The Land of Neverbelieve

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2475 0
The Land of Neverbelieve
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 09, 2012
ISBN
978-0763660215
Buy This Book
      
Explore the Land of Neverbelieve in these lush, vibrantly illustrated pages. Meet the island’s gentle, doll-like inhabitants. Discover its boggling collection of trees, such as the pasta tree, the rope tree, and the chocolate tree (taste the peppermint center if you have a chance). Be certain to visit Book Mountain, which whispers stories at bedtime. Observe the volcanic turtle and screaming night moth from afar. And beware the Spooky Dark Mountains, a horribly horrible area full of never-ending nastiness. Above all, don’t go swimming or sailing, lest the island get up and walk away. Investigating the Land of Neverbelieve is a fantastical adventure for imaginative young readers.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Not Your Average Storybook, to Say the Least
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Now this, my friends—this is not a book for those lacking imagination. I am sure no one reading this review lacks in that department, however, so let me go a little deeper. This is a book filled with wonders! It doesn’t have much of a story for reading to your children, but serves rather as a field guide to a magical land with fanciful creatures and landscapes that live beyond the imagination. Each drawing has a short explanation alongside it, detailing the explorer’s observations about that particular aspect of the land of Neverbelieve. I know that as a young reader I would have enjoyed this type of book, taking my time reading about each picture and anecdote and possibly being inspired to create some of my own imaginary creatures and places. And that’s the beauty of this book—it has very imaginative and unique creations within it, but also serves as inspiration for the reader himself. When you read about all of the mysterious and strange, scary and luscious and gorgeous things that make Neverbelieve what it is, you may begin to contemplate that perhaps the worlds in your dreams, be they during the day or night, could be real and even documented.
The Land of Neverbelieve has some ‘scary’ illustrations (my 4-year-old said, “We need to call the author and tell him not to draw mean mountains!” She's probably too young for this!) so be wary of your child’s age and personal fears/temperament, although this book is mostly filled with lovely and beautiful drawings of the things the author saw in the land of Neverbelieve. As he reiterates time and again, you would ‘never believe it!’
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."