The Forbidden Library

The Forbidden Library.jpg
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
April 15, 2014
ISBN
0803739753
Buy This Book
      

Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That--along with everything else--changed the day she met her first fairy When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon--an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within. It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.

Editor review

1 review
A Special Place in My Heart
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
4.0
My heart has always held a special place for book. They take you to far off places away from every day stress and pressures. I had a feeling I would fall in love with this book the moment I heard the synopsis at a New York Comic Con Panel this past October. Yes, I had a countdown on my phone to remind me exactly when the book was coming out. I even pre-ordered it that October. The wait was definitely worth it! Wexler puts it perfectly when he writes “ Books are the ocean in which magic swims… that every so often, somewhere among them, a particular word or phrase or sentence achieves a meaning that goes beyond the natural.” This is exactly what the reader feels when they open The Forbidden Library.

The Forbidden Library is a classic and captivating children’s fantasy story set in the 1930s. The main character Alice, is a young orphaned girl sent to live with an uncle she has never heard of. Once in his presence, she discovers he is a man that at times can be very kind and in the same instant very cruel. Her Uncle’s home is mysterious and dark with unknown things lurking behind each corner, and most importantly an unusual library. This library holds an almost Alice in Wonderland mystic. It has everything a fantasy fan could ask for; a dark and mysterious house, talking cats, dark every changing labyrinth, and a fantastical array of magical creatures, along with fantastic illustrations.

Django Wexler is gifted at word building and it shows in his brilliant imagination when creating Geryon’s Library and all the mystical things that can occur there. The library is magnificent and full of secrets-every book lover’s dreams. I want this world to be real. In the world of The Forbidden Library a small number of people are gifted Readers, readers with the ability to pull magic and creatures from books just by reading. There are different types of books such as prison books and portal books. Each book has their own danger lurking for the Readers.

The Forbidden Library is well paced. It’s the kind of book you unwind on rainy Saturday or outside on a sunny day. Wexler’s writing takes you on a magical journal that you wish never had to end.

Fans of Coraline and Inkheart will appreciate the similar sense of mystery and darkness with the light mix of humor. This book should not be overlooked and should be on every fantasy reader’s must read list.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account