Flyte (Septimus Heap - Book 2)

 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
1131 0
Flyte (Septimus Heap - Book 2)
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
March 27, 2007
ISBN
0060577363
Buy This Book
      
It's been a year since septimus heap discovered his real family and true calling to be a wizard. As Apprentice to Extra Ordinary Wizard Marcia Overstrand, he is learning the fine arts of Conjurations, Charms, and other Magyk, while Jenna is adapting to life as the Princess and enjoying the freedom of the Castle.

But there is something sinister at work. Marcia is constantly trailed by a menacing Darke Shadow, and Septimus's brother Simon seems bent on a revenge no one understands. Why is the Darke Magyk still lingering?

Bringing fantasy to new heights, Angie Sage continues the journey of Septimus Heap with her trademark humor and all of the clever details readers have come to love.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN!
(Updated: April 11, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
The Characters were extremely well developed. I knew which characters I was supposed to hate, and which ones I was supposed to LOVE. The Setting was pretty cool, it kept me going because I love fantasy. The best part is one of the main character’s luck.
Septimus Heap is the apprentice of the ExtraOrdinary Wizard. He is the seventh son of the seventh son(which is magic), and the youngest of the Heaps. He was taken when he was born, pronounced dead, and is still now getting used to a family.
Jenna Heap is the princess. In a kingdom where the throne is passed to the daughter of the family instead of the son, she is only a little older than Septimus. She is the only one of the family that didn't use magic.
Simon Heap is the apprentice of the dark wizard DomDaniel. Simon always wanted to be the Apprentice to the ExtraOrdinary Wizard. He was furious when their aunt- a white witch- told them that Septimus had lived, and even more when he learned that Marcia had asked him to be her apprentice. He went to the shipwreck and found DomDaniel’s skeleton(DomDaniel is the dark wizard) he helped DomDaniel, and was given an apprenticeship in return.
The setting is in the medieval times. It was a time where good witches, bad witches, queens, ordinary wizards, and Extraordinary wizards made there home. The castle is surrounded by a high wall, which in turn is surrounded by a moat. The marsh lies outside the moat with waterways running through it, and evil creatures fill the area. The port is like a city. Crowded, noisy, and full of people. There are more buildings, and warehouses, and boats then anyone wants to count.
This book [series] is full of humor, but I think that the funniest, and perhaps most ironic part is Septimus Heap’s luck. He was taken from his home as soon as he was born, and brought to the Young Army. He was forced to go through do-or-die exercises where many boys, including his only friend die(or so he thinks). He was supposed to be on guard duty when Marcia and Jenna find him buried in snow. Close to death. When he wakes he finds himself in the worst position in the Young Army scenarios- he was with wizards, the queenling, and couldn’t do anything about it. For awhile he thinks himself captive, then his luck changes. He finds companionship with Jenna, and a magic ring that only glows for him. The ExtraOrdinary Wizard asks him to be her apprentice. He finds out that the ring means he’s the new dragon boat master. The rock Jenna gave him hatches into a dragon, and most importantly. He gets his family back.
Simon steals Jenna for his master DomDaniel. Septimus and Nicko, one of his brothers are the only ones that think Simon wasn’t just taking her for a ride. They must venture to the mash to find the best tracker they know to find her ‘Wolf Boy.’ Is Wolf Boy someone else. From Septimus’s past? The witch mother who wished to see them is the one who tells that Jenna is in the port. They have to find her. Jenna the resourceful little princess manages to get herself out of Simon’s cave, out of the badlands, and back to the port where she meets back up with Septimus and Nicko. Will they get away from Simon, and when did he learn to fly?! Will Jenna get to the Dragon boat for MidSummers day? What will happen to the boat when it is hurt? And is someone from Jenna’s past lurking around the corner?
Good Points
good characters, cool setting, funny, mysterious, fast read,
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."