Rose (Rose #1)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2079 0
Rose (Rose #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
April 01, 2013
ISBN
978-1408304471
Buy This Book
      
Young readers who love Araminta Spook and Lemony Snicket will adore this spellbinding, scary fantasy series.

The grand residence of the famous alchemist Mr. Fountain is a world away from the dark orphanage Rose has left behind. The house is positively overflowing with sparkling magic, and Rose can feel it. It's not long before she realizes that maybe, just maybe, she has a little bit of magic in her, too.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Real Gem
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
What an absolute little gem of a book! Rose by Holly Webb is a darling blend of magic, dreams, and the mystery that gets even lovelier with mixing in the fantastical. I loved the fast paced storyline that is constantly propelled forward by the fantastic cast of characters.

I loved Rose’s character – she is not one to dream all day about what she wants in life and is very practical; she was a character I was able to relate to very easily because of this. The characters are all fantastic – they are all so diverse and yet I love the way they band together to solve the mystery.

Rose by Holly Webb was very reminiscent of a book I read years ago now – The Secret of the Ruby Ring by Yvonne MacGrory – and I was absolutely delighted at this fact. All the magic that I wanted in a book when I was younger was present in Rose and that just made me love it even more.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Even and Odd
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Even and Odd are sisters who share magic. Lately, though,...
Bee a Good Human: A Pollinators' Guide to a Better Life
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Combining inspiration, humor, and entomology, Instagram artist Ali Beckman (@SoFlyTaxidermy)...
Goodnight, Little Bunny
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Bunny on the day that she ventures out...
Flying Over Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
N.H. Senzai and Shannon Hitchcock expertly craft the intersection of...
Rukhsanna Guidroz
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Samira thinks of her life as before and after: before...
Not Now, Cow
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this hilarious picture book, all of the farm animals...
Cucu! en el Mar/Peekaboo! in the Ocean
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Peekaboo! Who's hiding in the ocean? Lift the flap to...
Family Reunion
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this contemporary #OwnVoices tale, a boy is reluctant to...
A Season of Sinister Dreams
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Furyborn meets A Curse So Dark and Lonely in this...
The Whaler's Daughter
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
In 1910, twelve-year-old Savannah lives with her widowed father on...
The Neighborhood Surprise
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
All the children in the neighborhood like Mrs. Fig. She...
Jet the Cat (Is Not a Cat)
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Jet is not like any other cat . . ....
Clique Here: A Wish Novel
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Lily loves science and hanging out with her best friend,...
Smoke and Mirrors: The Heartstone
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Corbin, a powerful shapeshifting young mage, was just beginning to...
Better Together
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Freaky Friday meets The Parent Trap in New York Times...

Latest Member Reviews

The Shadow War
 
3.3
"What worked: Intriguing mix of Sci-fi with historical set during WWII. There is a lot going on in this engaging..."
Kneel
 
5.0
"Russell and his friend Marion live in Louisiana, and hope to use their skills at football to work their way..."
Better Together
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
A Season of Sinister Dreams
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Made in Korea
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Havoc (Haven, #2)
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Ember of Night
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The Immortal Game
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."