The Girl in the Torch

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
1118 1
The Girl in the Torch
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 26, 2015
ISBN
978-0062227959
Buy This Book
      
THE GIRL IN THE TORCH is a vivid and engrossing tale about identity, sacrifice, survival, and family, set against the backdrop of Manhattan at the turn of the 20th century. THE GIRL IN THE TORCH tells the story of Sarah, a 12 year-old immigrant girl who is orphaned when her mother dies upon their arrival in America, escaping the pogroms of Czarist Russia. Everyone in their village dreamed of America after a tantalizing postcard of the Statue of Liberty featuring Emma Lazarus' poem circulated among them. But when no American relatives can be located to sponsor Sarah after her mother’s death, her hopes are crushed as she is placed on a ship for deportation back to Russia. In desperation, she makes a daring leap into New York Harbor and swims to the nearest land mass, Liberty Island, where she takes refuge inside the Statue of Liberty, the torch becoming her own private bedroom. To survive, she scavenges for food among the tourists during the day, evading capture by hiding amid the trees and retreating to Lady Liberty upon nightfall. Eventually, she is discovered by a troubled night watchman named Maryk who takes her under his wing and brings her to his boardinghouse in Chinatown. There, Sarah is integrated into a very diverse and eccentric group of outsiders who become like family to her. As she struggles with her new life and identity, crackdowns on illegal immigrants sweep Chinatown, putting Sarah and her housemates at risk. Will she escape their wrath or be sent back to Russia to face what promises to be a tortured life?

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sweet treats and friendship mix-ups abound in this story about...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From award-winning Carolyn Mackler, the story of Willa, who has...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This book is about the Stonewall Riots, a series of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Emily is flying with her parents to China to...
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE PUMPKINS ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT is a cute board book that celebrates Halloween with a counting of pumpkins! In..."
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
"THE MADMAN OF PINEY WOODS follows two young boys in Canada as their lives are changing and intersecting. Benji Alston..."
Wintercake
 
4.0
"WINTERCAKE is a lovely picture book that celebrates friendship and the holiday spirit. Thomas is about to make a wintercake..."
Roar Like a Dandelion
 
4.0
"A unique alphabet book, ROAR LIKE A DANDELION is filled with instructional that are sure to spark some giggles. Each..."
The Bear and the Star
 
4.5
"THE BEAR AND THE STAR is an elegant, Christmas-style book. Bear knows that it is time and so he finds..."
I Do Not Like That Name
 
4.0
"I DO NOT LIKE THAT NAME features a girl, Sophie, and her rabbit, Herb, as they order an elephant from..."