Scary School

 
4.5
 
4.3 (2)
1523 0
Scary School
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
June 21, 2011
ISBN
0061960926
Buy This Book
      

You think your school's scary? Get a load of these teachers: Ms. Fang, an 850-year-old vampire Dr. Dragonbreath, who just might eat you before recess Mr. Snakeskin—science class is so much more fun when it's taught by someone who's half zombie Mrs. T—break the rules and spend your detention with a hungry Tyrannosaurus rex! Plus Gargoyles, goblins, and Frankenstein's monster on the loose The world's most frighteningly delicious school lunch And The narrator's an eleven-year-old ghost! Join Charles "New Kid" Nukid as he makes some very Scary friends—including Petunia, Johnny, and Peter the Wolf—and figures out that Scary School can be just as funny as it is spooky!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Ghoulish Fun
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
What I Loved:

A school populated by ghouls, vampires, ghosts, and other monstrous creatures where every class period is an adventure in how to stay alive? Sounds fun! And that's exactly what this book is: fun. The teachers are each a different monster and are larger-than-life caricatures of those monsters. The scary parts always turn out funny or can be quickly solved by another staff member. Nothing is at it seems, and there are new adventures waiting around every corner.

My middle grade son loved the book. We read it together, and he often laughed or commented on the story line. He was so engaged that he asked for the next book in the series so that he could read it on his own. With short chapters, interesting illustrations, and the constant scary/funny factor on every page, this is a great series to pull in those reluctant middle grade readers.

What Left Me Wanting More:

While the overall structure of the book suggests a cohesive plot line, the chapters themselves are each devoted to introducing a new teacher or staff member at the school, so the book feels episodic rather than like a complete story. That didn't deter my son's enjoyment, but it may detract from the enjoyment of readers who prefer more straightforward stories.

Final Verdict:

Scary, ghoulish fun on every page and an approachable narrator make for a book that is perfect for those just moving out of chapter books or younger readers of middle grade fiction.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.5  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
A fun filled adventure for the younger readers!
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Derek The Ghost tells his story of life at Scary School. Here the real test is staying alive. This year however Scary School gets to host the annual Ghoul Games and since the winner's get to eat the losers this will be one game Scary School can't afford to lose. Will the students be able to defeat their numerous monstrous opponents or will Scary School be closed forever?
Amazing book that I am sure elementary and middle aged kids will love and even some of us that are still children at heart. Fun and entertaining this book will have you laughing from the first chapter. The characters are very fun and unique and had me smiling at their humorous antics at every turn of the page. My favorite character has to be Penny Possum and Charles Nukid their little adventure together was very cute and of course filled with lots of chuckles.

Give your kids a great book that will keep them laughing and entertained for hours by getting "Scary School" by Derek The Ghost.
Good Points
Funny
Relatable Characters
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A great intro book for a new Middle Grade series!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
All middle grade readers will definitely love this new series! Such a fun and quirky book that starts with us meeting our narrator, Derek the Ghost.
We get to know a little about Derek and how/why he is a ghost...
and then he introduces us to what we will find and who we will meet at Scary School.

In my opinion, this book was more of an introduction to the series than actual story telling. Every chapter is dedicated to a different teacher or student, giving us their story and background - if it wasn't for the fact that Derek the Ghost reminds you of the underlying story that he's trying to tell you, it felt like I was reading a bunch of short stories. Because of this, it was a bit hard to get into at first, but with the help of the illustrations at the beginning of each chapter, it started to flow easily and was a lot of fun.

My 8yo son is now reading it - and he is enjoying it more than I thought he would! We have already talked about a few of the characters and side stories and have learned...
"Don't judge a monster by the way he/she looks, looks can be deceiving!"
"Always follow the rules! They're made for a reason!"

And here is some exciting news!
Derek the Ghost is hard at work and writing up a storm!
The next book will also be released as a hardcover on June 26th, 2012...
Scary School #2: Monsters on the March
There is no official blurbs/quotes for it yet. But I'm pretty confident that it is going to be a good, laugh-out-loud story for the kiddos :) Keep an eye out for it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maia Tamarin proved her skill as a tailor when...
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kateiko doesn’t want to be Rin anymore —...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."