The Ersatz Elevator (A Series of Unfortunate Events #6)

 
0.0
 
3.6 (11)
3140 0
The Ersatz Elevator (A Series of Unfortunate Events #6)
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
February 20, 2001
ISBN
0064408647
Buy This Book
      
In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I′m sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits.

Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket′s uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warning.

User reviews

11 reviews
 
45%
 
9%
 
27%
2 stars
 
0%
 
18%
Overall rating
 
3.6
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
3.6(11)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A(0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
View all user reviews View most helpful
The Ersatz Elevator audiobook review
And the plot thickens!

Little hints of a bigger picture are finally being sprinkled throughout the story. My memory kind of sucks, so even though I've read the series, I don't remember all the answers. This means I'm sitting there yelling at my iPod every time the Baudelaire's shush the Quagmire's just when they're about to say something important.

Overall, the sixth book is pretty good. The same story as usual, but this time we get to meet up with the Quagmire triplets again and delve into VFD just a bit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Elevator Ride
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by valerie

The ersatz elevator was a very fun and adventurous novel by Lemony Snicket. His books are very interesting and well-written! i recommend this for everyone who loves to read mystery, adventurous and a book lover!

You'd really get your mind in to this book once you've started! :D

Enjoy reding!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Ersatz Elevator greatness!
Overall rating
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by aaaaaaaamis

Wow! I love the series of unfortunate events, but the Ersatz Elevator was my favorite. I don't know, maybe it was the whole Quagmire twins getting trapped and the Baudelares coming to the rescue a little to late finding them gone. Or going through the tunnel into the ashes of their old mansion, there was tons of excitement and suspense in this book and I loved the whole thing. It was a page turner, and I read it in like 45 minutes it was so good. I really really recommend this book to everyone!!! But it kinda stinks cuz you have to read all of the other ones first...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Who would wear that?
Overall rating
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Hinge_Pin

Wow, i would definatly run away from someone who made me wear pinstripe suits. What an uncomfortable way to live. This book had a lesson in it for me. The thought of always being in fashion completly vanished from my mind when i finished this book. Personally i dont think that we should all have to keep up with fashion. As long as what we are wearing is modest and comfortable we should be happy.
Lemony Snicket made me sit on the edge of my seat while reading the part of the children climbing down the elevator. Thus this book had a perfect title. Thanks for taking me on an adventure of a life time Lemony.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
annoying
Overall rating
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Arly

I was really annoyed by this book. I don't like the fact that snickett explained every little detail. He stopped the flow of the story to explain obvious things that didn't need to be explained. I know that this is a kid's book but come on. Kids are not as stupid as this story makes it seem.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Bravo.....AGAIN!!!
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Carter

After Reading number five of the series i expected a lot from Lemoney's sixth book. Unfortunately.....IT WAS GREAT!!! Not only do more and more characters keep coming, they are the most original and wacky in a story that i have ever read!! Mr.Snicket has a real talent for letting you hear a voice tell it to you as you read the story. You can actually hear him and the orphans when they speak. Enjoy it and head on to the rest of the series. CW
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
adventure
Overall rating
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by swim freak

a great mystery and adveture story about the three Baudelaire children. this one is about the baudelairs living in the hands of a cruel count and finding a secret passage under an elevator.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Dark. Where is the Light?
Overall rating
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Carmen



Plot thickens as the 3 orphans begin to unfold a secret...what is V.F.D.? Keep on going after you have read this book! It is worth every miserable minute!
Carmen
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
I like it!
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by LJK

This book marks a "slight" improvement in the orphans' situation; their new guardians are quite wealthy, and so the orphans are for once well fed and cared for. Of course, being well fed means drinking parsley soda, and in order to get to their apartment they have to climb either 48 or 84 flights of stairs. Not to mention the pinstripe suits. . . This series continues to be surprising and innovative, and, unfortunately for the orphans, and fortunately for us, there is no happy ending yet for the Baudelaires.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
The orphans and their new home.
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Susie

Well there back and living with a new set of people the wife is an uptight snooty pants who follows all the trends ever made. Her husband is well he is a wimp he does any thing for her. Well count olaf is back for the three orphans and won't stop at anything to find and auction off the triplets or twins as for one is missing. The orphans have to save these kids from doom while saving them selfs and finding out what V.F.D means.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
View all user reviews