Les Miserables

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
1215 0
les miserables.jpg
Age Range
8+
Release Date
February 24, 2015
ISBN
978-0763674762
Buy This Book
      
Travel back to nineteenth-century France with ex-convict Jean Valjean as he tries to put his criminal past behind him and his fate intertwines with the ruthless Inspector Javert, determined to put Valjean back behind bars; the poor factory worker Fantine, whose struggle to provide for her child leads to her death; her orphaned daughter, Cosette, whom Valjean saves from poverty and neglect; and Cosette’s besotted suitor, Marius. As a revolution sweeps through Paris, can Valjean elude Javert and secure a happy life for Cosette before all is lost? Follow their story in Marcia Williams’s entertaining and easily digestible retelling for young readers.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Vivid retelling of a classic tale
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Let me begin by saying that Marcia Williams is a phenomenal artist. Her unique graphic novel style format is fun and engaging to read. The color choices in her pallet are equally stunning and morose. The story of Les Miserables is a tough one to read, but Ms. Williams does a wonderful job in retelling such a compelling tale suitable for younger readers.

I’m a huge fan of Les Mis, originally penned by Victor Hugo. It was my first experience with Broadway-style live performance, I poured over every scene in the movie, and I even own the original Broadway score. When YABC gave me the opportunity to review this book, I had to do it. If you’re not familiar with the story behind Les Miserable, it takes place around the time of the French Revolution. People were starving, selling everything they could for mere francs, and it’s just a horrible time for everyone. But Les Miserables carries hope close to its chest through the muck and grime of poverty, and you can feel this hope within the images Ms. Williams created.

The main protagonist, Jean Valjean, was imprisoned nineteen years for stealing a loaf of bread to feed his starving sister. Nineteen years! For bread! Once his time of slave labor is served, he’s released into the world hard and cold with no love or compassion for anything. In short, he’s not very likable, but one can’t help feeling something for this man who only wanted to feed his family. Ms. Williams does a fantastic job of portraying Valjean’s journey, and his uphill battle to find heart.

Along Valjean’s journey, we meet Fontine, the single mother with a doomed fate. Keeping in taste for younger readers, some of Fontine’s struggles are glossed over, or removed, but her strife is still felt through the words and images. The innkeeper and his wife are wonderfully loathsome and gross. Marius and Eponine are valiant and lovely. And Cozette, sweet Cozettte, is beautiful and blossoms throughout the pages.

To be perfectly honest, my thoughts on this book have two sides. My mommy side is at war with my bookish love side.

My bookish lover adores this book. Marcia Williams does a brilliant job of harnessing the vital story behind Victor Hugo’s masterpiece. The characters are engaging and their stories are told in a very direct and enjoyable manner. Her color choices within the illustrations are effectively warm, cold, lovely, and morbid. The illustrations themselves bring to life the incredible cast of characters of Les Miserables. If you’re a fan of Les Miserables, you will adore this book as I do.

But, as a mother of a young soon-to-be reader, this is not a book for a small child. Perhaps I’m overly censored, but I just don’t want to expose my child to something he will not yet understand. This is not a book for an eight year-old to read by themselves who’s not familiar with the story of Les Miserables. The story behind Valjean’s journey is a dark one, riddled with hardship and loss. And although Marcia Williams doesn’t slather the pages with graphic violence, there are still scenes depicting the climactic moments of the Les Miserales tale: death and war.

The context and pace of Les Miserables is also something that would appeal to mature young readers. The vocabulary is challenging enough for the 8-10 year-old readers, but written in a simplistic, straight forward fashion common with picture books. The graphic novel style adds a unique touch while keeping the story active and flowing.

If read with an active parental participant, this book is a great addition to your library. It is also a great book to engage discussion with your child about the characters’ motivations to do certain things for survival or out of love. Les Miserables is an important story to know. Yes, there is strife, there is death, and there is heartbreak. In the end, Les Miserables teaches us to never give up and to always embrace love, even when times are at their darkest. Marcia Williams’ retelling of Victor Hugo’s Les Miserables brings these paramount messages of love and compassion to younger readers with relatable text and vivid illustrations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."
Samuel Drew Hasn't a Clue
 
3.5
"SAMUEL DREW HASN'T A CLUE is an overall cute picture book that follows Samuel Drew as he wheels a package..."
Cactus and Flower: A Book About Life Cycles
 
3.5
"CACTUS AND FLOWER is a picture book about friendship, loss, and grief. Cactus loves flower as they spend all their..."
Quintessence
 
5.0
"QUINTESSENCE is a charming and enchanting middle grade fantasy. Alma moved to Four Points, and she has felt a little..."