The Interrupted Tale (The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place #4)

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2478 0
The Interrupted Tale (The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place #4)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
December 17, 2013
ISBN
0061791229
Buy This Book
      

For fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society comes the fourth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood. In The Interrupted Tale, Miss Penelope Lumley receives an invitation to speak at the annual Celebrate Alumnae Knowledge Exposition (or CAKE) at the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females. Optoomuchstic as ever, Penelope hopes to give her CAKE talk, see some old friends, and show off the Incorrigible children to Miss Mortimer, but instead she finds her beloved school in an uproar. And when Penelope is asked by the Swanburne Academy board of trustees to demonstrate the academic progress of her three wolfish students so the board can judge the true worth of a Swanburne education, the future of her alma mater--and of her job as governess to the Incorrigibles--hangs in the balance.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Best in the Series so Far!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
What I Liked:
Not only was I more in the mood for The Interrupted Tale, but I also think it’s a better book. The first three novels barely made a dent in the overarching plot, but Wood’s finally getting into it now. The mystery of everyone’s identity (no, really, it’s a thing) is coming to the forefront. Is Judge Quincy really the supposed dead father of Frederick Ashton? What’s Frederick Ashton’s mysterious condition? Why does Penelope have to dye her hair? Whose kids are the Incorrigibles?

Now, don’t get overexcited thinking that Wood will answer all of these, but the plot is at least dealing with all of them and progress is being made. I’m sure she’ll stretch them out over more books than necessary because money, but I’m thrilled that more is happening. Each plot needs to advance the individual book’s story arc AND the larger one for the whole series, and that’s finally really happening. As fun as the individual books are, I’m not particularly engaged by episodic stories that don’t seem to be going anywhere.

The Interrupted Tale has everything that the previous stories had as well. They’re still utterly madcap and humorous. There are still ridiculous moments with animals; in fact, the stars of the book might be the dancing chickens. When I was a kid, I would have been all over the absurdity of this series, and it’s still a lot of fun now. Plus, Katherine Kellgren’s narration is simply excellent. I now know what a good job she does of being a tolling bell or meowing like a cat. I love how she throws her all into a narration project.

What Left Me Wanting More:
Of course, the fact that this series is written for middle graders does show through quite a bit. Wood explains a lot of things for young readers that will be unnecessary for older readers. Also, it takes people a LOT longer to put things together than it does me. These are pretty common drawbacks in reading middle grade as an adult, but not enough to put me off the series entirely.

The Final Verdict:
So, what it comes down to is that I think this is the best in the series thus far. If you were frustrated at the lack of advancement in the larger plot arc, then you will be happy to know that you can safely continue because progress is finally being made.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Even and Odd
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Even and Odd are sisters who share magic. Lately, though,...
Bee a Good Human: A Pollinators' Guide to a Better Life
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Combining inspiration, humor, and entomology, Instagram artist Ali Beckman (@SoFlyTaxidermy)...
Goodnight, Little Bunny
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Bunny on the day that she ventures out...
Flying Over Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
N.H. Senzai and Shannon Hitchcock expertly craft the intersection of...
Rukhsanna Guidroz
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Samira thinks of her life as before and after: before...
Not Now, Cow
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this hilarious picture book, all of the farm animals...
Cucu! en el Mar/Peekaboo! in the Ocean
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Peekaboo! Who's hiding in the ocean? Lift the flap to...
Family Reunion
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this contemporary #OwnVoices tale, a boy is reluctant to...
A Season of Sinister Dreams
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Furyborn meets A Curse So Dark and Lonely in this...
The Whaler's Daughter
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
In 1910, twelve-year-old Savannah lives with her widowed father on...
The Neighborhood Surprise
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
All the children in the neighborhood like Mrs. Fig. She...
Jet the Cat (Is Not a Cat)
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Jet is not like any other cat . . ....
Clique Here: A Wish Novel
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Lily loves science and hanging out with her best friend,...
Smoke and Mirrors: The Heartstone
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Corbin, a powerful shapeshifting young mage, was just beginning to...
Better Together
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Freaky Friday meets The Parent Trap in New York Times...

Latest Member Reviews

Kneel
 
5.0
"Russell and his friend Marion live in Louisiana, and hope to use their skills at football to work their way..."
Better Together
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
A Season of Sinister Dreams
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Made in Korea
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Havoc (Haven, #2)
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Ember of Night
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The Immortal Game
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The Nature of Witches
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Sixteen Scandals
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Of Princes and Promises (Rosetta Academy, #2)
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
We Are Inevitable
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Again Again
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Down with this Ship
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The (Un)Popular Vote
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."