Millicent Min, Girl Genius

 
4.0
 
3.5 (11)
2668 0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
10+
ISBN
0439425190
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Smart and Funny
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
The debut novel Millicent Min, Girl Genius by Lisa Yee is an absolute riot. Millicent is eleven years old - and recently completed eleventh grade. Over the summer, she plans to take college courses and (unhappily) tutor Stanford, a boy who drives her up a wall. Her mother, thinking she needs more of a social life with kids her own age, enrolls her in a summer volleyball team. There, she meets a girl who recently moved to town and does not know of Millicent's collegiate status. What's a smart girl to do?

This hilarious book teaches young kids and adults like everywhere that it is okay to be smart. Millicent may feel much older than she is, mentally, but chronologically, she is still a kid. By the end of the summer, she is a little more comfortable in her own skin and proud of who she is and what she's accomplished.

Pop culture tidbit: The audio book is read by Keiko Agena, known as Lane on Gilmore Girls.

I highly recommend this book to kids of all ages. (You too, parents and teachers.) Kids reading comedic realistic fiction such as the Ramona Quimby series by Beverly Cleary, the Alice McKinley series by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor or the Judy Moody series by Megan McDonald will certainly adore Millicent Min. I hope that Yee writes more tales, if not of Millicent, then of others. She has a real knack.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

11 reviews

 
(3)
 
(3)
 
(3)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
View all reviews View most helpful
Not What I Thought It Would Be...
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by OY

When I picked up this book I wasn't sure what to expect, but it turned out to pretty interesting.
  Millicent just does not fit in well with kids her age, considering that she is an eleven year old and a junior in high school.
     During the summer events turn that helps her make a few friends in unexpected places.
    It was nice in one of the final scenes how Stan saved her from dancing with Digger. (What kind of name is that?)
   But it is a really cute book and its not all about the struggles of a genius. Just pick it up and you won't be so disappointed.


Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Millicent Min Girl Genius
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by penguinlover333

This book is about an eleven year old girl that is about to enter 11th grade.
Millicent is having a terrible summer. Her grandmother is moving away, she doesnt have any friends, she has to tutor her enemy, and her mother has signed her up for volleyball. In volleyball she meets Emily and becomes friends with her. The only problem is that Emily doesnt know that Millicent is a genius. Millicent will have to find a way to tutor her enemy, learn how to play volleyball, hide her awards, and keep all of her lies straight. Will Millicent make it through the summer? Read this book to find out!
I would recommend this book to girls ages 9-12. If I had to rate this book, I would rate it a five out of five, because I really enjoyed reading it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Millicent isn't such a genius
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Sosha

I felt embarassed to read many sections of this books because of Millicent's constant embarassing moments. Although she has a genius IQ, she would score very low on tests for social skills. It is a fun and easy read, however, if you can get past how dense Millicent is. Some scenes with her (such as one in the mall with her friend) are quite humorous from an outsider's point of view.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
pretty good!
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Jessica

The book is about an 11 year old girl named Millicent,who goes to high school. In the summer,she starts to take a poetry class at a college. Sadly,no one wants to be friends with her because she is so intellegent. Later,Millicent's mom signs her up for volleyball. During volleyball practice,a girl named Emily becomes a friend to Millie. Millie hides the fact that she is a genius. Read the book to find out what happens.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Wow
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Ari

Millie is an 11-year-old with a genius IQ,who is taking a college poetry class and waiting for her high school senior year. Millie's lack of friends is a cause of concern for her parents. So her parents enroll her in summer volleyball and enlisted to tutor Stanford Wong, a friend of the family. At volleyball, Millie meets Emily who becomes her first real friend but Millie doesn't tell Emily about her genius status. Eventually Emily learns the truth and feels betrayed. Millie thinks that Emily is angry because she is smart, while in truth, Emily is hurt that Millie doesn't trust her. This story is great and many people with connect with Millie.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Millicent Min...
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Mozy

I think this book is fairly predictable. It is really good for younger readers. It is about the same old things a super-smart girl would want- to be accepted by her peers. Lisa Yee did an excellent job otherwise. I wouldn't reccomend this book unless you too were going through the same dillema as Millicent Min.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
over the top
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by artemis

This is the life of a pre-teen genius. The story is okay, but the plot is pretty old. How often can a nerdy, super-smart girl want to be accepted by people who think she isn't cool enough to hang around them? Too often--in this case. The ending is predictable and it is boring in parts. Read this only if you have nothing else to do.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Genuis
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Nurin

In this soon to be YRCA young Millicent who is a genius and will be graduating next year enrolls in an university course during the summer. First she finds out that the older girl who she hangs around with only wants her around so Millicent can do her homework for her. Then her parents enroll her into a sports class in which she makes friends wilth a girl her age who has no idea that Millicent is a genuis and is graduating in a few years. When Millicent's friend finds out their is a huge blow up....
This book is really good for all ages.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Great book!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Jamie

Eleven-year-old Millicent Min is a certified genius, but she's not very good at making friends. Hoping to improve Millicent's social life, her mom signs her up for a volleyball league. Millicent would rather not play volleyball, but she does manage to make friends with a new girl in town named Emily. Sure that Emily will dislike her if she discovers that she's a genius, Millicent takes pains to hide that fact. Can the girls' friendship survive such a secret?
This is such a good book I think EVERYONE will like it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Couldn't put it down!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Calamander

This book is about a girl, 11 years old, and in her 2nd to last year of highschool! She is really smart as you can see, but this causes her to have absolutely no friends that are teachers or family. Untill she meets Emily, and so the lies begin. I like this because the author writes with lots of style and pizazz.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
View all user reviews
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...

Latest Member Reviews

Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Busy Little Ladybug
 
3.5
"BUSY LITTLE LADYBUG is a cute board book about a ladybug that loves colors. Ladybug wants to figure out what..."
One Springy, Singy Day
 
4.5
"ONE SPRINGY, SINGY DAY is a brightly colored and fun celebration of spring. Told in rhyming text, the book follows..."
The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)
 
5.0
"It was a good book i really want to buy is so i can read it all the time. I..."
Boy, Everywhere
 
5.0
"Sami has a happy and secure life in Damascus, Syria. His mother is a teacher, his father is a doctor,..."
That Thing About Bollywood
 
4.0
"Sonali misses her grandfather, who ran a video rental store that specialized in Bollywood films, so she enjoys the family..."
Thanks a Lot, Universe
 
4.0
"Brian has anxiety at the best of times. He manages at school, and was on the basketball team, but he..."
One Girl
 
3.5
"In very spare poetry, we see how the spark of a book encourages one girl to investigate the information in..."
In My Life
 
4.0
"Based on the Lennon and McCartney Beatles' tune, this picture book showcases the lyrics against a background of a family..."