ASL Tales: The Princess and the Pea

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
1257 0
BDVD204.jpg
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
November 01, 2008
ISBN
978-0-9818139-0-5
PreSchool-Grade 5—Fairy tales retold in sign language are nothing new, but what sets this fine program apart is that the story has been retold by native users of English and American Sign Language (ASL) working together to create a version that highlights the strong points of both languages. Designed to inspire a basic appreciation of ASL rather than to teach it per se, the DVD allows viewers to watch the story straight through, with pages from the accompanying book by Alicita Rodriguez and Joseph Starr alternating with the ASL telling, accompanied by English, Spanish, or French voiceover. Once they have picked up some of the signs, youngsters can watch the story in ASL only. The "ASL Clues" section invites viewers to develop their understanding of ASL, and a glossary highlights specific signs from the story. The tale can also be accessed in audio format only to support beginning readers as they enjoy the accompanying book. Numerous humorous modern touches are added to the story. The illustrations by Judy Hood are colorful, if workmanlike. The real star here is renowned ASL storyteller Pinky Aiello, who brings whimsy to each character through her excellent telling.—Kathleen Kelly MacMillan, Carroll County Public Library, MD. Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. ASL Tales are told in an artistic version of American Sign Language (ASL) that includes ASL, mime, and gesture.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

An Enchanting (ASL-friendly) Retelling
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
A delightful and adaptive take on a classic children’s tale. This picture book offers bright, stylized illustration and emphasized word choices to complement its purpose as an American Sign Language translation.

The book itself contains no signing or instructive images and could, in fact, be read as a standard children’s book. It takes a somewhat updated approach to an old story about a potential mother-in-law’s unrealistic expectations, highlighting the more pertinent attributes of a “true princess.” At the back of the book is a DVD meant to be played in tandem with the reading. The audio is a separate narration, allowing the female translator full focus in her lively presentation. (Alternate audio languages include Spanish, French, Mandarin, Vietnamese and Thai.) On the downside, the ASL teaching value is greatly reduced if the DVD were to be lost or damaged.

This particular version comes in at 26 pages, some of which are fairly dense with narrative—particularly in the middle--while a few hold only a single sentence. The resulting variability in pacing works well for the story. (The DVD playtime clocks in right at 10 minutes for the English version.) Given the length and word choices, I would generally recommend this book for children ages 4 to 8.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."