The Classroom: The Epic Documentary of a Not-Yet-Epic Kid

FeaturedHot
 
3.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
3574 0
The Classroom: The Epic Documentary of a Not-Yet-Epic Kid
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
10+
Release Date
June 19, 2012
ISBN
978-1-42315-063-3
Buy This Book
      

As a documentary is filmed at their middle school, roles reverse for worrier Trevor and his lifelong best friend Libby, who has always rescued him from embarrassing situations but is now focused on being "cool" and no longer wants to be his "friend friend."

Editor reviews

2 reviews

A Great Read
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Oh my stars - this book is way too cute. It took me right back to middle school and everything that accompanies it. I loved the fun characters that Robin Mellom has written, since they just make the story.

I love the unique format - there is normal prose, but interspersed among it, there are drawings and doodles from Trevor's notebook, and occasionally there are drawings from others like Molly. Additionally, there are little asides with all the different characters like you would have on a reality TV show - like the little snippets where they share what they were thinking. I loved that format!

Stephen Gilpin's drawings are awesome - they were a joy to see and they really enhanced the book.

I loved the tips from Marty - first off, what a fun guy. Too many of them were an epic fail, but it is the thought that counts. The whole cast of characters really is great - I love what each character brings to the table. Trevor is an oddball by most, yet he is so genuine, and for him starting in middle school, that is what really works for him.

I love the message Robin Mellom sends through the book as well. There is such a large assortment of characters, and they really all excel in different ways. There wasn't the stereotypical "perfect" person or anything that succeeds - everyone of all sorts does.

I totally recommend The Classroom for anyone looking for a good middle grade read. Between the great storyline and the AWESOME drawings, it will sure to be a hit for you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Middle School Is Hard
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Since Tyler worried about everything in elementary school obsessively, it's not a surprise that he is stressing about starting 7th grade. Matters are made worse when his friend Libby reinforces his belief that 8th graders are evil and out to get him, and encourages him to ask a girl to the upcoming fall dance. Told in a documentary style, this gives brief "interviews" with a variety of stock middle school character; the hulking 8th grader, the good looking popular boy, the girl obsessed with lip gloss, and a mysterious girl named Molly whom Trevor finds intriguing. Also present are a janitor who is zealous about his purview, a principal who is arbitrary and dithering, and various boring and quirky teachers.

Good Points
Boys will like this because it is a "notebook novel" with copious illustrations. It is fairly amusing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 3

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The People We Choose
 
3.3
"THE PEOPLE WE CHOOSE is an intriguing YA contemporary about how we define family. Calliope is nearly 18 years old,..."
Choices
 
5.0
"It's no secret that I adore Michelle's books, so it was fun reading one of her earlier books. ..."
Take Me Home Tonight
 
3.0
"TAKE ME HOME TONIGHT is an unexpected YA contemporary read, told from three perspectives. Kat, Stevie, and Teri are all..."
Jackaby
 
4.7
"This book was a pleasant surprise. Jackaby by William Ritter is the first in the series by the same name...."
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
"GUTTER GIRL is a unique YA contemporary romance that follows two main characters, Jace and McKenna. McKenna is an outcast..."
Go the Distance
 
4.0
"Go the Distance by Jen Calonita is the latest installment in Disney’s Twisted Tale series. This time the story focuses..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."