Lost & Found

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1310 0
Lost & Found
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
ISBN
0545229243
Buy This Book
      
 

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Just...WOW.
(Updated: May 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Probably one of my favorite books of the year, and quite possibly EVER, Shaun Tan's Lost & Found, is three darkly fascinating tales in one: The Red Tree, The Lost Thing, and the John Marsden classic, The Rabbits.

Tan's illustrations are nothing short of brilliant. Every page I turned, I yearned to have a canvas copy to hang on my wall. If there were a gallery exhibit of Shaun Tan's artwork, I could probably spend my entire life there, just looking at the colors and letting the profound meanings of the images seep into my soul.

Now, if that sounds too much like a love letter to you, you're right. This isn't just a review, this is indeed a love letter to Shaun Tan and Lost & Found. Heck, even to Arthur A. Levine Books. I want to wrap all of them up into one of those squishy, awkward bear hugs and hold on until they can't breathe.

Not only will the illustrations keep readers captivated for hours, both kids and adults will relate to the poignant messages of hope and perseverance amidst pessimism, depression, defeat. Some might see these stories as deeply depressing and stark, but I saw myself on the page, which made reading this collection identifiable and uplifting.

In fact, everyone will take something different from these three stories, and that's what makes them so special and worth-while.

One illustration I felt especially drawn to was the image of a girl trapped inside, her nose pressed to the window pane, as "wonderful things are passing [her] by." Wow. How many times have we felt exactly like that? And if you look closely, the windows are secured with a padlock that reads: REGRET. How many times have we felt like our dreams were passing us by because of certain decisions we've made?

I love how Tan adds a tiny little red leaf in the bottom corner, reminding us that all is not lost. There is light amid the dark.

The second book, The Lost Thing, examines a world where there is no room for "different." Individual thought is shunned, while conformity is embraced. I was happy to find that "the lost thing" found a place where he belonged in the end. It reminds us that we all, no matter our quirks or differences, have a place where we belong. Keep searching (and following those arrows!) until you find it.

The third book, The Rabbits, explores the effects of colonialism on native cultures. Much like how white men invaded and claimed America and Australia, the white rabbits take over land that does not belong to them by means of war, industrialization, and strength in numbers. They simply keep multiplying until no sign of the native culture exists.

Tan's inclusion of a sign that reads: MIGHT = RIGHT is tragically fitting.

I urge you to pick this book up today. Share it with a friend, your class, anyone, and have a conversation about it. How do these stories speak to you?

Endless discussion awaits!





Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
"MOST LIKELY is a fantastic YA contemporary about friendship. The book starts with a woman becoming president and reflecting back..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."