Double Team (STAT: Standing Tall and Talented #2)

FeaturedHot
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
5658 0
Double Team (STAT: Standing Tall and Talented #2)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 01, 2012
ISBN
978-0-545-38760-6
Buy This Book
      
STAT: Standing Tall and Talented-- A slam-dunk new fiction series from NBA superstar Amar'e Stoudemire!

Eleven-year-old Amar'e Stoudemire has finally realized that out of all his hobbies, basketball is his true passion. Amar'e starts competing in tournaments with his two best friends, Deuce and Mike, and they are winning. While they play great together as a team, the real reason for their success is Amar'e's incredible abilities. He's carrying them. After a few big wins, Amar'e starts getting attention from some of the older, more elite players in Lake Wales. They all want him to join their squads. Amar'e wants to elevate his game and the only way to do that is to move on but his friends feel like he's leaving them behind. Without Amar'e they're barely contenders plus he never seems to have time for them anymore.

Based on the life of All-Star NBA sensation, Amar'e Stoudemire, who overcame many obstacles to become one of the most popular figures in sports today.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Serious basketball.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Amar'e likes hanging out with his friends, playing basketball and having fun, but he is seriously about his game and looks forward to competing in tournaments in his Florida community. When he does very well in one tournament, he meets local basketball legend Overtime Tanner, who invites Amar'e to compete in his invitational tournament. The problem? His friends are not invited, although Jammer, a player he has admired, is and would like A'mare on his team. Amar'e's busy but supportive parents think that he should play in the tournament, but he has already committed to being in a tournament at the same time with his friends. Will he be able to make them understand that he might be ready to move beyond them?
Good Points
This was a short book, reminiscent of Matt Christopher or Rich Wallace. Lots of basketball, a slight plot, and easy-to-read chapters will make this hugely popular. This reminded me strongly of Ronde and Tiki Barber's football series. The author is a professional basketball player, and since the main character shares his name, perhaps this series is similarly autobiographical.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...

Latest Member Reviews

Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
What's Inside a Flower?
 
4.7
"WHAT'S INSIDE A FLOWER? is a gorgeously illustrated non-fiction picture book read about flowers. The book covers the basics from..."
Raven Squawk, Orca Squeak
 
4.7
"RAVEN SQUAWK, ORCA SQUEAK is a gorgeously illustrated board book that explores a bit of nature through texture, sounds, and..."
Speak Up
 
5.0
"A wonderful story to teach kids a powerful lesson. They can make a difference. Their voice matters. "Speak..."
Life in a Frozen World: Wildlife of Antarctica
 
5.0
"What a fascinating book. Life in a Frozen World delves into the world of Antartica where animals struggle against..."
William Still and His Freedom Stories
 
5.0
"We all know some of the bigger names of the Underground Railroad but there are so many amazing stories of..."
Ensnared in the Wolf's Lair: Inside the 1944 Plot to Kill Hitler and the Ghost Children of His Revenge
 
5.0
"Hitler's rise to power and his stranglehold on the German people is something that has been all too much in..."
The Dog Patrol: Our Canine Companions and the Kids Who Protect Them
 
5.0
"This short, well photo-illustrated book packs a lot of information into its pages! It covers the major topics of dog..."
My First 100 Space Words
 
3.3
"MY FIRST 100 SPACE WORDS is a cute, illustrated collection of space-related words, including planet names, satellites, space junk, and..."
The ABCs of Black History
 
5.0
"THE ABCS OF BLACK HISTORY is a fantastic picture book of a poetic walk through the alphabet related to Black..."
Incredible Animals
 
5.0
"INCREDIBLE ANIMALS is a fascinating collection of animals by special skills, including clever camouflage, devoted parents (such as penguins), and..."
Eyelike Stickers: Trains
 
5.0
"EYELIKE STICKERS: TRAINS is an unbelievably cool collection of stickers. These 400 stickers include many photographs of trains, as well..."
Amazing Places
 
4.7
"AMAZING PLACES is a delightful exploration of 15 manmade wonders, including the Taj Mahal, pyramids, and Moai (Easter Island). The..."
About Seabirds: A Guide for Children
 
5.0
"'About Seabirds: A Guide for Children' by Cathryn Sill, illustrated by John Sill, lends credibility to the power of nature..."
The Cat in the Box
 
3.3
"THE CAT IN THE BOX attempts to explain Schrodinger's work regarding quantum paradox. While the original thought experiment explained this,..."
5-Minute Really True Stories for Bedtime: 30 Amazing Stories: Featuring frozen frogs, King Tut’s beds, the world's biggest sleepover, the phases of the moon, and more
 
5.0
"5 MINUTE REALLY TRUE STORIES FOR BEDTIME is a very cool collection of bedtime themed stories. It spans topics from..."
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
"Earth-Shattering Events by Robin Jacobs is a wonderfully thought-out book that details different natural disasters: what they are, how we..."
Gut Garden: A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome
 
4.7
"Gut Garden by Katie Brosnan is a well-thought out journey through our digestive system, introducing kids to the bacteria and..."
ICK! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses
 
5.0
"National Geographic Kids is always sure to be a winner at my house. Their newest release has been deemed the..."
Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct: Real Facts About Real Dinosaurs
 
4.3
"Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct by Drew Sheneman is a short, illustrated nonfiction book introducing children to one of the more..."