Keeper of the Lost Cities (Keeper of the Lost Cities #1)

FeaturedHot
 
5.0 (2)
 
5.0 (1)
3642 0
Keeper of the Lost Cities (Keeper of the Lost Cities #1)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
October 02, 2012
ISBN
978-1442445932
Buy This Book
      
Twelve-year-old Sophie Foster has a secret. She's a Telepath--someone who hears the thoughts of everyone around her. It's a talent she's never known how to explain. Everything changes the day she meets Fitz, a mysterious boy who appears out of nowhere and also reads minds. She discovers there's a place she does belong, and that staying with her family will place her in grave danger. In the blink of an eye, Sophie is forced to leave behind everything and start a new life in a place that is vastly different from anything she has ever known. Sophie has new rules to learn and new skills to master, and not everyone is thrilled that she has come “home.” There are secrets buried deep in Sophie's memory—secrets about who she really is and why she was hidden among humans—that other people desperately want. Would even kill for. In this page-turning debut, Shannon Messenger creates a riveting story where one girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world, before the wrong person finds the answer first. Coming October 2, 2012 from Simon and Schuster (Aladdin).

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Amazingly Fantastic
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
I may be a little late to the party but I loved Shannon Messenger's debut middle grade Keeper of the Lost Cities.

What I loved: Can I say everything? I was hooked right from the very beginning by the world Messenger created. The characters were all well-developed and had a sweet innocence to them. There are true friendships in this book and I cannot wait to see how they develop as the series continues. Sophie takes the lead as one of the best main characters I have ever read. Her sweetness mixes just perfectly with her smarts as she learns about the new world she has found herself a part of.

I cannot rave enough about this book. Every school and library should do themselves a favor and have multiple copies of this book available. I have a feeling once readers discover Keeper of the Lost Cities it won't stay on the shelves for very long!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
One Amazing Debut - Absolutely Enchanting
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Shannon Messenger is going to take the world by storm with her debut in Keeper of the Lost Cities. Everything about this book was just so awesome. The world, the characters, the story, and so much more. I was absolutely captivated and am already counting down for another Shannon Messenger book!

The originality behind everything with Shannon Messenger‘s world was mesmerizing. I loved the blend of the world, the new spin on a fantastical creature everyone knows, and all the abilities. It really set the groundwork for the plot to just take off. Pair that with Shannon Messenger‘s gorgeous prose and I was completely on board.

The story was so great. Keeper of the Lost Cities had one of those addicting plots that draws you in on page one and doesn’t let you go until you’ve turned the last page. I loved following the whirldwind of events that managed to find Sophie and her friends. This was the most fun I’ve had reading a book in a long long time. Really what it reminded me a lot of was back to the second grade when I started reading Harry Potter for the first time. Those emotions resonated similarly during Keeper of the Lost Cities. The wait for the second book is going to be long indeed, as this truly was one of the best books I’ve read in a very long while.

The characters may have been my favorite part of the book. They were so genuine and the focus on friendship had me smiling throughout the entire book. I loved Elwin – oh my gosh was he great. Grady and Edaline were so heart warming and I loved their development as characters throughout the book. Sophie was such a trooper. Her and her friends were just such a great bunch. I loved all the scenes with the group of them.

As one of the best books of the year, Shannon Messenger has written a true winner. This is fantasy as its finest. As a tale of adventure and true friendship, Keeper of the Lost Cities will be sure to captivate readers of all ages.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
These Elves are a "Keeper"
(Updated: December 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Now don’t get me wrong, I love me The Lord of the Rings trilogy, but I have been craving a good fantasy epic that gives a fresh, new take on elves. Yes, that’s a very specific want, but hey, I read a lot. Thank goodness for Shannon Messenger’s “Keeper of the Lost Cities,” giving me exactly what I’ve been wishing for.

“Keeper” follows Sophie, a twelve year-old girl who learns she is what else? An elf. But she’s not a pointy-eared, forest-dwelling guardian of rings. Instead she’s a child elf prodigy who has a special and rare talent for telepathy. Off she goes to Foxfire, a school for the magically gifted (which not all elves are) to hone her skills and discover the mystery of her past.

What I really liked about the world Messenger created is that there is a fusion of technology with magic. She doesn’t create massive details about one with the exception of the other, instead she has intricately woven magic into the workings of science. There’s even a special type of elf, a TechnoPath, who uses his or her magical ability to manipulate the ins and outs of technology. This gives the lost cities a decidedly futuristic feel but still containing all the magic and fantasy that Narnia, Middle Earth or Hogwarts has to offer.

The best thing that Messenger’s book has to offer is the Keeper herself, Sophie. She’s a delightful protagonist who just seems sweet, but not naïve. She’s realistic about what she has to do to get things done, and she isn’t your typical angsty magical main character. I love Harry Potter and all, but sometimes he just gets so whiny and acts as if the world is working against him. Sophie never does that. She accepts the challenges that come her way with grace and strength, and even when things are drastically unfair, she doesn’t nag on us that life is unfair. Life is unfair and Sophie gets it, and she’ll do whatever it takes to get things back on track. I can’t wait to see her grow into her own as the series progresses, and reach the thousands of years-old age group when pointy ears do finally manifest for Messenger’s mythical characters.
Good Points
Fantastic new take on elves.
Great protagonist who takes life's challenges like a champ.
A fun magical world that has a great blend of fantasy and technology.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."