The Classroom: The Epic Documentary of a Not-Yet-Epic Kid

FeaturedHot
 
3.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
3385 0
The Classroom: The Epic Documentary of a Not-Yet-Epic Kid
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
10+
Release Date
June 19, 2012
ISBN
978-1-42315-063-3
Buy This Book
      

As a documentary is filmed at their middle school, roles reverse for worrier Trevor and his lifelong best friend Libby, who has always rescued him from embarrassing situations but is now focused on being "cool" and no longer wants to be his "friend friend."

Editor reviews

2 reviews

A Great Read
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Oh my stars - this book is way too cute. It took me right back to middle school and everything that accompanies it. I loved the fun characters that Robin Mellom has written, since they just make the story.

I love the unique format - there is normal prose, but interspersed among it, there are drawings and doodles from Trevor's notebook, and occasionally there are drawings from others like Molly. Additionally, there are little asides with all the different characters like you would have on a reality TV show - like the little snippets where they share what they were thinking. I loved that format!

Stephen Gilpin's drawings are awesome - they were a joy to see and they really enhanced the book.

I loved the tips from Marty - first off, what a fun guy. Too many of them were an epic fail, but it is the thought that counts. The whole cast of characters really is great - I love what each character brings to the table. Trevor is an oddball by most, yet he is so genuine, and for him starting in middle school, that is what really works for him.

I love the message Robin Mellom sends through the book as well. There is such a large assortment of characters, and they really all excel in different ways. There wasn't the stereotypical "perfect" person or anything that succeeds - everyone of all sorts does.

I totally recommend The Classroom for anyone looking for a good middle grade read. Between the great storyline and the AWESOME drawings, it will sure to be a hit for you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Middle School Is Hard
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Since Tyler worried about everything in elementary school obsessively, it's not a surprise that he is stressing about starting 7th grade. Matters are made worse when his friend Libby reinforces his belief that 8th graders are evil and out to get him, and encourages him to ask a girl to the upcoming fall dance. Told in a documentary style, this gives brief "interviews" with a variety of stock middle school character; the hulking 8th grader, the good looking popular boy, the girl obsessed with lip gloss, and a mysterious girl named Molly whom Trevor finds intriguing. Also present are a janitor who is zealous about his purview, a principal who is arbitrary and dithering, and various boring and quirky teachers.

Good Points
Boys will like this because it is a "notebook novel" with copious illustrations. It is fairly amusing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 3

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."