Cecil the Pet Glacier

Featured
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
1699 0
Cecil the Pet Glacier
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
August 14, 2012
ISBN
0375867732
Buy This Book
      
Award-winning poet Matthea Harvey and illustrator extraordinaire Giselle Potter team up to create an indescribably unique picture book about wanting to be normal, then coming to appreciate being different. Ruby would love to be like everyone else—not easy when you have a tiara-wearing mother and a father who spends his time trimming outrageous topiary. She'd also like to get a nice normal pet, maybe a dog. Then, on a family vacation to Norway, she finds herself adopted by a small, affectionate glacier. How Cecil, as the ice pet is named, proves himself to Ruby—risking his own meltdown—is a story sure to thrill and delight young readers.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Clever, Peculiar Story About Not Fitting In
(Updated: October 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Ruby Small just wants to be a normal kid, but how can she be normal when she has such strange parents? Her mom wears tiaras in public, her dad trimmed his beard into the shape of an alligator, and every night they tango cheek to cheek in front of their yellow-and-pink-striped house for the whole town to see.

All of this, of course, mortifies Plain Jane Ruby. She mopes and mumbles and wonders how on earth she could be related to such people. Then, when she suggests getting a normal pet, like a dog, and her parents bring home a pet glacier instead, it's the last straw for Ruby.

In the end, the tiny pet glacier proves himself a worthy pet, and Ruby learns that everyone has worth, even if they're far from normal. This is a great lesson for kids, especially those going to school for the first time and meeting new and different children, possibly from different cultures. And it's a great lesson in loving our family members no matter how strange or embarrassing they are. We're all weird in our own ways. We should embrace our weirdness and fly our freak flags proudly.

Readers will need an appreciation for the peculiar to truly enjoy this book. In other words, you have to be more like Ruby's hipster-like parents than Ruby herself. While Potter's illustrations are unique and striking, Harvey's storytelling skews toward the unusual. Only someone with a fascinating and odd imagination could create what is Cecil the Pet Glacier. Fans of Roald Dahl or J. M. Barrie will love the quirk factor here.

Highly recommended for readers who think outside the box.

And hipsters. Hipster parents will really dig this book.
Good Points
- striking illustrations
- high quirk factor
- great lessons
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life happens, whether you’re ready or not. All you can...
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author Sue Macy offers a fresh and timely account...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
OUTLANDER meets Robin Hood. Traveling through time...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s alone He’s tattooed He’s badly burnt ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed dragon hunter A half-blood mage...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
If genetic engineering could guarantee you and your family perfect...
Slayer (Slayer, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Into every generation a Slayer is born… ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Starting a new school is never easy and this time...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Prince. One Witch. One Fate. ...
Dealing in Dreams
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Outsiders meets Mad Max: Fury Road in this fast-paced...
Girls With Sharp Sticks (Girls With Sharp Sticks, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Some of the prettiest flowers have the sharpest thorns. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Young Trib follows orders and fights. The Puritanics are...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can one mortal take on all of Faerieland? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Four tests. Seven days. Nine teens. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
"I have never read the original Artemis Fowl books but now I absolutely intend to. The Fowl Twins is highly..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: Beat the Clock
 
5.0
"Brilliant. This was the perfect book to read with my five year old niece. It's every bit as..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: The Cat's Meow
 
5.0
"Cute and Fun There's no end to the adorableness of Amelia Bedelia and this book is no different. Amelia..."
The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
"THE MONSTER HYPOTHESIS is a really fun middle grade investigative mystery. Kick is living with her grandmother, a fake psychic..."
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
"Ren and Kip aren't sure what to expect when they visit their Aunt for Halloween. She works at an Old..."
Stuffed
 
4.0
"STUFFED follows Clark and Foon. Clark is a boy who loves stuffed animals and feels that they keep him safe...."
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF THE WORD is another absolutely delightful interactive story, where you are the main character in the book...."
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
"RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
4.0
"Jack and Annie get an invitation from "M" to spend Christmas in Camelot, which excites them since they haven't heard..."
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
4.0
"Marty Fontana and his mother move to a new town for her job, and have a house that belonged to..."
The Big Game
 
4.0
"Danny lives in Texas with his mother and former Pittsburgh Steelers player father, who now sells farm machinery. The father..."
Pippa Park Raises Her Game
 
4.0
"Pippa loves to play basketball and struggles a tiny bit in school. She lives with her much older sister, Mina,..."
Superman of Smallville
 
4.0
"Clark Kent is trying to be an ordinary thirteen-year-old boy but he has a very extraordinary pastime. He loves saving..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
5.0
"Jack and Annie are so excited when they receive a Royal Invitation to attend Christmas in Camelot! However, they only..."