Cyber Bully (Journal of a Schoolyard Bully #2)

Featured
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
2653 0
Cyber Bully (Journal of a Schoolyard Bully #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 04, 2012
ISBN
978-0312606589
Buy This Book
      
In the tradition of the mega successful DIARY OF A WIMPY KID and DORK DIARIES, JOURNAL OF A SCHOOLYARD BULLY: CYBERBULLY by Farley Katz chronicles the life of Niko Kayler, habitual trouble-maker. For the second time in the series, Niko Kayler makes a triumphant return from bully rehab and must once again put the nerds in their places--but what happens when the tables are turned?

After his mom transfers jobs and towns, Niko Kayler, notorious calculating bully, gets a second chance to be good, or be evil. Though he tries to contain himself, Niko stumbles onto the world of cyber bullying, harnessing the power of cell phones, facebook, and some technology he invents to covertly torture his fellow classmates. Things seem to be going well for Niko until the technology is turned against him and Niko learns what it's like to be on the wrong side of the cyber bullying.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Won't Stay on the Shelves
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Infamous bully Niko Kaylor is back and the new student at a hippie school where the only rule is "no bullying". Rather than giving up his ways, he decides to go undercover and cyberbully his classmates.

I was really excited to get my hands on this book, as my students are greedy for anything that is written as a humorous confession: Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Dork Diaries, etc. And even though I didn't really enjoy Journal of a Schoolyard Bully, it doesn't matter because they will be clamoring to read it. Unfortunately, this felt like a cheap imitation of those other books; it wasn't as funny and the undertones were a lot darker. Niko's relationship with his father is especially sensitive, and goes a long way to explaining his pathos.

Still, my opinion doesn't matter because Journal of a Schoolyard Bully will never see shelf time. I won't be pressing it into the hands of my students, but they will find it anyway and probably love it.

Good Points
Kids love anything written in this format
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."