Five, Six, Seven, Nate! (Better Nate Than Ever #2)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2700 0
Five, Six, Seven, Nate! (Better Nate Than Ever #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
January 21, 2014
ISBN
9781442446939
Buy This Book
      
Nate Foster's Broadway dreams are finally coming true. Armed with a one-way ticket to New York City, small-town theater geek Nate is off to start rehearsals for E.T.: The Broadway Musical . It's everything he ever practiced his autograph for! But as thrilling as Broadway is, rehearsals are nothing like Nate expects: full of intimidating child start, cutthroat understudies, and a director who can't even remember Nate's name. Now, as the countdown to opening night is starting to feel more like a time bomb, Nate is going to need more than his lucky rabbit's foot if he ever wants to see his name in lights. He may even need a showbiz miracle.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Fabulous, Darling!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Federle’s debut Better Nate Than Ever totally charmed me. As such, I was, for once, thrilled to learn of a sequel. However, it came out in hardcover with no word on the audio. I decided to wait, and I have been rewarded. Federle’s performance is just as perfect for his story as it was the first time around, and I’m glad I waited. I am of the opinion that Five, Six, Seven, Nate! is, if anything, even better than its predecessor, which was already a delight.

Nate’s off to New York City for his first Broadway performance. He’s so ready for this. Sure, he’s an understudy, but an understudy to a lead role! Of course, he gets there and he learns he’s actually the SECOND understudy. Basically, Nate had dreams of suddenly becoming awesome and beloved like I did when I went off to college. He thought a star would be born immediately, but life is not that easy. Actually, most people are mean to him, he’s a terrible dancer, and he’s being cut from the chorus parts left and right.

All of this happens with Nate’s trademark humor. He continues to swear with Broadway flops, and is delightfully judgmental of both himself and others. I really love how much Nate remains himself while also growing in the course of the novel. He’s coming of age in a lot of ways, but the core of who he is remains consistent. Nate’s also a really flawed guy, which I love. He’s not the nicest person sometimes, but he just feels so real. Plus, he’s young and he’s learning.

One of the best aspects of the book was Nate’s friendship/mentorship with Asella, a veteran actress. They both learn from each other, and it’s just so adorable how he bonds with this much older woman. In fact, I loved the way the book highlighted the different skill sets people have. Nate’s not a great dancer, not the best singer, and his looks don’t really scream leading man (or boy). However, he does have an amazing memory, and basically makes the best understudy ever. There are things he can be amazing at. The one thing I wasn’t as sold on was that Nate does get his dream (in a limited way) of being a star through some shenanigans. On the one hand, that’s what the reader wants to see; it’s nice to see Nate succeed and achieve his dreams. But, at the same time, I was loving the props given to being an understudy, and I felt like that was undercut a bit.

All the details about training for Broadway and the production of the show were so awesome to read about. It’s sort of like Smash, only better, middle grade, hilarious and not full of relationship drama. Obviously, I knew Broadway shows were productions, but this show seems like a hot mess a lot of the time. I’m side-eying this musical, which is totally intentional on Federle’s part, but it’s fun and cool to learn more than I knew before.

Finally, Nate gets his first romance and it is a-freaking-dorable. He has a secret admirer and I don’t want to spoil what happens, but it’s the cutest. Literally, I finished the audiobook and went AWWW for like two minutes, because so damn sweet.

The Final Verdict:
If you liked Better Nate Than Ever, yes, you should read Five, Six, Seven, Nate! for sure. If you didn’t read Better Nate Than Ever, then you should probably do that, and then read this one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Count up to 10 and back down again in this...
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they...
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
"TWO DOGS ON A TRIKE is an adorable counting book for toddlers and preschoolers. Each page features dogs in different..."
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
"BONAPARTE PLAYS BALL matches up the Monsters and Aliens at the Weird Series baseball game. Bonaparte and his team practice..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
"LALI'S FEATHER is a delightful and colorful picture book that explores birds and imagination. Lali is playing when she finds..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."
 
5.0
"This book is a winner the moment a reader lays eyes on that cover--and the title. My niece--who is picky..."
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Dragons can suddenly show up wherever the characters are and they have to..."
The Girl and the Ghost
 
4.0
"5 Reasons to Read THE GIRL AND THE GHOST 1.) Beautiful prose- This was my first time..."
Brother's Keeper
 
5.0
"BROTHER'S KEEPER is a highly engrossing and heartfelt read about a 12-year-old girl and her dangerous journey from North to..."