The Forbidden Library

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2199 0
The Forbidden Library.jpg
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
April 15, 2014
ISBN
0803739753
Buy This Book
      

Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That--along with everything else--changed the day she met her first fairy When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon--an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within. It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Special Place in My Heart
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
My heart has always held a special place for book. They take you to far off places away from every day stress and pressures. I had a feeling I would fall in love with this book the moment I heard the synopsis at a New York Comic Con Panel this past October. Yes, I had a countdown on my phone to remind me exactly when the book was coming out. I even pre-ordered it that October. The wait was definitely worth it! Wexler puts it perfectly when he writes “ Books are the ocean in which magic swims… that every so often, somewhere among them, a particular word or phrase or sentence achieves a meaning that goes beyond the natural.” This is exactly what the reader feels when they open The Forbidden Library.

The Forbidden Library is a classic and captivating children’s fantasy story set in the 1930s. The main character Alice, is a young orphaned girl sent to live with an uncle she has never heard of. Once in his presence, she discovers he is a man that at times can be very kind and in the same instant very cruel. Her Uncle’s home is mysterious and dark with unknown things lurking behind each corner, and most importantly an unusual library. This library holds an almost Alice in Wonderland mystic. It has everything a fantasy fan could ask for; a dark and mysterious house, talking cats, dark every changing labyrinth, and a fantastical array of magical creatures, along with fantastic illustrations.

Django Wexler is gifted at word building and it shows in his brilliant imagination when creating Geryon’s Library and all the mystical things that can occur there. The library is magnificent and full of secrets-every book lover’s dreams. I want this world to be real. In the world of The Forbidden Library a small number of people are gifted Readers, readers with the ability to pull magic and creatures from books just by reading. There are different types of books such as prison books and portal books. Each book has their own danger lurking for the Readers.

The Forbidden Library is well paced. It’s the kind of book you unwind on rainy Saturday or outside on a sunny day. Wexler’s writing takes you on a magical journal that you wish never had to end.

Fans of Coraline and Inkheart will appreciate the similar sense of mystery and darkness with the light mix of humor. This book should not be overlooked and should be on every fantasy reader’s must read list.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Sprinkle of Spirits (Love Sugar Magic, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leonora Logroño has finally been introduced to her family’s bakery...
The Order of Time
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
“If you’re into secret societies, time-travel, dangerous artifacts, deadly assassins,...
Thomas Edison
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Learn about the life of Thomas Edison in this early...
Pete the Cat: 5-Minute Bedtime Stories: Includes 12 Cozy Stories!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Pete the Cat for 12 groovy, cozy stories perfect...
Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As in Anne Frank's "Diary of a Young Girl" and...
Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunning non-fiction picture book about the origins of the...
Ty's Travels: All Aboard!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Ty on his imaginative adventures in Ty's Travels: All...
Cuddle Close, Little Koala
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A reassuring bedtime story about the special bond between a...
We Are Together
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The power of love and friendship is celebrated in this...
Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Half-angel Trinity and her bonded gargoyle protector, Zayne, have been...
Diamond City (Diamond City, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
"A thrilling adventure, through a vibrant city as alive as...
Shadow of the Batgirl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Cassandra Cain, teenage assassin, isn't exactly Batgirl material...yet. Will she...
Of Ice and Shadows
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The long-awaited sequel to Of Fire and Stars—in which Mare...
Agnes at the End of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid's Tale meets Wilder Girls in this genre-defying novel...
My Love is All Around
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mommy Bear shows Baby Bear how love is all around...
I'm not a Mouse!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia really doesn't like her nickname - mostly because it...

Latest Member Reviews

Always Forever Maybe
 
3.7
"ALWAYS FOREVER MAYBE is a YA contemporary about domestic abuse and friendship. Bee (Joanna Betts) has always felt like a..."
Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2)
 
5.0
"RAGE AND RUIN is a fantastic sequel in THE HARBINGER series. Picking up where the first book left off, we..."
Diamond City (City of Steel and Diamond, #1)
 
3.3
"DIAMOND CITY follows Aina, an assassin. Aina was out on the streets as a young child, when her parents were..."
Shadow of the Batgirl
 
4.7
"SHADOW OF THE BATGIRL is an origin story for Cassandra Cain. Cassandra was raised by her villain father as a..."
That's Not What Happened
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: There have been countless school shootings in the United States and hundreds if not thousands of..."
Of Ice and Shadows
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: One of my biggest complaints about Of Fire and Stars was its lacking characterization, but that’s been..."
Agnes at the End of the World
 
5.0
"AGNES AT THE END OF THE WORLD is a poignant YA dystopian that really speaks to humanity and the present...."
The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
"THE FALLING IN LOVE MONTAGE is a beautiful YA contemporary romance that follows Saoirse (Seer-sha). Saoirse speaks to the reader..."
Crave
 
4.3
"After the death of her parents, Grace comes to an Alaskan boarding school. Once there, she senses something is 'off'..."
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
"YOU BROUGHT ME THE OCEAN is a graphic novel of the origin story for Aqualad. Jake is 17 and living..."
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
" I received a free copy from the publisher through Netgalley. The Most Dangerous Place on Earth centers around a..."
Pumpkinheads
 
4.7
"I am pretty new to graphic novels so when I won a copy of 'Pumpkin Heads' on GoodReads I was..."
Burn
 
3.7
"BURN imagines a world that is just like ours, except that dragons exist. Dragons have been around for longer than..."
Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed
 
5.0
"WONDER WOMAN: TEMPEST TOSSED is a fantastic new story featuring Diana coming into her own. She has been raised among..."
The Archer at Dawn (The Tiger at Midnight, #2)
 
5.0
"THE ARCHER AT DAWN is a fantastic sequel in the THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT trilogy. This second book picks up..."
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
"What worked: This is a fun paranormal twist on historical figures set in the Wild West of 1876. I loved..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
5.0
"FEEDBACK This book was everything I wanted and more. It begins with Kallia and her performance. It quickly descends into..."
The State of Us
 
5.0
"THE STATE OF US is a really fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows the children of two political rivals. Dean's..."
Live Like Legends
 
5.0
"LIVE LIKE LEGENDS is an absolutely fantastic YA fantasy romance. We follow Kalista, who is a princess born to be..."
Blood Countess (Lady Slayers)
 
4.3
"Visually, this book is a gorgeous work of art, splattered with blood from cover to cover. For those familiar with..."