The Last Guardian (Artemis Fowl #8)

 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
1218 0
The Last Guardian (Artemis Fowl #8)
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
July 10, 2012
ISBN
9781423161615
Buy This Book
      
Seemingly nothing in this world daunts the young criminal mastermind Artemis Fowl. In the fairy world, however, there is a small thing that has gotten under his skin on more than one occasion: Opal Koboi. In "The Last Guardian," the evil pixie is wreaking havoc yet again. This time his arch rival has reanimated dead fairy warriors who were buried in the grounds of Fowl Manor. Their spirits have possessed Artemis's little brothers, making his siblings even more annoying than usual. The warriors don't seem to realize that the battle they were fighting when they died is long over. Artemis has until sunrise to get the spirits to vacate his brothers and go back into the earth where they belong. Can he count on a certain LEPrecon fairy to join him in what could well be his last stand?

New York Times best-selling author and comic genius Eoin Colfer will leave Artemis Fowl fans gasping up to the very end of this thrilling finale to the blockbuster series.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Artemis Fowl: The Last Guardian Review
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Yet another adventure presented to readers by Eoin Colfer is the final sequal to the Artemis Fowl series. At the beginning Artemis is completely over his Atlantis Complex (of which is the previous novel) and is primed to begin his next adventure. It seems as though we are almost thrown into the new story, sort of an “out with the old in with the new” feel because in the first chapter we discover he is over his fear of the number four, learn about a new theory that suggests why all Fowls have a tendency to research the paranormal, that Opal is back with a vengeance and is crazy as ever, and another theory about time travel and the problem with Opal’s influence on the world. Essentially an Armageddon is suggested, a sort of world where everything that Opal has had any small part in, will become deadly to both the People and humans. “Chaos reigned, and the survivalists eagerly unwrapped the kidskin from their crossbows. Phase one of Opals plan was complete.” (Eoin Colfer, The Last Guardian)
Readers have been greatly disappointed with the Artemis series and where it was heading with the last book The Atlantis Complex wherein our hero Artemis Fowl is diagnosed with a magical mental illness and has to overcome the problems it creates. For example, he has an irrational fear of the number four, delusions, and is paranoid about everything. But this entire book was almost completely blotted out in the first chapter of The Last Guardian. We soon find that he is 100% over it in record time, and jumps straight into an old and easily recognizable Artemis that we all came to love in the first three books of the series. It was like Colfer wanted to forget the last book as much as his readers did, and it is barely referenced at all after the first chapter. Suddenly, Holly, Artemis and Butler are called to Foaly for some very pressing news regarding Opal. They come to the LEPrecon conference room where on the giant screen in the front there is an image of young Opal being held hostage by two unknown dwarves, with human guns being held to her head. They want the present day Opal to be set free in exchange for the life of the young Opal. At first this exchange makes no sense, who wouldn’t want the world class criminal to be executed? She had committed so many atrocities it seemed ideal for her to just be dead and gone. We learn that there is a theory amongst the People that if one was to kill another in the past, the now deceased would cause explosions of anything they had influenced in their life time. This all happens in the blink of the eye as an opening for the book.
Eoin Colfer, the author of the well known Artemis Fowl series and The Supernaturalist, was born May 14, 1965, and raised in Wexford, Ireland. In 2001, he published the first of the Artemis Fowl series, and became world known. There were even commercials for it! In January 2008, Colfer published a book titles Airman. The majority of Colfer’s books, including Artemis Fowl and Airman, have all gotten the New York Times best-seller list at least once.The Guardian website has an article written by Nick Virk states “I was hesitant that, being older, the series wouldn’t have the same magical grasp on me. But I realized I had nothing to worry about.” As a devout Artemis Fowl reader, I would recommend this book to any and all ages. Children fall in love with the first three books, while older audiences stick around for the more complicated story plots and humor. “I never understand. That’s why we pay you and your dork posse.’ Foaly objected again, ‘They are not dorks!’ Trouble found space for yet another holster, ‘Really? That guy that brings a Beanie Baby to work every day. And your nephew, Mayne, speaks fluent Unicorn.’ ‘They’re not all dorks,’ said Foaly, correcting himself.” (Eoin Colfer, The Last Guardian) As the character develops so does the story and information you learn as the reader, for many scientific theories are used and explained rather well (regardless of the Atlantis Complex, which was almost like a place holder for later, better ideas). According to Colfer, this is the last book in the series (which was originally intended to be a trilogy) and hopefully the ending is as good as we, as readers, want it to be. “Nobody’s death is impending. –Well technically everyone’s death is impending.” (Eoin Colfer, The Last Guardian) There have been both hatred for the ending and love for the ending, this exactly dictates what is a good conclusion to the story of Holly, Artemis, Butler, Foaly, Mulch, and many more loved characters.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… ...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The...
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Being a part of the resistance group La Voz...
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
12-year-old Julia keeps a diary about her life growing...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more...
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Violet Choudhury may be part of the popular clique...
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this electrifying YA sequel to Beware the Night,...

Latest Member Reviews

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
"Now that Mena and the other girls have escaped Innovations Academy, they find their past hasn't left them. Mena vows..."
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
"THE LUCKY ONES is quite an emotional ride. The book follows May and Zach in alternating first person points-of-view. May..."
 
4.0
"GIRL, SERPENT, THORN is a YA fairytale retelling by Melissa Bashardoust. The story follows Soraya, a princess who is cursed..."
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
"MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT is a book that reminds readers of all the possibilities and freedom of summer vacation. We..."
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
"SWORD IN THE STARS is a satisfying conclusion to a delightful YA fantasy retelling of King Arthur in space! Picking..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
4.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION by Kiersten White is the first book in a YA retelling of the classic Arthurian legend. Guinevere,..."
Crave
 
4.3
"CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents..."
Golden Arm
 
5.0
"Lazarus Weathers lives in the Jet City trailer park in Seattle with his mother and half brother, Antonio. He has..."
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
"EMBER QUEEN is a great conclusion to the Ash Princess trilogy. Picking up right where book 2 left off, Theo..."
Kissing Lessons
 
5.0
"'Kissing Lessons' by Sophie Jordan is a well-written, entertaining story about a variety of main characters, including Hayden Vargas, Nolan..."
Lady Smoke (Ash Princess, #2)
 
5.0
"LADY SMOKE is every bit as addictive as the first in this engrossing trilogy. Picking up where the first book..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
4.0
"The Queen's Assassin is a fantasy romance geared toward the younger YA reader. It is told from the first person..."
Ash Princess (Ash Princess, #1)
 
5.0
"ASH PRINCESS is an engaging YA fantasy that takes us to the conquered land of Astrea. Theodosia's mother, the Fire..."
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
"At age twelve, Julia starts writing in a diary. She writes about what she witnesses in her town of Juarez,..."
Sting
 
3.3
"STING is an intriguing YA dystopian retelling of THE COUNT OF MONTE CHRISTO. The world has been ravaged by climate..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.0
"The Paper Girl of Paris is written by journalist Jordyn Taylor and is set in both historical 1940’s and nowadays..."
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
5.0
"THE MIDNIGHT LIE is a lush and atmospheric YA fantasy. The book transports us to another world, where people are..."
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
"DEFY THE SUN is a fantastic conclusion to this YA fantasy duology. This book picks up right where the first..."
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
"Carmen Santos cover as a La Voz soldier has been exposed. She flees back to the La Voz's headquarters, leaving..."
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
"Blackbrook Academy is an elite school in Maine with rigorous competition. When a storm strikes, a group of students, their..."