The Lemonade War

Hot
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
11946 0
The Lemonade War
Age Range
8+
ISBN
0547237650
Buy This Book
      
As the final days of summer heat up, so does a sibling showdown over a high-stakes lemonade stand business. Jessie and Evan Treski compete to see who will make $100 first off of their respective lemonade stands. Full of surprisingly accessible and savvy marketing tips for running a stand (or making money at any business) and with clever mathematical visuals woven in, this sensitively characterized novel subtly explores how war can escalate beyond anyone's intent.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade war!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
The Lemonade War, by Jacqueline Davies, is about friendship, sibling rivalry, honesty, mathematics and lemonade.

Evan should be enjoying the last few scorching days of summer, but he just can’t get over the news that his brainiac younger sister Jessie is not only skipping third grade, but she’s going to be in his actual class. Now everyone will know his sister is smarter than he is. WAY smarter. So that’s it. He’s done. He’s not going to hang out with Jessie, not going to talk to Jessie, and he definitely won’t run a lemonade stand with Jessie, just to give her the chance to show off how good she is at math.

Jessie, on the other hand, is over the moon that she’ll be in the same class as Evan. She and Evan have always been really good friends, as well as brother and sister. She can’t understand why he’s suddenly being so mean to her, or why he’s refusing to have a lemonade stand with her. It’s a puzzle, Jessie knows, and she should be good at puzzles. “But it was a puzzle about feelings, and Jessie knew that feelings were her weakest subject.”

The conflict between them grows until it erupts into a lemonade-selling competition -- whoever earns $100 first wins, AND keeps both their earnings. Evan is determined to win no matter what, even if it might mean cheating, except that even he wouldn’t actually stoop to stealing his sister’s money. So who did then?

The Lemonade War is an utterly satisfying book. The characters are genuine, the mixed tension and love between brother and sister very real. The chapters alternative between Jessie’s perspective and Evan’s, so very quickly the reader ends up rooting for both kids, which makes the competition between them even more tense, because even the reader isn’t sure who should win. The theft of Jessie’s money brings a whole other dimension into the story – we as readers know who did it, but the characters can’t be sure. So while we’re not left in the dark about the thief’s identity, he isn’t brought to justice.

At least, not in this book. Luckily, a sequel (The Lemonade Crime) just came out, and you can read my review of it right here on Young Adult Books Central.

As a grown-up reader of this wonderful book – and as the mother of a child with Asperger’s Syndrome (AS), a form of high-functioning autism – I have another reason to love it. Jessie probably has AS, or something very similar. Her difficulty with social interactions, her confusion about feelings, her need for directness, her love of numbers and mathematics, her need to get things right – these are all characteristics of an Aspie child. This is never stated right out, and nor does it need to be. In fact, that’s what is so wonderful about how Jacqueline Davis has constructed her story. This is not an ‘issue’ book. It is not about AS. There’s no agenda, no soapbox. There is simply a character who clearly thinks differently, experiences the world differently, and as readers, we’re given the chance to see the world through her eyes, gently, without pushing. Another reader might never think “autism” when reading about Jessie, and that would not affect his enjoyment of the story at all.

Yet her difference matters. It’s not incidental to the story, but informs everything from her skipping a grade to her affection for her straight-talking brother to her anxiety about interacting with other girls. Really, it’s brilliantly done, to write so clearly about a child with autism and to make it so central to the story, and yet to keep the story from being in any way ABOUT autism.

This is the sort of book I want my son to read, even more so than The Curious Incident. This is the sort of book that says yes, there are kids out there who think differently and you know what? They’re also just kids, with stories of their own. Jessie is not A Kid With AS. She’s a kid, who also has AS. Her story is greater than her neurological difference, so much so that (again) a reader doesn’t have to know or care a bit about autism to care about her, to care about this story and to read it with interest and delight.

We need more books like this. Books that tackle race without being ABOUT race, or homosexuality without being ABOUT sexual identity. What Jacqueline Davis has done in The Lemonade War is frankly genius, and this is a book every kid should read – and every kid would enjoy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 12 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."