Review Detail

excellent book for budding scientists!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
WONDERS OF NATURE is a gorgeously illustrated, oversized book that discusses birds, fish, and bugs in an approachable way for young children. The large images display different features of the organisms (e.g. for birds, there are pages that shows different feather types, eggs, beaks, and feet from different bird species). There are several chapters on birds, bugs, and then fish (including some marine coral, starfish, and sting rays).

What I loved: The illustrations are large and absolutely lovely, appealing to budding scientists. The oversized pages are perfect for seeing more detail on the many creatures shown. There is a good breadth of species shown on each topic, all in gorgeously depicted and realistic-looking sketches. Each section also has a list of some of the species shown with some interesting facts about what makes them unique. Children will love this book not only for what they can learn but also just to look at the fantastic images.

Final verdict: This mesmerizing book is perfect for budding scientists who will enjoy the detail and lovely images throughout. With the oversized nature of the book, readers can get a closer look at birds, bugs, and fish through the large and detailed sketches. Highly recommend for animal lovers and curious minds across preschool and elementary ages.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maia Tamarin proved her skill as a tailor when...
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kateiko doesn’t want to be Rin anymore —...

Latest Member Reviews

Winter's Bullet
 
5.0
"Tygo, the son of a locksmith, lives in Amsterdam during WWII. His parents are both dead, and his sister has..."
A Little In Love
 
4.7
"LES MISERABLES is one of my all-time favorite books. I loved the story of redemption and how one man..."
Waves
 
3.3
"When Hal's family makes the heart-wrenching decision to leave Charley, their comatose daughter, behind in a hospital ward while they..."
Undead
 
4.3
"Take a handful 1980s John Hughes teen flicks throw in some snarky British humor and a load of zombies and..."
Waves
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by JuJuB This book is an incredibly intriguing story about a girl named Charlie who is in a..."
Lucas
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by melissa this bookwasn't so much confusing as it was just plain bad. were set on an island..."
Waves
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by india This book is something else. When I finished i just went straight back to the beginning..."
Lucas
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by Melissa Lucas, written by Kevin Brooks is one of my favorite books of this year; it is..."
Waves
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Lauren This book was extremely good. A family returns to their summer house in Cornwall a year..."
Lucas
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sophie I was going on holiday to Canada for 3 weeks in a RV, basically, it's a..."
Lucas
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by lauren I read it last year in school for a project and i absolutly LOVED it!! I..."
Lucas
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by Joena Ich can onlay advise this book everybody!! It´s so graet - it´s the best book..."
Lucas
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Battery Lucas was one of the few books I've read that really made me stop and think..."
Lucas
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Dylana This book was unlike anything I have ever read. Kevin Brooks captures his characters..."