Five, Six, Seven, Nate! (Better Nate Than Ever #2)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2443 0
Five, Six, Seven, Nate! (Better Nate Than Ever #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
January 21, 2014
ISBN
9781442446939
Buy This Book
      
Nate Foster's Broadway dreams are finally coming true. Armed with a one-way ticket to New York City, small-town theater geek Nate is off to start rehearsals for E.T.: The Broadway Musical . It's everything he ever practiced his autograph for! But as thrilling as Broadway is, rehearsals are nothing like Nate expects: full of intimidating child start, cutthroat understudies, and a director who can't even remember Nate's name. Now, as the countdown to opening night is starting to feel more like a time bomb, Nate is going to need more than his lucky rabbit's foot if he ever wants to see his name in lights. He may even need a showbiz miracle.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Fabulous, Darling!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Federle’s debut Better Nate Than Ever totally charmed me. As such, I was, for once, thrilled to learn of a sequel. However, it came out in hardcover with no word on the audio. I decided to wait, and I have been rewarded. Federle’s performance is just as perfect for his story as it was the first time around, and I’m glad I waited. I am of the opinion that Five, Six, Seven, Nate! is, if anything, even better than its predecessor, which was already a delight.

Nate’s off to New York City for his first Broadway performance. He’s so ready for this. Sure, he’s an understudy, but an understudy to a lead role! Of course, he gets there and he learns he’s actually the SECOND understudy. Basically, Nate had dreams of suddenly becoming awesome and beloved like I did when I went off to college. He thought a star would be born immediately, but life is not that easy. Actually, most people are mean to him, he’s a terrible dancer, and he’s being cut from the chorus parts left and right.

All of this happens with Nate’s trademark humor. He continues to swear with Broadway flops, and is delightfully judgmental of both himself and others. I really love how much Nate remains himself while also growing in the course of the novel. He’s coming of age in a lot of ways, but the core of who he is remains consistent. Nate’s also a really flawed guy, which I love. He’s not the nicest person sometimes, but he just feels so real. Plus, he’s young and he’s learning.

One of the best aspects of the book was Nate’s friendship/mentorship with Asella, a veteran actress. They both learn from each other, and it’s just so adorable how he bonds with this much older woman. In fact, I loved the way the book highlighted the different skill sets people have. Nate’s not a great dancer, not the best singer, and his looks don’t really scream leading man (or boy). However, he does have an amazing memory, and basically makes the best understudy ever. There are things he can be amazing at. The one thing I wasn’t as sold on was that Nate does get his dream (in a limited way) of being a star through some shenanigans. On the one hand, that’s what the reader wants to see; it’s nice to see Nate succeed and achieve his dreams. But, at the same time, I was loving the props given to being an understudy, and I felt like that was undercut a bit.

All the details about training for Broadway and the production of the show were so awesome to read about. It’s sort of like Smash, only better, middle grade, hilarious and not full of relationship drama. Obviously, I knew Broadway shows were productions, but this show seems like a hot mess a lot of the time. I’m side-eying this musical, which is totally intentional on Federle’s part, but it’s fun and cool to learn more than I knew before.

Finally, Nate gets his first romance and it is a-freaking-dorable. He has a secret admirer and I don’t want to spoil what happens, but it’s the cutest. Literally, I finished the audiobook and went AWWW for like two minutes, because so damn sweet.

The Final Verdict:
If you liked Better Nate Than Ever, yes, you should read Five, Six, Seven, Nate! for sure. If you didn’t read Better Nate Than Ever, then you should probably do that, and then read this one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Apocalypse Taco
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sid, Axl, and Ivan volunteer to make a late-night fast-food...
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this delightfully creepy novel from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war and...
Awesome Achievers in Technology: Super and Strange Facts about 12 Almost Famous History Makers
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Part of a super fun middle grade series, Awesome Achievers...
Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Girl by day. Cat by night. Ready for an adventure....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first I Can Read! book featuring beloved picture book...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In a beautiful anthology, ten children’s book greats share stories,...
Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano (Firebrand, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
First time in print! The...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sage Sassafras’s life is cursed! No, really. Since birth, Sage...
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can Kit’s super-weird superpower save her world? ...
The Brokenhearted
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
teenage girl is transformed into a reluctant superhero and...
Brave Enough
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Teenager Cason Martin is the youngest ballerina in the Atlanta...
I Wanna Be Where You Are
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Chloe Pierce’s mom forbids her to apply for a...

Latest Member Reviews

Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
"Kitty wants to be a superhero like her mom, but she's afraid to go out in the dark. Her mom..."
 
4.0
"'Little Penguin's New Friend' by Tadgh Bentley is a cute story about the making of a friendship despite misconceptions about..."
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
4.0
"NAKED MOLE RAT SAVES THE WORLD tells the story of kit, whose name is lowercase because she was too small..."
 
4.0
"Sage lives out west in the town of Goldview, and her family is cursed. Years ago, her mother and her..."
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
Small World
 
5.0
"SMALL WORLD is a gorgeous celebration of growing up and following your dreams. When Nanda was born, her world was..."
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
"ON THE FIRST DAY OF SUMMER VACATION uses the tune of The 12 Days of Christmas to present the fun..."
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
"Budding scientists, rejoice! The Questioneers is the perfect series to show you the how and to have some extra scientific..."
Bad Bella
 
4.0
"Bella lives with the McBrides, who have several small children and often forget Bella's needs. She gets in trouble for..."
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
"In this short, middle grade graphic novel, DC superheroes from the Justice League answer e mails from young fans. Superman..."
Shake It Off! (Wish #8)
 
4.0
"Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided..."
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
"This episode of THE BAD GUYS has the crew planning for a way to stop the aliens and help the..."
Not if I Can Help It
 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
Emily Out of Focus
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."