Strike Three, You're Dead (Lenny and the Mikes #1)

FeaturedHot
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
5828 0
Strike Three, You're Dead (Lenny and the Mikes #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 12, 2013
ISBN
9780375970085
Buy This Book
      
Lenny Norbeck is a die-hard baseball lover. Unfortunately, he's no player himself (according to him, he's "the worst there ever was.") But he'd make a heck of an announcer. He gets a lot of practice sitting with his best friends, Mike and Other Mike, watching Phillies games from their lawn couch—a sweet outdoor TV arrangement Mike's dad hooked them up with. Being a real announcer is his dream, and he gets his chance to prove himself when he enters an "Armchair Announcer" contest and wins. The prize: he gets to be the broadcaster, live, for one inning at a real Phillies game. The game goes very wrong, though. Before Lenny gets to do his inning, a young, promising pitcher fresh out of the minors literally drops dead on the mound. The official verdict is that he died of a heart attack, but Lenny has a hunch there's something more going on. So he and the Mikes set out to investigate. The suspects are many, and though the trio barks up the wrong tree a few times, they are always right on the heels of the real killer. . . .

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Take me out to a murder
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Lenny is thrilled that he has won the Armchair Announcer contest and gets to meet the announcers for the Phillies and work at a game. He's not a good baseball player, but he's a great announcer and knows his baseball history-- for his audition tape, he and his friends Mike and Other Mike have dug up an obscure story about the worst pitcher ever, Blaze O'Farrell, who happens to still be living in their hometown. While at the game, the new and promising pitcher, R.J. Weathers, drops dead on the mound. Everyone assumes it was just a heart problem, but it looks fishy to Lenny and his friends, and they launch into an investigation. With the help of the local librarians niece, Maria (who is a huge baseball fan herself), the group looks into a variety of threats and manages to solve the mystery.
Good Points
Berk has a couple of good young adult mysteries (The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin, Josh Langan: Crime Scene Procrastinator), but I think he has really has a great voice for middle grade literature. Lenny is a hoot, and I loved that both of his friends were named Mike! They al get excited about things and go off half-prepared, and it is always funny. Maria is a great character-- a strong girl that Lenny has a little bit of a crush on. Side characters, like the announcers, the librarian, and the parents are all amusing and just quirky enough to be funny and not annoying. The mystery is a bit improbable, but has a nice twist, and working baseball into the story is great. I would love to see another book involving these characters. The cover is especially nice-- striking and won't date. Brilliant.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...

Latest Member Reviews

The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
Moon & Shadow: A tale of Liamec (Tales of Liamec Book 1)
 
4.3
"Overall, This book was different from anything I've read in a while. It was more like a folktale which was..."
The Raven and the Dove
 
5.0
"I've honestly had my eye on this book for a while, and finally decided to pick it up. As the..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
The Lightbringer: Through the Elder Stone
 
5.0
"The Lightbringer plays on that classic trope of light vs dark, but in a fresh way with unheard of magical..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"When Aislinn and Catriona are taken into the fae realm, their fate falls into the hands of a broody prince/rightful..."
With Shield and Ink and Bone
 
4.8
"The story: A Viking, Liv has earned her shield and is set to take her place as a shield..."
With Shield and Ink and Bone
 
4.5
"For those who can't get enough of Vikings, Norse Mythology, and kick-butt female leads, this one is for you. ..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"This short story is perfect for people who loved The Last Summer and for those excited for The Final Chance...."
My Best Friend Prince Charming
 
4.5
"‘My Best Friend Prince Charming’ by Cindy Ray Hale tells the story of Ryker and Shannon, two best friends who..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."