The Girl Who Soared Over Fairyland and Cut the Moon in Two (Fairyland #3)

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1495 0
The Girl Who Soared Over Fairyland and Cut the Moon in Two (Fairyland #3)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
October 01, 2013
ISBN
1250023505
Buy This Book
      

September misses Fairyland and her friends Ell, the Wyverary, and the boy Saturday. She longs to leave the routines of home, and embark on a new adventure. Little does she know that this time, she will be spirited away to the moon, reunited with her friends, and find herself faced with saving Fairyland from a moon-Yeti with great and mysterious powers.

Here is another rich, beautifully told, wisely humorous, and passionately [layered] book from New York Times-bestselling author, Catherynne M. Valente.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Modern Classic
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
What I Loved:
Those who know me well are aware that I’m not generally one to give praise lightly. While I read a lot of books I think are fantastic and authors who I believe have talent, not every voice or novel is one that makes a lasting impression or will likely impact future fiction. So please take me seriously when I say that I do believe Catherynne M. Valente is one of the most gifted authors writing today. Fifty years into the future, I want her Fairyland series to be a classic, read in place of or alongside the Chronicles of Narnia and Alice in Wonderland.

To be, as ever, quite honest, I thought for quite a good part of the book that it was not the ending that I wanted for this series. I really should have had more faith in Valente, because the way she pulls everything together at the end is brilliant and mysterious, and basically makes me want to go read back through everything for hints and clues about what’s really going on in the Fairyland series.

In The Girl Who Soared Over Fairyland and Cut the Moon in Two, our young heroine is no longer quite so young. She’s a teenager now. She’s learning to drive and starting to worry about what her future career will be. This journey to Fairyland will likely be her last, much like Susan and Peter were kicked out of Narnia after The Voyage of the Dawn Treader or adults cannot go to Neverland with Peter Pan. September misses Fairyland with a fierceness made stronger by her tenuous relationship with it now that she’s grown older. Even more than that, she misses herself, the young girl that she was before who had free and easy access to Fairyland.

At this juncture, I am less sure that Fairyland is a metaphor. Or maybe I’m more sure. Either way, Valente purposely makes the reader question whether September’s experiences are real or imagined. Either way, Valente constantly drops truth bombs about growing up, social norms, and any number of other things. A scene in TGWSOF actually explains monetary systems and how they’re all entirely social constructs. It’s brilliant and couched in such a way as to make sense to young readers.

What Left Me Wanting More:
Though I dearly love Ell and September and Saturday, I think my favorite character in the series may actually be the narrator. Any time the omniscient narrator speaks to the audience or weighs in, I revel in it. Perhaps because omniscient narrators are not often done these days and perhaps because this narrator is fantabulous.

Moving to the sad part of the review, I did have a couple of issues with how this one went down. First, the pacing in TGWSOF was a bit slow. The part where September first arrives on the Moon in particular; there’s this part where she goes to the library and the librarians infodump a whole bunch of stuff over several pages that was a real slog. Second, and perhaps related, this quest really does not feel like September’s. In the other instances, September made choices that lead her to a particular place. Here, September gets into Fairyland and is then told what to do. It felt arbitrary, which increased my sense of disengagement during the slow parts.

The Final Verdict:
Catherynne M. Valente is nothing short of an authorial genius in my opinion, even if I didn’t find this installment to be entirely without flaws. You can bet that I will read anything she writes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."
Samuel Drew Hasn't a Clue
 
3.5
"SAMUEL DREW HASN'T A CLUE is an overall cute picture book that follows Samuel Drew as he wheels a package..."
Cactus and Flower: A Book About Life Cycles
 
3.5
"CACTUS AND FLOWER is a picture book about friendship, loss, and grief. Cactus loves flower as they spend all their..."
Quintessence
 
5.0
"QUINTESSENCE is a charming and enchanting middle grade fantasy. Alma moved to Four Points, and she has felt a little..."