Saving Lucas Biggs

Saving Lucas Biggs
Age Range
8+
Release Date
April 29, 2014
ISBN
0062274627
Buy This Book
      
Perfect for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix, When You Reach Me, and Savvy, this charming time-travel story from husband-and-wife team Marisa de los Santos and David Teague follows one girl's race to change the past in order to save her father's future. Thirteen-year-old Margaret knows her father is innocent, but that doesn't stop the cruel Judge Biggs from sentencing him to death. Margaret is determined to save her dad, even if it means using her family's secret—and forbidden—ability to time travel. With the help of her best friend, Charlie, and his grandpa Josh, Margaret goes back to a time when Judge Biggs was a young boy and tries to prevent the chain of events that transformed him into a corrupt, jaded man. But with the forces of history working against her, will Margaret be able to change the past? Or will she be pushed back to a present in which her father is still doomed? Told in alternating voices between Margaret and Josh, this heartwarming story shows that sometimes the forces of good need a little extra help to triumph over the forces of evil.

Editor review

1 review
One of the Most Engaging Novels of the Year
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
Saving Lucas Biggs is one of my favorite summer reads this year. From the very first page, all I wanted to do was curl up under by blankets with a flash light and read. (Air condition on full blast)

Margaret and Josh are only 13 but they are facing some serious issues. In order to help save her father, Margaret must investigate the past. And this past is not a perfect paradise. Margaret must face issues of unjust decisions and unnecessary deaths- even murder- both in the past and in her present.

Margaret is a lovable character and easy to relate to. Margaret's friend, Charlie, is a friend everyone could hope for. He is supportive and stands by her side through every obstacle she has to face.

The story is told through three different perspectives over a long period of time. Marisa de los Santos' writing flows from one perspective to another flawlessly. Her wording creates such a vivid image in the reader's mind it truly feels like a movie. Each voice is distinct and all voices are believable- from the voice of Margaret, present/past Charlie, and Josh. She brings the characters to life and are relatable and realistic no matter what age the reader is.

Saving Lucas Biggs has a fantastic plot, unexpected twists, and great insight into to morals of people and what they must do to make things right. I recommend this book to readers both young and old. Overall a fantastic read with great characters, a great setting, and a great concept! Love time travel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

1 review
Overall rating
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
2.0(1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A(0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Not Great
(Updated: January 02, 2015)
Overall rating
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
I read this book for a bookclub, and if it wasn't for that, I would have stopped reading it almost immediately. I normally love science fictiony books, but this was really confusing. The basic plot was pretty easy to understand, but beyond that, I was totally lost. The most I could understand was that the main character, Margaret, goes back in time to try to change the past. She wanted to save her father from death in the present (I think). The fact that she could time travel seemed weirdly convenient. Also, if I remembered correctly and her dad was sentenced to death, that seems a little harsh, although I can't remember why he was.

Overall, this is a confusing, unmemorable book that I didn't want to keep reading.
S
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1