Fairy Tale Comics: Classic Tales Told by Extraordinary Cartoonists

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1586 0
Fairy Tale Comics: Classic Tales Told by Extraordinary Cartoonists
From favorites like "Puss in Boots" and "Goldilocks" to obscure gems like "The Boy Who Drew Cats," Fairy Tale Comics has something to offer every reader. Seventeen fairy tales are wonderfully adapted and illustrated in comics format by seventeen different cartoonists, including Raina Telgemeier, Brett Helquist, Cherise Harper, and more.

Edited by Nursery Rhyme Comics' Chris Duffy, this jacketed hardcover is a beautiful gift and an instant classic.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Fun Fairy Tale Retellings for Young Readers
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
What I Liked:
When I was in elementary school, I distinctly remember how popular Jon Scieszka’s The Stinky Cheese Man: And Other Fairly Stupid Tales was. Managing to get a hold of it at the school library was pretty much impossible, because everyone wanted to read it. I can easily imagine Fairy Tale Comics being similarly popular with the intended audience. The stories are light-hearted and funny, though with just enough of the cruelty of the original tales to delight kids, because, let’s be honest, children do tend to like watching people get hurt.

Most of the stories featured in Fairy Tale Comics were familiar to me and will be to other adult readers as well, being the most popular of the Grimms’ tales. However, Duffy also included a handful of tales from other sources, ones I’ve never encountered myself. This blend of the familiar and the new will be enchanting for kids and parents alike. Younger readers enjoy familiarity, and it helps make reading a bit easier if you know the story already. In fact, Duffy clearly had this in mind when he put the anthology together, because the first five stories are all Grimms’ tales, allowing the reader to get comfortable before springing something that might be new.

In most anthologies, there tend to be a few real clunkers, but all of the stories in Fairy Tale Comics were really fun reads. Sure, I had my personal favorites, but none of them were horribly boring or with artwork so annoying I couldn’t deal. The stories I enjoyed the most were “The Prince and the Tortoise” by Ramona Fradon and Chris Duffy, “Rapunzel” by Raina Telgemeier, and “Give Me the Shudders” by David Mazzuchelli. Two of them were entirely new to me, and Rapunzel had a nice twist to the ending that I rather enjoyed.

As is the case in “Rapunzel,” several of the tales feature clever little changes. These obviously will not stand out to those who are not well-versed in the tales, but I picked up on a few and they were all great improvements. Obviously much of the gore has been cut, but there are intentional revisions, most of which increase the role of the female characters in the fairy tales. In “Puss in Boots,” the reader learns right at the end that Puss is in fact a female cat. Similarly, the lumberjack in “Little Red Riding Hood” is a woman, rather than a man. These are small changes, but they’re excellently done, adding agency and strength to female characters.

The Final Verdict:
Fairy Tale Comics will be enjoyed by both parents and children, or adults like me who do not get tired of clever retellings of fairy tales. Each tale is humorous and quick for younger readers, but with subtle jokes to delight maturer readers. A great readalike for Jon Scieszka’s fairy tale retellings or fractured fairy tales, like those included in Rocky & Bullwinkle.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fifteen-year-old JL Markham's life used to be filled with carnival...
The Lost Legends
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All her life, Princess Adalina heard tales of the legendary,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a series of interwoven fictionalized stories, Deborah Noyes gives...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this thrilling...
Birthday
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Boyhood meets The Sun Is Also a Star in this...
A Betrayal Exposed (Not Every Girl Book 3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia Davenport’s life is finally going smoothly, until if falls...
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A heartbroken teen, with the help of her best friends,...
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Influencers. Movie nerds. Beauty queens. And one pink convertible. Have...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. ...
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Will Tavares is the dream summer fling―he's fun, affectionate, kind―but...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Defending everything they know could cost them everything they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They wanted a chance; they were given a choice: ...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
Ink in the Blood (Ink in the Blood Duology #1)
 
4.3
"INK IN THE BLOOD is an engaging and atmospheric YA fantasy. Celia Sand was delighted when she was chosen to..."
What I Want You to See
 
4.0
"WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE is an interesting book that discusses homelessness, choices and their intersection with privilege, as..."
The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School
 
4.7
"'The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School' by Kristin Mahoney is an endearing look at an often hard time..."
 
4.0
"The insatiable oasis will hunt down the thieves of this book and tear them apart, limb by limb, devouring their..."