A Handful of Stars

FeaturedHot
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
5618 0
A Handful of Stars
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 26, 2015
ISBN
9780545700276
Buy This Book
      

This powerful middle-grade novel from the Newbery Honor author of RULES explores a friendship between a small-town girl and the daughter of migrant workers. When Lily's blind dog, Lucky, slips his collar and runs away across the wide-open blueberry barrens of eastern Maine, it's Salma Santiago who manages to catch him. Salma, the daughter of migrant workers, is in the small town with her family for the blueberry-picking season. After their initial chance meeting, Salma and Lily bond over painting bee boxes for Lily's grandfather, and Salma's friendship transforms Lily's summer. But when Salma decides to run in the upcoming Blueberry Queen pageant, they'll have to face some tough truths about friendship and belonging. Should an outsider like Salma really participate in the pageant-and possibly win? Set amongst the blueberry barrens and by the sea, this is a gorgeous new novel by Newbery Honor author Cynthia Lord that tackles themes of prejudice and friendship, loss and love.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Blueberries, Bravery, and a Beautiful Friendship
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
What do dogs, bees, and blueberries have in common? Admittedly, not much at first, but to a young girl named Tigerlily they are a few of the only things that make perfect sense. After her dog Lucky went blind, Tigerlily (Lily to everyone else), has gotten used to being his eyes. When Lucky gets loose in the blueberry patches and makes a blind dash for freedom, he’s saved by Selma, a daughter of migrant workers who spend summers working the blueberry patches of Maine.

What I loved about this book…where to begin? The ebb and flow of Cynthia Lord’s words pulled at my heart and made me laugh, cry, and sigh. You know those books that just feel like they were written for you? This is that type of book. Through Lily’s desperate attempts to save her dog’s eyesight, we get a glimpse of a girl struggling with grief and loneliness. Lily is being raised by her grandparents in a small town in Maine where their livelihood depends on the blueberry/tourist season. Lily raises money for Lucky’s eye surgery by painting bee boxes for the native mason bees. She stencils the patterns on, carefully detailing blueberries and bees. When Selma joins her one-day in painting the boxes, Lily is surprised to find Selma creating pink bees, and yellow blueberry stars. Lily is convinced that Selma is painting “wrong,” but Selma replies, “That’s what I like about art. It lets me become more like myself, not more like everyone else.” As their friendship forms, both girls bond over their shared purpose to give Lucky his sight back. Lily and Selma decide to buy a booth at the local Blueberry Festival selling their painted bee boxes. While Lily worries that Selma’s crazy colors and freehand paint jobs will scare away customers, Selma reminds Lily that sometimes being different is exactly what the world needs.
Lord’s book is full of beautiful insight; her language is moving and strikes the reader’s heart with each page. I’m in awe of writers who can layer their stories, not only with a strong plot, but also with clever dialogue and lyrical prose.

Speaking of layered plot, this book has so many subplots and themes running through it, you’d think it would overwhelm the reader for such a short novel. Nothing could be farther from the truth. While Lily struggles with her identity (or lack thereof), Selma struggles with being invisible. Through these two girls’ insecurities Lord brings attention to diversity. The conversation is not heavy-handed, but as natural as Selma and Lily’s friendship. While Lily has grown up seeing migrant workers come and go with the blueberry season, having a friend that works in the fields makes Lily far more attuned to the subtle prejudices around her. I am so glad that Lord didn’t skirt around the topic of migrant workers, but did her best to illuminate a culture that isn’t widely written about in a middle grade setting.

While Selma teaches Lily about a lot of things (like blueberries), she ultimately teaches Lily how to be brave, which is the heart and soul of this novel. Sometimes we perceive our differences to be weaknesses - something undesirable. The beautiful thing about A Handful of Stars is how it reminds readers that being different and being brave are often the same thing, and that “To do brave things, you don’t have to be hugely brave. You only have to be a little bit braver than you are scared.” Which is a beautiful encouragement to readers of any age.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."