Stay Where You Are and Then Leave

Featured
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
2401 0
Stay Where You Are and Then Leave
Author(s)
Age Range
9+
Release Date
March 25, 2014
ISBN
1627790314
Buy This Book
      
The day the First World War broke out, Alfie Summerfield's father promised he wouldn't go away to fight—but he broke that promise the following day. Four years later, Alfie doesn't know where his father might be, other than that he's away on a special, secret mission. Then, while shining shoes at King's Cross Station, Alfie unexpectedly sees his father's name on a sheaf of papers belonging to a military doctor. Bewildered and confused, Alfie realizes his father is in a hospital close by—a hospital treating soldiers with shell shock. Alfie isn't sure what shell shock is, but he is determined to rescue his father from this strange, unnerving place. . . .

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Slow to Start But Moving Portrayal of the Effects of War
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
What I Liked:
Putting it all out there, I actually really struggled with this book in the beginning. It’s slow-moving, not particularly character-driven, and there’s something about the narrative style that just made me feel sort off somehow. One hundred pages in, I was toying with DNFing, not because it’s bad—it’s not—but because I wasn’t engaged. Then I realized I was almost halfway through and decided to push on through to the other side. And you know what? I’m glad that I did. The second half of the book moves a bit faster, because Alfie’s older and actually doing things.

Stay Where You Are and Then Leave starts on Alfie’s fifth birthday, which also happens to be the day that WWI begins. Needless to say, there have been better birthdays. Alfie’s dad enlists on that first day, overwhelmed with patriotism and a need to “do his bit.” The story pretty much just covers Alfie being five and then jumps to age nine, during which time Alfie opens up a shoeshine stand in the train station to help his mom earn money and learns about the secret of what happened to his dad.

Part of what didn’t work for me also made Stay Where You Are and Then Leave really special. Alfie’s the main character in that he’s in every scene, but it’s omniscient narration and the book is more about what happens around Alfie than about him. Like, the bulk of the scenes hardly involve Alfie at all; he’s overhearing conversations or witnessing something or listening to someone talk while he shines their shoes. Usually, a middle grade book is about a personal journey of growing up, but Stay Where You Are and Then Leave is more atmospheric, capturing a picture of the war’s impact on one little boy.

Through Alfie’s convenient location at the train station, Boyne is able to acquaint the reader with a lot of experiences through a young kid. As he shines their shoes, men unload their stories, their troubles. Alfie also witnesses numerous disturbances in the neighborhood, like the rough treatment of Joe Patience, a conscientious objector and the Janá?eks, of Hungarian origin. In fact, these story lines were perhaps most compelling to me, since they’re covering bits of WWI history I didn’t really know about. The way women would give any men who looked like they should be at war feathers to shame them? Wow.

Then there’s the Janá?eks. Kalena is a girl and his best friend. Her father runs a shop. When the war breaks out, they’re shipped off by the government under suspicion as spies, even though they’re not German. Kalena was even born in the US, but they’re apparently not to be trusted. I knew that stuff like that happened in WWII, but I had no idea there was that level of anti-German and -Hungarian sentiment during the first World War.

What Left Me Wanting More:
Boyne ultimately focuses on both the effects of the outbreak of the war and the end of it as well. He puts a focus on the fact that, though a number of men do make it back alive, and maybe even uninjured physically, that doesn’t mean they’re well. The traumas of war are myriad, and Boyne conveys this well, without actually diving into anything gruesome or violent. So, basically, I think Boyne does something very cool, but the style sort of lessened my personal enjoyment at the same time.

The Final Verdict:
Ultimately, I’m glad that I read Stay Where You Are and Then Leave, though it got off to a slow start. Boyne looks at WWI through a very unique lens, and if that is something that interests you, then it’s well worth checking out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
"LALI'S FEATHER is a delightful and colorful picture book that explores birds and imagination. Lali is playing when she finds..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."
 
5.0
"This book is a winner the moment a reader lays eyes on that cover--and the title. My niece--who is picky..."
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Dragons can suddenly show up wherever the characters are and they have to..."
The Girl and the Ghost
 
4.0
"5 Reasons to Read THE GIRL AND THE GHOST 1.) Beautiful prose- This was my first time..."
Brother's Keeper
 
5.0
"BROTHER'S KEEPER is a highly engrossing and heartfelt read about a 12-year-old girl and her dangerous journey from North to..."
Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention
 
5.0
"IZZY GIZMO AND THE INVENTION CONVENTION is a delightful, rhyming book about staying true to yourself and getting creative. Izzy..."
The Welcome Wagon
 
3.0
"THE WELCOME WAGON features four friends who decide to welcome a new family to Cubby Hill. As they travel to..."