The Nerdy Dozen: Close Encounters of the Nerd Kind

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2051 0
Nerdy Dozen 2.jpg
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 10, 2015
ISBN
978-0062272652
Buy This Book
      
In this exciting sequel to The Nerdy Dozen, Neil Andertol and his gang of dorky gamers are once again called on to fly a top secret mission—one that is literally out of this world. This time, rescuing mankind means heading into outer space. A top secret spacecraft has been stolen, and NASA needs the best pilots in the universe to get it back—the Nerdy Dozen. It's a race against time to stop an earth-shattering disaster. Can the twelve geeks save the day again—or will it be game over?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Being a nerd has never been so cool
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
I have a major book crush on The Nerdy Dozen. Such a fun book! Close Encounters of the Nerd Kind is the second installment of the Nerdy Dozen series by Jeff Miller. Though I haven’t read the first book of The Nerdy Dozen, I had no trouble dropping right in there with Neil and his crew.

What a hook! Close Encounters of the Nerd Kind is a gamer geek’s dream come true! Imagine being a thirteen year-old supernerd, specializing in video games. Now imagine that supernerd being not the class freak or the biggest loser this side of the Milky Way, but sought after by NASA for his mad skills with a game controller. I know, right?

Neil is my man, well, boy. Book 1 may have established the who-is-who in his team of elite nerds, but I still fell in love with each of them in Close Encounters. They are all there! Neil Andertol is the ring leader of this crew, but we also have the semi-jock nerd, the bio-nerd, the nerd-nerd, the whoa-he’s-totally-out-there-nerd, and...Well, you get the idea. Each member of Neil’s crew is an individual in themselves, spanning the wide spectrum of nerd-dom. And each character is represented in a clear voice all their own complete with little ticks.

The Nerdy Dozen Book One sets the crew on their first adventure/mission courtesy of the government. When all is said and done, Neil is left with a lackluster vibe for his beloved video games. When you’ve flown the real deal--the actual fighter jet that graces the screen of your fave game--why bother with the second-rate video version? The downgrade pretty much stinks and Neil searches for ways to up the ante on the game front just to get that all-important rush.

Then NASA comes a-callin’ and changes the playing field. A top secret ship has gone missing and NASA needs Neil and his supernerds to find it. After months of study via a confidential game called Shuttle Fury, the team embarks on another mission to save mankind.

Close Encounters is a great, fast-pace adventure for middle grade readers of all ages. It’s full of over-the-top scenarios that only Neil and his crew can overcome. From dehydrated ice cream, to a space shuttle built for chimpanzees, to an actual chimpanzee with the warm-fuzziness of a Siberian winter, the nerdy dozen tackles them all.

But it’s not all warp speed fun and games. Neil has been holding back on his teammates and it comes back to bite him. But Neil handles it in a very thirteen year-old way. Each one of the characters, though they are light-years above the average teen, are very relatable in their actions and dialogue. They make mistakes, but they learn what needs to be done to get the mission on track for success. They also learn what it takes to be an effective team.

Even though Jeff Miller has our nerds hopping from Neil’s home, to a museum, to NASA, to the moon, to Mars, and tailing an asteroid, the setting never felt off to me. Each stop on this journey has adequate descriptions to put me right in there with Neil. By the way, I seriously want to visit The Squid. Super cool.

Will this book appeal to middle grade readers? The quick answer, yes, absolutely. Close Encounters is just the kind of out of this world adventure about crazy possibilities and believing in yourself, as well as your friends, that any kid (or kid at heart) can enjoy. Neil and his friends are nerds, the biggest nerds you’ll find, and they know it. And being a nerd has never been cooler.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."