A Handful of Stars

FeaturedHot
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
6040 0
A Handful of Stars
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 26, 2015
ISBN
9780545700276
Buy This Book
      

This powerful middle-grade novel from the Newbery Honor author of RULES explores a friendship between a small-town girl and the daughter of migrant workers. When Lily's blind dog, Lucky, slips his collar and runs away across the wide-open blueberry barrens of eastern Maine, it's Salma Santiago who manages to catch him. Salma, the daughter of migrant workers, is in the small town with her family for the blueberry-picking season. After their initial chance meeting, Salma and Lily bond over painting bee boxes for Lily's grandfather, and Salma's friendship transforms Lily's summer. But when Salma decides to run in the upcoming Blueberry Queen pageant, they'll have to face some tough truths about friendship and belonging. Should an outsider like Salma really participate in the pageant-and possibly win? Set amongst the blueberry barrens and by the sea, this is a gorgeous new novel by Newbery Honor author Cynthia Lord that tackles themes of prejudice and friendship, loss and love.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Blueberries, Bravery, and a Beautiful Friendship
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
What do dogs, bees, and blueberries have in common? Admittedly, not much at first, but to a young girl named Tigerlily they are a few of the only things that make perfect sense. After her dog Lucky went blind, Tigerlily (Lily to everyone else), has gotten used to being his eyes. When Lucky gets loose in the blueberry patches and makes a blind dash for freedom, he’s saved by Selma, a daughter of migrant workers who spend summers working the blueberry patches of Maine.

What I loved about this book…where to begin? The ebb and flow of Cynthia Lord’s words pulled at my heart and made me laugh, cry, and sigh. You know those books that just feel like they were written for you? This is that type of book. Through Lily’s desperate attempts to save her dog’s eyesight, we get a glimpse of a girl struggling with grief and loneliness. Lily is being raised by her grandparents in a small town in Maine where their livelihood depends on the blueberry/tourist season. Lily raises money for Lucky’s eye surgery by painting bee boxes for the native mason bees. She stencils the patterns on, carefully detailing blueberries and bees. When Selma joins her one-day in painting the boxes, Lily is surprised to find Selma creating pink bees, and yellow blueberry stars. Lily is convinced that Selma is painting “wrong,” but Selma replies, “That’s what I like about art. It lets me become more like myself, not more like everyone else.” As their friendship forms, both girls bond over their shared purpose to give Lucky his sight back. Lily and Selma decide to buy a booth at the local Blueberry Festival selling their painted bee boxes. While Lily worries that Selma’s crazy colors and freehand paint jobs will scare away customers, Selma reminds Lily that sometimes being different is exactly what the world needs.
Lord’s book is full of beautiful insight; her language is moving and strikes the reader’s heart with each page. I’m in awe of writers who can layer their stories, not only with a strong plot, but also with clever dialogue and lyrical prose.

Speaking of layered plot, this book has so many subplots and themes running through it, you’d think it would overwhelm the reader for such a short novel. Nothing could be farther from the truth. While Lily struggles with her identity (or lack thereof), Selma struggles with being invisible. Through these two girls’ insecurities Lord brings attention to diversity. The conversation is not heavy-handed, but as natural as Selma and Lily’s friendship. While Lily has grown up seeing migrant workers come and go with the blueberry season, having a friend that works in the fields makes Lily far more attuned to the subtle prejudices around her. I am so glad that Lord didn’t skirt around the topic of migrant workers, but did her best to illuminate a culture that isn’t widely written about in a middle grade setting.

While Selma teaches Lily about a lot of things (like blueberries), she ultimately teaches Lily how to be brave, which is the heart and soul of this novel. Sometimes we perceive our differences to be weaknesses - something undesirable. The beautiful thing about A Handful of Stars is how it reminds readers that being different and being brave are often the same thing, and that “To do brave things, you don’t have to be hugely brave. You only have to be a little bit braver than you are scared.” Which is a beautiful encouragement to readers of any age.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
"What worked: I loved this engaging, heart-felt story with one strong Chicanx protagonist. Think I'M NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.3
"ALL OUR HIDDEN GIFTS was a riveting and darkly captivating YA fantasy/thriller/horror read. Maeve is a teen girl and not..."
The Lost Girls
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Outsiders
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
For the Wolf (The Wilderwood, #1)
 
4.7
"FOR THE WOLF is a captivating fantasy read that sweeps the reader away to the Wilderwood. Redarys (Red) is the..."
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
"Simone's Haitian immigrant parents are very strict; she and her sister Anne have to go to an all girls school..."
Chasing Lucky
 
4.3
"Josie Saint-Martin and her mother have lived an itinerant lifestyle ever since they left the small Rhode Island seaside town..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
"Curse of the Specter Queen by Jenny Elder Moke is Indiana Jones meets The Mummy (1999) and encompasses everything I..."
The Heartbreak Bakery
 
4.7
"Seventeen-year-old agender Syd loves baking, but when her brownies set off a string of breakups-including her own-she comes up with..."