The Nerdy Dozen: Close Encounters of the Nerd Kind

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1985 0
Nerdy Dozen 2.jpg
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 10, 2015
ISBN
978-0062272652
Buy This Book
      
In this exciting sequel to The Nerdy Dozen, Neil Andertol and his gang of dorky gamers are once again called on to fly a top secret mission—one that is literally out of this world. This time, rescuing mankind means heading into outer space. A top secret spacecraft has been stolen, and NASA needs the best pilots in the universe to get it back—the Nerdy Dozen. It's a race against time to stop an earth-shattering disaster. Can the twelve geeks save the day again—or will it be game over?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Being a nerd has never been so cool
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
I have a major book crush on The Nerdy Dozen. Such a fun book! Close Encounters of the Nerd Kind is the second installment of the Nerdy Dozen series by Jeff Miller. Though I haven’t read the first book of The Nerdy Dozen, I had no trouble dropping right in there with Neil and his crew.

What a hook! Close Encounters of the Nerd Kind is a gamer geek’s dream come true! Imagine being a thirteen year-old supernerd, specializing in video games. Now imagine that supernerd being not the class freak or the biggest loser this side of the Milky Way, but sought after by NASA for his mad skills with a game controller. I know, right?

Neil is my man, well, boy. Book 1 may have established the who-is-who in his team of elite nerds, but I still fell in love with each of them in Close Encounters. They are all there! Neil Andertol is the ring leader of this crew, but we also have the semi-jock nerd, the bio-nerd, the nerd-nerd, the whoa-he’s-totally-out-there-nerd, and...Well, you get the idea. Each member of Neil’s crew is an individual in themselves, spanning the wide spectrum of nerd-dom. And each character is represented in a clear voice all their own complete with little ticks.

The Nerdy Dozen Book One sets the crew on their first adventure/mission courtesy of the government. When all is said and done, Neil is left with a lackluster vibe for his beloved video games. When you’ve flown the real deal--the actual fighter jet that graces the screen of your fave game--why bother with the second-rate video version? The downgrade pretty much stinks and Neil searches for ways to up the ante on the game front just to get that all-important rush.

Then NASA comes a-callin’ and changes the playing field. A top secret ship has gone missing and NASA needs Neil and his supernerds to find it. After months of study via a confidential game called Shuttle Fury, the team embarks on another mission to save mankind.

Close Encounters is a great, fast-pace adventure for middle grade readers of all ages. It’s full of over-the-top scenarios that only Neil and his crew can overcome. From dehydrated ice cream, to a space shuttle built for chimpanzees, to an actual chimpanzee with the warm-fuzziness of a Siberian winter, the nerdy dozen tackles them all.

But it’s not all warp speed fun and games. Neil has been holding back on his teammates and it comes back to bite him. But Neil handles it in a very thirteen year-old way. Each one of the characters, though they are light-years above the average teen, are very relatable in their actions and dialogue. They make mistakes, but they learn what needs to be done to get the mission on track for success. They also learn what it takes to be an effective team.

Even though Jeff Miller has our nerds hopping from Neil’s home, to a museum, to NASA, to the moon, to Mars, and tailing an asteroid, the setting never felt off to me. Each stop on this journey has adequate descriptions to put me right in there with Neil. By the way, I seriously want to visit The Squid. Super cool.

Will this book appeal to middle grade readers? The quick answer, yes, absolutely. Close Encounters is just the kind of out of this world adventure about crazy possibilities and believing in yourself, as well as your friends, that any kid (or kid at heart) can enjoy. Neil and his friends are nerds, the biggest nerds you’ll find, and they know it. And being a nerd has never been cooler.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
Cub
 
5.0
"Cindy finds that middle school in the early 1970s is fairly stressful-- all the cool girls are wearing elephant bells..."
The Story of Inventions
 
3.0
"THE STORY OF INVENTIONS is a simple, accessible introduction to some of the breakthroughs that have shaped the world across..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Christmas
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: CHRISTMAS is a fun activity book for elementary-aged children (and maybe older toddlers). The book features..."
Baby, Find the Shapes! (Indestructibles)
 
4.7
"BABY, FIND THE SHAPES! is a fun addition to the Indestructibles book series. The best feature of this book is..."
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
4.3
"Born in 1927, Althea Gibson experienced the racial and gender disparities that were prevalent at the time, but were in..."
Welcome to Jazz: A Swing-Along Celebration of America’s Music, Featuring “When the Saints Go Marching In”
 
5.0
"WELCOME TO JAZZ is a truly delightful and entertaining children's book. The book teaches about jazz in terms of history,..."
National Geographic Student World Atlas
 
5.0
" A wonderful representation of the world for teaching kids to love the earth they live on. With bright,..."
Ralph Masiello's Alien Drawing Book
 
4.7
"A cute way for kids to learn how to draw. This book takes kids through a step by..."
Write to Me: Letters from Japanese American Children to the Librarian They Left Behind
 
5.0
"This is a must read book that shows the lives of Japanese American children who ended up being taken from..."
Cub
Cub
 
5.0
"Cindy finds that middle school in the early 1970s is fairly stressful-- all the cool girls are wearing elephant bells..."
Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
"There was a recent Jeopardy! champion who apparently got himself up to speed on many areas of knowledge by reading..."
All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
"THE TOTALLY SICK SICK-DAY ACTIVITY BOOK is exactly what the title describes. There are crossword puzzles, places to doodle, word..."
Animazes
 
5.0
"ANIMAZES shows the migration patterns of fourteen different creatures. It shows that there are several different paths these creatures can..."
Baby Loves the Five Senses: Hearing!
 
4.7
"BABY LOVES THE FIVE SENSES: HEARING teaches everything you need to know about how hearing, the ears, and sound all..."
Hard Work, but It's Worth It: The Life of Jimmy Carter
 
5.0
"Before reading this, I didn't know much about Jimmy Carter except that he had been one of the presidents. I..."