Crogan's Loyalty (Crogan's Adventures #3)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1672 0
Crogan's Loyalty (Crogan's Adventures #3)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 29, 2012
ISBN
978-1934964408
Buy This Book
      
The fan-favorite graphic novel series from Eisner-nominated cartoonist Chris Schweizer returns with an all new adventure! Charles and William Crogan are two brothers with very different perspectives on family, country, and loyalty. Now they find themselves on opposite sides of the brewing conflict between colonial separatists and those still determined to serve the British Crown. Will their brotherhood be washed away in the bloodshed of the War or will their own ties endure?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Teaching kids about the Revolutionary War? Throw away the textbook, and read Crogan's Loyalty.
(Updated: August 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
CROGAN’S LOYALTY, the latest volume in Chris Schweizer's ongoing series about the varied adventures of the Crogan clan ancestors, is as surprising and exciting a historical narrative as its predecessors. While the first story took us to sea in 1701 with Catfish Crogan (Crogan’s Vengance, 2008) and the second trapped us in the North African desert in 1912 with Peter Crogan, French legionnaire (Crogan’s March, 2010), this third book is set somewhat closer to home (at least for U.S. readers). It is 1778, the Revolutionary War is in full swing and two Crogan brothers (Charles and William) find themselves on opposite sides of the conflict, both believing themselves to be loyal patriots, fully in the right and justified in their choice to take up arms.

In that one simple stroke – the meeting of two brothers who otherwise feel no great hostility towards each other (beyond normal sibling tension) and who therefore are forced to view the “enemy” sympathetically – CROGAN’S LOYALTY manages to add more nuance and complexity to the whole question of American independence than a hundred textbooks. It cuts through piles of grade-school propaganda about the plucky Americans fighting the cruel British, and allows the two brothers to argue their reasons for which side they have chosen to support without judgment.

Nor does the story overlook the thousands of people – settlers and Native Americans – who did not wish to involve themselves in the conflict and for whom the outcome was to some extent irrelevant. One side plot, for example, involved the brothers visiting a local Native American tribe, peaceful in their interactions with the European settlers despite the steady encroachment upon their land. Both sides want them to enlist, but the chief insists they have no wish to fight for either side. This volume also includes a strong female character, Bess, whom Will loves and who is quite capable of rescuing herself when she is kidnapped by a disenchanted and homeless Native American.

The drawings are simple, pen-and-ink type cartoons, although that is not to say that they lack subtlety. Bess is charmingly un-pretty and the Hessian soldiers who form Charles’ unit are square and small-eyed. The brothers both have enormous round ears, and the shifts in perspective, particularly during fighting, are almost dizzyingly quick.

Although some of the more complex historical ideas might be lost on younger readers, they will still enjoy the adventure, while older readers will find much food for thought about familial relationships and complex politics surrounding the founding of our nation.
Good Points
Historically complex and provocative
Gripping adventure
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
Strayborn
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
Dark Saints Academy: The Soul Catcher
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...

Latest Member Reviews

Heart of Mist
 
5.0
"The story: Bleak is a drunken thief who is desperately trying to find a way to cure herself from..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.5
"Milla steals an armband and an identity which could put her to death if she is found out. She takes..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"The story: Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now..."
Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Kingdom Cold
 
4.8
"What I loved: First and foremost, the characters. Princess Charlotte's fierce, unyielding manner. The way her character is left..."
Scarred
 
4.8
"Emotionally, I mean. What I loved: As you can guess from the title,..."
The Path Divided
 
5.0
"I'm going to break out of my usual review mold here because this book was so many things. It..."
Girl at Heart
 
4.8
"What I loved: Just about everything. This was an adorable YA Contemporary Romance with a surprisingly well-rounded..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.3
"What I loved: The world building was perfectly illustrated without bogging down the story. Everything from the..."
Julie Winsome M.D., Medical Detective Science Fiction Mysteries, Volume # 1
 
4.7
"Always fun to follow along with Dr. Julie Winsome Medical Detective! Great stories and I love the writing style..."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Jesse and the Ice Princess by Michelle MacQueen is the first book in her new series Gulf City High, and..."
Me, Shakespeare and the Anti-Love Club
 
4.0
"After having her heartbroken by J.R., Kassidy swears off love. After her best friend has a nasty breakup too, Kass..."
Spark: The Firebrand Chronicles, Book One
 
4.3
"Brennan just wants to celebrate her birthday, but instead she is pulled into a fantastical world she never knew..."
Legacy Awakened
 
5.0
"Ava is the child of prophesy and all eyes are on her because she is the daughter of the Prime..."
Hushed
 
4.0
"Romy has just finished school and is torn because she isn't sure what she wants to do with her life...."
Golden Crown
 
4.3
"I have mixed feelings about this book. It follows the second book immediately and starts off with Etta struggling with..."
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
"Kali is the hope of saving the world from vampires and demons. She’s a vampire huntress who also happens to..."
Prophecy of Darkness (Legends of the Tri-Gard) (Volume 1)
 
5.0
"Yes, this book was amazing. Yes, this book was so engaging. Yes, I could not put this book down. ..."
Fire Falling
 
4.5
"I fell in love with Air Awakens. The chemistry between the characters and the plot development had a perfect blend...."
Girl at Heart
 
4.7
"I know better than to start a Kelly Oram book at bedtime. I know better, yet I do it with..."