Other Worlds (Guys Read #4)

Featured
 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2461 0
Other Worlds (Guys Read #4)
Author(s)
Age Range
9+
Release Date
September 17, 2013
ISBN
978-0061963797
Buy This Book
      

"Other Worlds," the fourth volume in Jon Scieszka’s Guys Read anthology series for tween boys, features ten thrilling new tales of science fiction and fantasy from some of the biggest names in children’s literature.

Prepare yourself for ten trips into the unknown, as ten of your favorite writers — Rick Riordan, who has written an all-new and exclusive Percy Jackson tale, Tom Angleberger of Origami Yoda fame, Newbery medalist Rebecca Stead, Shannon Hale, D. J. MacHale, Eric Nylund, Kenneth Oppel, Neal Shusterman, Shaun Tan, and none other than the late Ray Bradbury — spin tales of fantasy and science fiction the likes of which you have never imagined.

Compiled by National Ambassador for Children’s Literature (and Secret Ambassador for the Intergalactic Alliance) Jon Scieszka, "Guys Read: Other Worlds" is sure to boldly take you where no reader has gone before.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Great Choice for Reluctant Readers!
(Updated: October 10, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Guys Read: Other Worlds is a collection of fast-paced stories that will appeal to reluctant young readers, of either gender.

Breakdown of the stories:
“Percy Jackson and the Singer of Apollo” by Rick Riordan: Okay, so I’m actually not the biggest Percy Jackson fan. I’ve read the first two and they were alright, but then I gave up on the series out of disinterest. The story here is pretty consistent with what I remember. Fun and silly and totally up the pre-teen humor alley, complete with a pantsing. However, I’m also now convinced I should give good ol’ PJ another try at some point, because Jesse Bernstein does a fantastic job narrating.

“Bouncing the Grinning Goat” by Shannon Hale: In case you were wondering why I decided to listen to an audiobook purportedly for guys, and young ones at that, this right here is the reason. I love Shannon Hale’s books, so as soon as I saw her name on this, I knew I had to listen. As usual, Shannon’s story centers around a sassy, young heroine, which I am glad to see, because, yeah, boys can read about girls! The plot was a little bit too far-fetched for me with a young girl who ran away from home pretending to have magical powers so she can work as a bouncer. It’s funny, but not really in a way that works all that well for me. I imagine kids might be more entranced however.

“The Scout” by D. J. MacHale: In “The Scout,” a scout troop goes on a grueling hike and then is left to make their way back to base in two groups. Kit is all, naw man, I’ll come back on my own, and sneaks off from his group. While camping on his own, he spots an alien ship crash-landing. “The Scout” appeals to action-adventure fans, which isn’t usually my thing, but this actually got pretty high concept too.

“Rise of the RoboShoes” by Tom Angleberger: This is basically what it sounds like: a story about RoboShoes and how their society rises and falls. It’s only eight minutes long, so that’s good. Honestly, I’m too old for this. I can see where kids would think it was hilarious, but not for me.

“The Dirt on Our Shoes” by Neal Shusterman: Shusterman’s story follows more typical science fiction lines, with a story much like Across the Universe or Starglass. Tanner lives aboard T-Bin, a spaceship heading out to colonize a new planet. As the ship gets closer, certain events make Tanner suspicious that perhaps they’re not meant to colonize it after all. DUN DUN DUN. I was really enjoying this one, but then it ended with more fecal matter then I’m entirely comfortable with. Poop jokes are one of those things that aren’t as funny post-childhood.

“A Day in the Life” by Shaun Tan: This story is all of a minute long. I’m fairly certain this must be a graphic novel in the print version, because it sure as hell does not make a ton of sense in the audio version. I’m especially not hearing the sci fi or fantasy elements. This might be cool in print, but it did not transition well.

“Plan B” by Rebecca Stead: CATS IN SPACE. This has been my favorite story so far. A boy locked in his room slowly unravels the story of why he’s locked in his room, a story which gets crazier every moment. This totally took me back to one of my favorite movies when I was a kid, The Cat from Outer Space.

“The Klack Bros. Museum” by Kenneth Oppel: A kid and his dad go to a seriously creepy museum in the middle of nowhere. Then the townie who runs it offers to by the kid so that he can keep the museum’s ghost company. Points off for there being so many reasons the father should have thought better of accepting a ride to a tiny museum from a creepy old guy who just happened to be going for long enough to take them and bring them back. IT’S A TRAP.

“The Warlords of Recess” by Eric S. Nylund: The premise of this story actually reminds me of Red Rain, only this one’s funny ON PURPOSE. That’s an important distinction. Anyway, aliens are running a test attack of the earth to determine whether they should launch a full-scale attack. If they are defeated three times by a sample army, they’ll leave with well wishes for the planet. The forces they will be fighting: an elementary school at recess. Totally realistic, right? Two nerds save the day when they figure out the aliens’ weak spot.

What Left Me Questioning:
Since the series began, I’ve been keeping an eye on the Guys Read books. In theory, it’s a great idea, because more boys should be reading for fun. However, by marketing them as “guy” books, girls are being excluded and it’s continuing the idea that books are gendered. This story is ONLY for girls, and this one is ONLY for boys. As a concept, that needs to die, as it’s based on the sexist values inculcated in our society. They’re clearly making some effort to mold young minds in a good way, based on the inclusion of two female authors and one female MC, but the name itself is still troublesome.

Note: My review copy lacked “Frost and Fire,” a short story by Ray Bradbury that was included in the collection, so I can’t comment on that.

The Final Verdict:
On the whole, I’m forced to admit that I’m a little bit too old for Guys Read: Other Worlds, but I’ve been curious about the series anyway and I’m glad I checked it out. Most of the stories were still quite entertaining, even if I’m not the target audience. Plus, unlike many multiple voice narration efforts, each narrator seemed well-matched to the story. Though I question the gendered marketing, this is a great read for middle graders.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Take a Trip to These 'Other Worlds'
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
In all honesty, I had never read an anthology of short stories for middle grade readers before I picked up “Guys Read: Other Worlds” that Jon Scieszka put together. I was hesitant at first, but after diving into this book, I realized my hesitations weren’t needed for a single second.

Scieszka picked a great selection of sci-fi and fantasy stories, and he paced them well. Scieszka gets young readers hooked right off the bat with a familiar writer and a popular character as Rick Riordan kicks off the stories with a light-hearted Percy Jackson adventure. From there Scieszka offers a diverse mix of funny fare (Tom Angleberger’s tale of robotic shoes that take over the world) to more spooky and tense stories (Kenneth Oppel’s “The Klack Bros. Museum” in which a boy is followed around by a potentially menacing ghost). I was extremely impressed by Scieszka’s addition of Ray Bradbury at the very end. He picked an extremely interesting short story of Bradbury’s, showing young readers that authors recommended by teachers don’t have to be boring!

After such a great MG anthology experience, I’m definitely looking into the other Guys Read collections.
Good Points
Great mix of sci-fi and fantasy stories.
A range in tone from extremely funny to really freaky.
An exciting introduction for young readers to Ray Bradbury.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic...

Latest Member Reviews

Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The People We Choose
 
3.3
"THE PEOPLE WE CHOOSE is an intriguing YA contemporary about how we define family. Calliope is nearly 18 years old,..."