The Day the Crayons Quit

 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1765 0
The Day the Crayons Quit
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
June 27, 2013
ISBN
978-0399255373
Buy This Book
      
Crayons have feelings, too, in this funny back-to-school story illustrated by the creator of Stuck and This Moose Belongs to Me -- now a #1 New York Times bestseller!

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon. Black wants to be used for more than just outlining. Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking—each believes he is the true color of the sun.

What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?
Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times bestseller Oliver Jeffers. This story is perfect as a back-to-school gift, for all budding artists, for fans of humorous books such as Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith, and for fans of Oliver Jeffers' Stuck, The Incredible Book Eating Boy, Lost and Found, and This Moose Belongs to Me.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Loved the Letters!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
I was so excited to pick up my very own copy of this book. I actually sat down right in the middle of the store and read it cover to cover. Each letter to Duncan is so fun and original. Each color has a different personality and lets Duncan know how they feel about their most common uses--Red is really tired of being used for so many holiday pictures. We had so much fun reading this book in our classroom, my kids begged me to read different letters every day.

You won't be disappointed if you pick this book up. Teachers, you need this book in your classroom! It's a hit for kids and adults.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Fun and Original
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
THE DAY THE CRAYONS QUIT puts a fun spin on how each color may feel about its most common uses Blue, for example, is used for water and clear skies, and quite frankly is exhausted. Black, on the other hand, is tired of being used only for outlines, and wishes Duncan would draw a black beach ball once in a while. The prose is playful and straightforward, told in believable kid handwriting, and written and illustrated entirely in crayon. The illustrations are cute and in the style of your average elementary schooler, but with a bit of extra whimsy that will make both kids and parents smile. And, just maybe, the fun collection of letters will encourage kids to think outside the box next time they pick up a crayon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

If Only...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author-illustrator Mies van Hout employs vivid creatures in a...
Like a Giant
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautiful story about imagination and taking your time to...
A Rosa Le Encantan Los Carros/Rosa Loves Cars
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Averiguemos con quâe juguetes juegan Rosa y sus amigos hoy!...
The Duck Who Didn't Like Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See a duck take to the water of friendship in...
Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Llama, who is about to make a very...
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A picture book meditation on curiosity, wonder, and finding one’s...
In Your Cozy Bed
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
A soothing bedtime board book from the creators of In...
Chicks Rock!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rocker Chick overcomes stage fright to find her voice in...
The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Read along and join Bluey's latest adventure! ...
All About Bluey
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Bluey! This lovable and imaginative Blue Heeler puppy is...
Instructions for Dancing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The critically...
Jonathan: Prince of Dreams
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still recovering from the tragic loss of his mother, typical...
Missing the Beat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dream job? Check. The best friends? Check....
Meeting the Star
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The spotless reputation? Check. The gorgeous movie star?...
Making the Play
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The school of her dreams? Check. The perfect...
Runaway : Immortals of Indriell
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They claim her mother died a hero. They...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
 
3.0
""City of Bones" introduces us to the world of Shadowhunters when Clary goes to a club with her best friend..."
The Princess Diaries [Film]
 
5.0
"I loved this movie as a kid and I still love it now. It's really a classic by this point...."
Beautiful Creatures
 
4.8
"While they changed a bit from the book, I still love this movie. It's one I watch often and enjoy..."
Twilight [Film]
 
3.2
"Loved the book, the movie fell a bit for me. "
City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
 
4.0
"I actually enjoyed this film and watch it often. Much better than the TV show."
City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
 
4.2
"I actually enjoyed this film and watch it often. Much better than the TV show."
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
 
3.8
"I actually saw this movie before I read the book and I liked the book much better but i guess..."
City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
 
3.0
"I never wanted to read any of the books to begin with. For some reason, my brother had read..."
Beautiful Creatures
 
3.5
"Now, I have not read this book. I really wanted to get to it before I watched the movie, but..."
Prom
 
3.8
"This movie is cute! I watched it while I was sick and I has skipped class. (I skipped class..."
Olympus Has Fallen
 
4.3
"You know what drives me to watching certain movies? The actors. I will watch any movie that my favorite actors..."
City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
 
1.8
"Honestly, might get bashed for this, but I hope there's no sequel. I pray that they decide to..."
The Hunger Games Movie
 
5.0
"I saw the film first and enjoyed it so I then read the book. The lead character is a girl..."
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
 
4.8
"Great adaptation!!!! Must watch! Perfection at it's best!"
Beautiful Creatures
 
3.8
"Give it a chance people! Think of it as a "retelling" of the novel!"
I Am Number Four
 
2.4
"This movie was pretty eh. Didn't do a good job following the book didn't mess up like the Percy Jackson..."
Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief
 
1.6
"This puts shame to the name Percy Jackson. "
Beautiful Creatures
 
1.7
"Don't watch this. It doesn't matter if you've read the book or not. Just don't see it. Please."
The Hunger Games Movie
 
4.0
"One of those movies, that I can watch over and over, and still plays with my emotions every time!..."