Sound Bender

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
3172 0
Sound Bender
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
10+
Release Date
November 01, 2011
ISBN
9780545196295
Buy This Book
      

After their parents' plane goes down over the ocean, Leo and his brother Hollis are forced into the custody of their rich and enigmatic uncle Crane, a dealer of rare and probably illicit antiques. But almost as soon as he's settled--or as close to settled as he can get in the bleak Brooklyn mansion, surrounded by his uncle's dubious staff--Leo receives a mysterious package his father put together long ago, to be opened on his 13th birthday. With the package, Leo discovers he has an amazing ability. He can hear the history of any object by touching it. But when Leo finds a strange helmet buried among his uncle's artifacts, and hears a pained cry coming from it, a mystery unravels as to its origin.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Sound Bender
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Do you ever stop and listen to the sounds around you? I mean really listen? The ticking of a clock? The rhythmic sound of tires running over pavement? When you're listening to a song, do you only hear the lyrics or do you hear the sounds all the other instruments are making? How about objects? Do you hear the sounds they make? Can you hear the danger in them? Twelve year old Leo Lomax can.

Following the sudden death of his parents, Leo and his ten year old brother Hollis, are sent to live with their Uncle Crane whose a rare collectibles dealer (and a little on the creepy side). On his thirteenth birthday, Leo is given an envelope from his father containing a letter and a disc with information that are for his eyes and ears only. His father's letter reveals a secret that will change the way Leo sees, or should I say hears the world around him forever. Leo's always known he's a little different but he's never understood why. When he discovers that he can "hear" the objects in his uncle's house, everything begins to make sense to him.

With the help of his best friend Trevor, Leo begins an adventure that that will not only stretch the laws of science and nature but will test the limits of his Uncle Crane's patience as well. Leo learns that with any gift or ability comes the responsibility to use it wisely. This isn't always easy and he'll be faced with making choices that could be costly, not only for those he's trying to protect but for he and Hollis too. Will he make the right choice? Will he live up to the name he was given? Will he listen...really listen?

This book is full of adventure and sci-fi fun and there are plenty of good lessons to be learned. It definitely gives new meaning to the expression, "Listen up!"

Good Points
Strong boy friendships, adventure
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...

Latest Member Reviews

Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
What's Inside a Flower?
 
4.7
"WHAT'S INSIDE A FLOWER? is a gorgeously illustrated non-fiction picture book read about flowers. The book covers the basics from..."
Raven Squawk, Orca Squeak
 
4.7
"RAVEN SQUAWK, ORCA SQUEAK is a gorgeously illustrated board book that explores a bit of nature through texture, sounds, and..."
Speak Up
 
5.0
"A wonderful story to teach kids a powerful lesson. They can make a difference. Their voice matters. "Speak..."
Life in a Frozen World: Wildlife of Antarctica
 
5.0
"What a fascinating book. Life in a Frozen World delves into the world of Antartica where animals struggle against..."
William Still and His Freedom Stories
 
5.0
"We all know some of the bigger names of the Underground Railroad but there are so many amazing stories of..."
Ensnared in the Wolf's Lair: Inside the 1944 Plot to Kill Hitler and the Ghost Children of His Revenge
 
5.0
"Hitler's rise to power and his stranglehold on the German people is something that has been all too much in..."
The Dog Patrol: Our Canine Companions and the Kids Who Protect Them
 
5.0
"This short, well photo-illustrated book packs a lot of information into its pages! It covers the major topics of dog..."
My First 100 Space Words
 
3.3
"MY FIRST 100 SPACE WORDS is a cute, illustrated collection of space-related words, including planet names, satellites, space junk, and..."
The ABCs of Black History
 
5.0
"THE ABCS OF BLACK HISTORY is a fantastic picture book of a poetic walk through the alphabet related to Black..."
Incredible Animals
 
5.0
"INCREDIBLE ANIMALS is a fascinating collection of animals by special skills, including clever camouflage, devoted parents (such as penguins), and..."
Eyelike Stickers: Trains
 
5.0
"EYELIKE STICKERS: TRAINS is an unbelievably cool collection of stickers. These 400 stickers include many photographs of trains, as well..."
Amazing Places
 
4.7
"AMAZING PLACES is a delightful exploration of 15 manmade wonders, including the Taj Mahal, pyramids, and Moai (Easter Island). The..."
About Seabirds: A Guide for Children
 
5.0
"'About Seabirds: A Guide for Children' by Cathryn Sill, illustrated by John Sill, lends credibility to the power of nature..."
The Cat in the Box
 
3.3
"THE CAT IN THE BOX attempts to explain Schrodinger's work regarding quantum paradox. While the original thought experiment explained this,..."
5-Minute Really True Stories for Bedtime: 30 Amazing Stories: Featuring frozen frogs, King Tut’s beds, the world's biggest sleepover, the phases of the moon, and more
 
5.0
"5 MINUTE REALLY TRUE STORIES FOR BEDTIME is a very cool collection of bedtime themed stories. It spans topics from..."
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
"Earth-Shattering Events by Robin Jacobs is a wonderfully thought-out book that details different natural disasters: what they are, how we..."
Gut Garden: A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome
 
4.7
"Gut Garden by Katie Brosnan is a well-thought out journey through our digestive system, introducing kids to the bacteria and..."
ICK! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses
 
5.0
"National Geographic Kids is always sure to be a winner at my house. Their newest release has been deemed the..."
Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct: Real Facts About Real Dinosaurs
 
4.3
"Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct by Drew Sheneman is a short, illustrated nonfiction book introducing children to one of the more..."