The Throne of Fire (Kane Chronicles, Book 2)

 
4.0
 
4.5 (2)
1808 1
The Throne of Fire (Kane Chronicles, Book 2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
10+
Release Date
May 03, 2011
ISBN
978-0-141-33567-4
Buy This Book
      

Ever since the gods of Ancient Egypt were unleashed on the modern world, Carter Kane and his sister, Sadie, have been in big trouble. As descendants of the magical House of Life, they command certain powers. But now a terrifying enemy-Apophis, the giant snake of Chaos-is rising. If Carter and Sadie don't destroy him, the world will end in five days' time. And, in order to battle the forces of Chaos, they must revive the sun god Ra-a feat no magician has ever achieved. Because first they must search the world for the three sections of the Book of Ra, then they have to learn how to chant the spells... Can the Kanes destroy Apophis before he swallows the sun and plunges the Earth into darkness...forever?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Lovers of Egypt and Rick Riordan will be thrilled!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Rick Riordan’s second novel in The Kane Chronicles series is as action-packed as all his other books. The Throne of Fire follows the adventures of Sadie and Carter Kane, descendents of Egyptian pharaohs, as they race against time to prevent the chaos serpent Apophis from destroying the world. Just a typical day in the life of the Kane siblings.

The genius of Riordan’s writing is that he gets children excited about mythology, which leads them to discover new passions. After encountering dozens of Egyptian gods, I know that The Kane Chronicles will be the beginning of a lifelong fascination with Egypt for many readers. I loved learning about hieroglyphics as a child, and wish that there had been a series like this, full of action and humor, when I was growing up.

The second installment in a trilogy can sometimes disappoint, but The Throne of Fire contains enough battles and suspense, not to mention romance and first kisses, that the reader can overlook the fact that Sadie and Carter end the book in a situation nearly as dire as when it began. Riordan’s humor will have readers cackling and sharing their favorite quotes with those around them, such as this exchange:
“You’re Bes, I guess?” I said.
“Yes,” he said.
“Your car’s a mess,” Liz muttered.
“If one more person rhymes,” Emma grumbled, “I’ll throw up.”

Fans of Rick Riordan don’t need to be told to read this, they already have several times! Newcomers are encouraged to read the first in the series and then rush out for the newly released conclusion to the series, The Serpent’s Shadow.
Good Points
It's nice to see Sadie and Carter maturing.
The action scenes, particularly at the end of the novel, are thrilling.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
The Throne of Fire review
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
In an almost unheard of event, I think I actually liked the second book better than the first in The Kane Chronicles.

I really like how Carter and Sadie started to come into their own in The Throne of Fire. Since they shut out the gods and refused their help both characters had to deal with the magical repercussions. They weren't all-powerful anymore and had to develop their own abilities a bit more. I really appreciate that both Sadie and Carter show moments of weakness and consider letting the gods back in, but they resist the urge and end up growing stronger in the process.

The story is finally starting to get good and I like the new cast of characters The Throne of Fire brought in. I actually managed to get attached to a character this time around, so that's an improvement over the previous book.

The Nutshell: I enjoyed The Throne of Fire more than I did The Red Pyramid, but I still wouldn't consider The Kane Chronicles one of my favorite series. Maybe Riordan will blow me away with the final book.

Hit
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A history lesson I didn't expect....
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
The Throne of Fire as well as The Red Pyramid helped me with my history tests on Ancient Egypt. This book is fiction except its based on fact. All the mythology is based on what the Ancient Egyptians believed. I think that Rick Riordan must have studied long and hard to find all this out. This book goes very deep into Egyptian belief and I find it truly stunning what Rick Riordan has found out.

This book is written really well, and its in the views of Sadie and Carter. I found this quite smart, so it gave two sides of the same story, with slight variations. The characters are great and the plot is clever. I found this book really enjoyable and I can't wait to read the next one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."