The Throne of Fire (Kane Chronicles, Book 2)

 
4.0
 
4.5 (2)
1703 1
The Throne of Fire (Kane Chronicles, Book 2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
10+
Release Date
May 03, 2011
ISBN
978-0-141-33567-4
Buy This Book
      

Ever since the gods of Ancient Egypt were unleashed on the modern world, Carter Kane and his sister, Sadie, have been in big trouble. As descendants of the magical House of Life, they command certain powers. But now a terrifying enemy-Apophis, the giant snake of Chaos-is rising. If Carter and Sadie don't destroy him, the world will end in five days' time. And, in order to battle the forces of Chaos, they must revive the sun god Ra-a feat no magician has ever achieved. Because first they must search the world for the three sections of the Book of Ra, then they have to learn how to chant the spells... Can the Kanes destroy Apophis before he swallows the sun and plunges the Earth into darkness...forever?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Lovers of Egypt and Rick Riordan will be thrilled!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Rick Riordan’s second novel in The Kane Chronicles series is as action-packed as all his other books. The Throne of Fire follows the adventures of Sadie and Carter Kane, descendents of Egyptian pharaohs, as they race against time to prevent the chaos serpent Apophis from destroying the world. Just a typical day in the life of the Kane siblings.

The genius of Riordan’s writing is that he gets children excited about mythology, which leads them to discover new passions. After encountering dozens of Egyptian gods, I know that The Kane Chronicles will be the beginning of a lifelong fascination with Egypt for many readers. I loved learning about hieroglyphics as a child, and wish that there had been a series like this, full of action and humor, when I was growing up.

The second installment in a trilogy can sometimes disappoint, but The Throne of Fire contains enough battles and suspense, not to mention romance and first kisses, that the reader can overlook the fact that Sadie and Carter end the book in a situation nearly as dire as when it began. Riordan’s humor will have readers cackling and sharing their favorite quotes with those around them, such as this exchange:
“You’re Bes, I guess?” I said.
“Yes,” he said.
“Your car’s a mess,” Liz muttered.
“If one more person rhymes,” Emma grumbled, “I’ll throw up.”

Fans of Rick Riordan don’t need to be told to read this, they already have several times! Newcomers are encouraged to read the first in the series and then rush out for the newly released conclusion to the series, The Serpent’s Shadow.
Good Points
It's nice to see Sadie and Carter maturing.
The action scenes, particularly at the end of the novel, are thrilling.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
The Throne of Fire review
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
In an almost unheard of event, I think I actually liked the second book better than the first in The Kane Chronicles.

I really like how Carter and Sadie started to come into their own in The Throne of Fire. Since they shut out the gods and refused their help both characters had to deal with the magical repercussions. They weren't all-powerful anymore and had to develop their own abilities a bit more. I really appreciate that both Sadie and Carter show moments of weakness and consider letting the gods back in, but they resist the urge and end up growing stronger in the process.

The story is finally starting to get good and I like the new cast of characters The Throne of Fire brought in. I actually managed to get attached to a character this time around, so that's an improvement over the previous book.

The Nutshell: I enjoyed The Throne of Fire more than I did The Red Pyramid, but I still wouldn't consider The Kane Chronicles one of my favorite series. Maybe Riordan will blow me away with the final book.

Hit
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A history lesson I didn't expect....
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
The Throne of Fire as well as The Red Pyramid helped me with my history tests on Ancient Egypt. This book is fiction except its based on fact. All the mythology is based on what the Ancient Egyptians believed. I think that Rick Riordan must have studied long and hard to find all this out. This book goes very deep into Egyptian belief and I find it truly stunning what Rick Riordan has found out.

This book is written really well, and its in the views of Sadie and Carter. I found this quite smart, so it gave two sides of the same story, with slight variations. The characters are great and the plot is clever. I found this book really enjoyable and I can't wait to read the next one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."