The Colossus Rises (Seven Wonders #1)

FeaturedHot
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
4561 0
The Colossus Rises (Seven Wonders #1)
Publisher
Age Range
9+
Release Date
February 05, 2013
ISBN
978-0062070401
Buy This Book
      
One Boy

Jack McKinley is an ordinary kid with an extraordinary problem. In a few months, he's going to die.

One Mission

Jack needs to find seven magic loculi that, when combined, have the power to cure him.

One Problem

The loculi are the relics of a lost civilization and haven't been seen in thousands of years.

Seven Wonders

Because they're hidden in the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.

The thrills begin in "The Colossus Rises," the first installment in the epic seven-book adventure series "Seven Wonders," from bestselling "39 Clues" series author Peter Lerangis.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Meets All My Middle Grade Adventure Needs
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Being the huge Rick Riordan fan that I am, I always feel this huge hole in my heart when I have to wait months for his next release. I have totally found the answer to my woes in Peter Lerangis and his new “Seven Wonders” series. The first book, “The Colossus Rises,” had me reveling in kids with mysterious pasts and extraordinary powers realness!

“The Colossus Rises” follows four 13 year-old kids, Jack, Aly, Cass, and Marco, who are unknowingly the descendants of the royals of Atlantis. While this is just plain cool enough in itself, the royal bloodline also imbues these children with awesome abilities. Unfortunately, something about the genetic code that causes these abilities to manifest when they turn 13 also makes them die an early death. Early as in just a year or two later. Now Jack and friends are trying to use their abilities to track down the source of their powers (which has been separated and hidden in the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World), to hopefully find a way to stop their early deaths and potentially restore the lost city of Atlantis.

What really makes the characters in “The Colossus Rises” stand out is that their powers aren’t magical or god-given. Jack, Aly, Cass, and Marco all have extraordinarily heightened brain power. Cass can memorize anything instantly, Aly is able to hack into the world’s most protected computers, Marco has the willpower to overcome any fear (and the brawn to help him knock out any foes), and Jack’s power is still waiting in the wings to really manifest, but you know it’s gonna be good. I love that these powers aren’t your run of the mill powers. Nobody breathes fire, or shoots lasers from their fingertips, or shape-shifts into massive beasts. These guys can be beaten by sheer force, but they’re typically able to outsmart enemies with their wit. Their quick-on-their-feet thinking makes their victories that much more surprising because they don’t have one super physical ability they always fall back on.

Lerangis has his own mental superpower in that he knows how to pace a book. This bad boy has tons of action, and every scene logically moves into the next. There is no lull in the action boring you until the next suspense-filled moment. Plus, there’s always a little bit of humor thrown in that action as well, giving us a good laugh when the tension is thick.

I’ve got to tell you, I’m so glad Lerangis picked the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World to be a major aspect of the series because that means we’re gonna get seven whole books. I no longer have to wonder where all of my Middle Grade adventure needs will be met!
Good Points
Fast-paced and funny Middle Grade adventure series.
Cool abilities that focus on mind power.
Six more books to come!
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Review: The Colossus Rises by Peter Lerangis
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Wow.

That's pretty much how I was left feeling after this book. To say that it ends on a cliffhanger is a gross understatement. Luckily, it's one that has me jonesing for the next book in the series. Fall 2013 can't come soon enough!

I had a completely different experience with this book. I chose it as a classroom read aloud for my fourth graders. The trick to picking a good read aloud is to get one that's the start of a series and one that will capture the students and make them demand more. A good read aloud can spark a love of reading in reluctant readers and get your casual readers to jump into more books.

This one was PERFECT.

It was really fantastic to read The Colossus Rises out loud and see the reactions of my students. To say that they enjoyed it would also be a gross understatement. They really love being read to, but with this one, they were begging me to keep going. I think they'd have gone for an all-day read aloud if we'd been able to swing it. They laughed, they cried (for real!), they shouted, they jumped out of their chairs...perfect reactions to this book, in my opinion!

For me, I loved how Peter Lerangis pulled a genius move on us with the way he ended his chapters. Brilliant. It definitely keeps you coming back for more. They were absolutely perfect for ending as read alouds too, because my students were irate that we stopped! They just HAD to know more! A book that captures the interest of ten year olds like that is pretty darn awesome.

I loved the story, and I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that he incorporated the ancient wonders. See, I'm a huge geek, and the ancient wonders are all over my geekish radar. I love learning more about them, and I've actually toyed with the idea of writing a series myself. Well, now I don't need to, because this book is the start of a fantastic series. I know I couldn't do the wonders any more justice.

It's fast-paced, very appropriate for tweens, fun, and with characters that you'll come to love. I'm definitely ordering the next book in the series, and I may just read this one aloud again. My students will definitely thank me for it.

4 Eiffel Towers
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Claire is a rich Chinese girl living the high life in Shanghai with both her parents even..."
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
"SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is an engaging YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and community with a dash of..."
On the Way to Birdland
 
5.0
"Reviewed By Vincent Dublado for Readers’ Favorite A touching coming of age novel by Frank Morelli, On..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."