ISBN
9780545707428
Buy This Book
      

Never leave a bug behind-- collect all the Battle Bugs books! Back to Bug Island! General Komodo and his army are on the attack. Komodo has assembled a fleet of fearsome horned lizards for a mountain assault. The Battle Bugs have to come up with an airtight plan-or risk losing everything. Max's return to Bug Island is dangerous--but the Battle Bugs need his help !

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Bombardier Beetles, Away!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
After seeing a spider with an impressive web on a family camping trip, Max once again travels magically to Bug Island, where the lizards are once again encroaching on the bugs. General Komodo has found a pass through the mountains, and Barton needs help planning battle strategy. Things look grim, but Max realizes that the Golden Orb Weaver spiders can use their webs to block off the pass and by the bugs some time. He also has the shy Trap Door Spider, Webster, dig burrows under the bug encampment just in case. While the lizards are held off for a bit, they eventually break through, but are ambushed brilliantly by the bombardier beetles and are sent on their way. Termites are then used to close off the path, but what will happen when the lizards find another way to attack the bugs?

While this is a good adventure series for younger readers, this volume did have a couple of disturbing acts of bug violence-- a scorpion stinger is driven into a lizard's open mouth, fire ants sting the lizards and leave them moaning in pain, and Barton grabs General Komodo's tongue with his pincers! Readers who are sensitive to this sort of graphic violence, even if it is concerning bugs, might want to pass.
Good Points
The battle strategy involving the bugs is really brilliant. While the spiders are using extra strength webbing, the lizards are using the spiky headed variety of their kind to rip through it. For me, the lizards almost win this battle with their ingenuity-- they have tree snakes and chameleons serving as spies, and ably counter every defense that Max comes up with.

The inclusion of Webster, the shy Trap Door Spider, was interesting, and Spike and Barton are certainly distinct personalities.

This series definitely lends itself to some imaginative play, and I can see young bug enthusiasts planning their battle strategies with an entomological guide by their side. If they have a magnifying glass, they'll have to be careful with it or the lizards will be the least of their "army's" worries!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."