Dark Life (Dark Life #1)

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2571 0
Dark Life (Dark Life #1)
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 01, 2010
ISBN
978-0545178143
Buy This Book
      
The oceans rose up, swallowing up the lowlands. Earthquakes shattered the continents, toppling entire regions into the rising water. Now, humans live packed into stack cities. The only ones with any space of their own are those who live on the ocean floor: the Dark Life.

Ty has spent his whole life living deep undersea, helping his family farm the ocean floor. But when outlaws attack his homestead, Ty finds himself in a fight to save the only home he has ever known. Joined by Gemma, a girl from the Topside who has come subsea to look for her brother, Ty ventures into the frontier's rough underworld and discovers some dark secrets to Dark Life . . . secrets that threaten to destroy everything.

In her debut novel, Kat Falls has created a breathtaking world where the deep can be dangerous, the darkness can be deadly, and sometimes it takes extraordinary power to survive.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Under the Sea Ain't No Cuppa Tea
(Updated: November 29, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
I hope you didn't read the book synopsis above, and let me tell you why: It really is best to just "dive" headfirst into this, the first book of Kat Falls' dystopian series. I enjoy doing so with most fiction works, but the fact that I had never heard of this series or the fact that it is going to be made into a film added to the superb world-building that Falls has done in this book.

Entering into Kat Falls’ undersea world is both thrilling and engaging. She incorporated lots of science and biological information into the storyline, and it is enticing. Her description of the sensation of diving and living underwater brings the reader there herself, surrounded by the deep blue ocean.

Entering a pioneer’s home (those who have staked their claim underwater in order to have a freer life while providing food for themselves and selling it to the government) is like walking into a Disney-esque theme park, what with all the high-tech design and imminent danger. And as the Topsiders (those who still live above the ocean on the remaining continents) discover once they enter the world that pioneers have forged below the sea, gaining your bearings is a bit murky at first.

Through the eyes of 15-year-old Ty, the first human born under the sea, the ocean world grows less cloudy and more intriguing the further you are drawn into it. Ty has grown so accustomed to his underwater life that he prefers it to the Topside, whereas Gemma, a friend he meets sub-sea, has been brought up in the stack cities above. She is on a search for her brother while Ty is trying to figure out the crimes that have been debilitating his fellow Pioneers. The Seablite Gang suspected in the crimes is led by a frightening man named Shade, and as Ty learns more about their impervious frontman, it seems only more questions go unanswered.

Ty himself is a mite too stoic when it comes to dire circumstances, and thinks almost too quickly in the face of danger to be believable for me. But it's this boldness and defiance of even his own loving parents’ authority which bring him closer and closer to solving both his and Gemma’s mysteries. Each step of the way, the stakes climb higher and the danger skyrockets. I found myself physically anxious as each lead brought Ty and Gemma not only more information but more danger. Just when I thought I had a character figured out, the plot threw another genius twist at me. By the end of the book I was amazed at what I didn’t see coming. The combination of future-world technology, our current knowledge of the vast array of creatures and ocean phenomena, and exploration of what could be, coupled with an innovative storyline makes for a fast and high-diving read.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."