Cecil the Pet Glacier

Featured
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
1636 0
Cecil the Pet Glacier
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
August 14, 2012
ISBN
0375867732
Buy This Book
      
Award-winning poet Matthea Harvey and illustrator extraordinaire Giselle Potter team up to create an indescribably unique picture book about wanting to be normal, then coming to appreciate being different. Ruby would love to be like everyone else—not easy when you have a tiara-wearing mother and a father who spends his time trimming outrageous topiary. She'd also like to get a nice normal pet, maybe a dog. Then, on a family vacation to Norway, she finds herself adopted by a small, affectionate glacier. How Cecil, as the ice pet is named, proves himself to Ruby—risking his own meltdown—is a story sure to thrill and delight young readers.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Clever, Peculiar Story About Not Fitting In
(Updated: October 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Ruby Small just wants to be a normal kid, but how can she be normal when she has such strange parents? Her mom wears tiaras in public, her dad trimmed his beard into the shape of an alligator, and every night they tango cheek to cheek in front of their yellow-and-pink-striped house for the whole town to see.

All of this, of course, mortifies Plain Jane Ruby. She mopes and mumbles and wonders how on earth she could be related to such people. Then, when she suggests getting a normal pet, like a dog, and her parents bring home a pet glacier instead, it's the last straw for Ruby.

In the end, the tiny pet glacier proves himself a worthy pet, and Ruby learns that everyone has worth, even if they're far from normal. This is a great lesson for kids, especially those going to school for the first time and meeting new and different children, possibly from different cultures. And it's a great lesson in loving our family members no matter how strange or embarrassing they are. We're all weird in our own ways. We should embrace our weirdness and fly our freak flags proudly.

Readers will need an appreciation for the peculiar to truly enjoy this book. In other words, you have to be more like Ruby's hipster-like parents than Ruby herself. While Potter's illustrations are unique and striking, Harvey's storytelling skews toward the unusual. Only someone with a fascinating and odd imagination could create what is Cecil the Pet Glacier. Fans of Roald Dahl or J. M. Barrie will love the quirk factor here.

Highly recommended for readers who think outside the box.

And hipsters. Hipster parents will really dig this book.
Good Points
- striking illustrations
- high quirk factor
- great lessons
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Red at The Bone
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Moving forward and backward in time, Jacqueline Woodson's taut and...
Bid My Soul Farewell (Give the Dark My Love, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lunar Island is trying to heal. The necromantic plague that...
There Will Come a Darkness
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Age of Darkness approaches. Five lives stand...
Frankly in Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
wo friends. One fake dating scheme. What could possibly go...
Serpent & Dove
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and...
American Royals
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if America had a royal family? If you can't...
Capturing the Devil (Stalking Jack the Ripper, Book#4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the shocking finale to the bestselling series that began...
Five Dark Fates (Three Dark Crowns Book, #4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the final book in the #1 New York Times...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt, the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Whenever another kid goes missing in October, the kids in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A crucial, genre-bending tale, equal parts Ned Vizzini and Patrick...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming and poignant story that explores the bonds of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
Crown of Dragons
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The normal world is an illusion. Separated from other realms...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"Alma knows that if good girls were girls with no questions, she wasn't a good girl. She has SO MANY..."
 
5.0
"Tristan Strong isn't doing too well. He lost his best friend, Eddie, in a bus accident, lost a boxing match,..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
"Hazel lives on a farm with her two mothers and her older brother Rowan. They have a heard of goats..."
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
"Albiorix is a young Medieval wizard from the mystical realm of Bríandalör who is Hall Master for the role playing..."
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
3.0
"THE OWLS HAVE COME TO TAKE US AWAY is a middle grade sci-fi/horror (though not too scary) that follows a..."
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"Celebrate Halloween with the Pikmi Pops in this cute story about friendship. Wubbs the Bat and Vampy the Bat are..."
Apocalypse Taco
 
4.0
"APOCALYPSE TACO is a horror graphic novel that follows two middle school aged boys, Axl and Ivan. Axl and Ivan..."
Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
"Kitty wants to be a superhero like her mom, but she's afraid to go out in the dark. Her mom..."
Little Penguin's New Friend
 
4.0
"'Little Penguin's New Friend' by Tadgh Bentley is a cute story about the making of a friendship despite misconceptions about..."
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
4.0
"NAKED MOLE RAT SAVES THE WORLD tells the story of kit, whose name is lowercase because she was too small..."
The 12th Candle
 
4.0
"Sage lives out west in the town of Goldview, and her family is cursed. Years ago, her mother and her..."
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
Small World
 
5.0
"SMALL WORLD is a gorgeous celebration of growing up and following your dreams. When Nanda was born, her world was..."
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
"ON THE FIRST DAY OF SUMMER VACATION uses the tune of The 12 Days of Christmas to present the fun..."
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
"Budding scientists, rejoice! The Questioneers is the perfect series to show you the how and to have some extra scientific..."
Bad Bella
 
4.0
"Bella lives with the McBrides, who have several small children and often forget Bella's needs. She gets in trouble for..."
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
"In this short, middle grade graphic novel, DC superheroes from the Justice League answer e mails from young fans. Superman..."
Shake It Off! (Wish #8)
 
4.0
"Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided..."