The Day the Crayons Quit

 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1802 0
The Day the Crayons Quit
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
June 27, 2013
ISBN
978-0399255373
Buy This Book
      
Crayons have feelings, too, in this funny back-to-school story illustrated by the creator of Stuck and This Moose Belongs to Me -- now a #1 New York Times bestseller!

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon. Black wants to be used for more than just outlining. Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking—each believes he is the true color of the sun.

What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?
Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times bestseller Oliver Jeffers. This story is perfect as a back-to-school gift, for all budding artists, for fans of humorous books such as Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith, and for fans of Oliver Jeffers' Stuck, The Incredible Book Eating Boy, Lost and Found, and This Moose Belongs to Me.

Editor reviews

2 reviews
Loved the Letters!
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
I was so excited to pick up my very own copy of this book. I actually sat down right in the middle of the store and read it cover to cover. Each letter to Duncan is so fun and original. Each color has a different personality and lets Duncan know how they feel about their most common uses--Red is really tired of being used for so many holiday pictures. We had so much fun reading this book in our classroom, my kids begged me to read different letters every day.

You won't be disappointed if you pick this book up. Teachers, you need this book in your classroom! It's a hit for kids and adults.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Fun and Original
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
THE DAY THE CRAYONS QUIT puts a fun spin on how each color may feel about its most common uses Blue, for example, is used for water and clear skies, and quite frankly is exhausted. Black, on the other hand, is tired of being used only for outlines, and wishes Duncan would draw a black beach ball once in a while. The prose is playful and straightforward, told in believable kid handwriting, and written and illustrated entirely in crayon. The illustrations are cute and in the style of your average elementary schooler, but with a bit of extra whimsy that will make both kids and parents smile. And, just maybe, the fun collection of letters will encourage kids to think outside the box next time they pick up a crayon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account